Professional restaurant supplies Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Grocery Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now Learn more
Customer Review

165 of 218 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Because some people don't want the Kinect, June 9, 2014
By 
This review is from: Xbox One 500GB Console (Console)
This is a perfect way for people to get into the Xbox One without spending a lot of the money now. I could see the advantages of this to someone looking to play the core Xbox exclusives without worrying about the Kinect. As many Xbox One owners, I cannot imagine using my Xbox One without Kinect. But I understand a lot of people are jaded over the Kinect and wouldn't want it. This bundle was made for them. There are times when I never even turn on my controller when using my Xbox One because the voice recognition and commands are a hundred times better on the One than they were on the 360. I used to get so angry at my 360 for unrecognized commands. People all over the internet complained about the Kinect and about how the Xbox One isn't strictly about games, so here it is. The console for the gamers who just want to use the Xbox One strictly as a gaming console. With the money you save on this bundle, and the pricing on Amazon for games, you could buy two games with the money you save. I recommend this to anyone looking to get into the Xbox One at the ground floor and still having money leftover for a few games to get their library started. I haven't stopped playing my Xbox One since I bought it. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 17 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jun 9, 2014 1:55:07 PM PDT
Yes. Something that's always on and listening to what's going on around it is awesome.

Posted on Jun 9, 2014 4:05:15 PM PDT
vvalkerguy2 says:
Thanks for posting a good review despite being a Kinect lover. I have hardly even tried Kinect on 360 or 1 but in other forms of technology I tend to despise voice commands and favor touch commands on a screen or controller. I'll eventually buy a Kinectless 1, waiting for this fall's new game releases.

Posted on Jun 10, 2014 5:20:21 PM PDT
M. Cooper says:
I would actually recommend the Xbox One without the Kinect now that it's available. I bought mine back in December and I certainly don't regret it, but I do wish this had been available then. I've never found Kinect all that useful and it's become even less so. They've released a media remote that can be used to control the Xbox (more thoroughly and more easily than Kinect) and you can now set it to auto-sign in without Kinect.

The gesture controls are a complete joke, they never worked at all for me and would frequently engage unintentionally. The voice commands mostly worked well, except when they didn't. It only recognized about half the TV channels I tried and it could never pick up my voice over my home theater. It wasn't very long at all before I rerouted my cable box back into my receiver directly, I found no use in having it go through the Xbox. My Kinect lasted until about a week after I got a media remote and had stopped using voice commands anyway. Now with instant sign-in, I can't foresee me ever plugging my Kinect in again. The only reason I would is for an IR blaster so I can control the volume with the media remote, but that's no big deal really.

I'll admit I was skeptical of Kinect going in. But it never did anything to wow me and change my mind. I consider Kinect to be a gimmick. I think Microsoft would have been much better off making it optional from the start and forgetting about the HDMI In option. Instead of putting so much focus on Kinect and its IR commands, how about just making really good use of HDMI-CEC? Imagine just being able to easily control and navigate the Xbox with your TV remote. It could turn on the TV and change the input if necessary, not just turn it on. I don't know if the current Xbox One hardware supports HDMI-CEC or not, but if it does, they need to add software support for it ASAP. If not, the next version of the One needs to.

Posted on Jun 11, 2014 7:57:38 AM PDT
It's essentially a cheaper console than the original Xbox One release-but with reduced functionality. So if having reduced functionality (i.e., no Kinect) is fine for you, this would be the package to buy. However, people really need to know that voice commands will not work without the Kinect. So this means that saying, for instance, "Xbox, Record That" will not work. That shuts out easy sharing of gameplay with friends. Etc.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 11, 2014 10:35:20 AM PDT
BS says:
I think this is a brilliant choice for gamers that don't want the kinect. But in my honest opinion, I wouldn't buy it without the Kinect. I love voice features and all that's offered with it. But that's just me. I think it's a smart move to offer this as well.

Posted on Jun 11, 2014 4:02:59 PM PDT
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Jun 12, 2014 11:20:27 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 12, 2014 11:22:56 AM PDT
H.Le says:
It's nice to have the option not having to buy the Kinect - and it's not just about saving money. For dedicated gamers, gaming is better without the Kinect due to increased performance.

"Microsoft has finally come out and admitted what many had speculated for some time: without Kinect the Xbox One will be able to run faster."

http://www.forbes.com/sites/gordonkelly/2014/06/05/microsoft-confirms-developers-can-make-xbox-one-faster-without-kinect/

Posted on Jun 17, 2014 4:40:57 PM PDT
Taylor says:
So I'm wanting some honest opinions here. Please no fanboy crap. I own a PS4, but I am going to pick up an Xbox One at some point, I'm thinking probably when the Master Chief Collection comes out, because that looks awesome. What are the real benefits of Kinect? I know there's voice, and some games that use motion, but I wasn't all that big of a fan of Kinect on 360. Are there any games that are really worth it, or for that matter, is the voice activation really worth it? I've also heard a lot of complaints about the Interface on the Xbox One, but that could have also just been from PS4 fanboys. Any enlightenment you guys can give me on things you like/don't like would be awesome :D

Posted on Jun 17, 2014 4:41:46 PM PDT
Taylor says:
And how it improved/gotten worse since launch, if there's anything significantly different? Because most reviews out there are of it from launch. I don't really know if there's much different, if anything at all haha

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 18, 2014 11:06:10 AM PDT
M. Cooper says:
If you will have multiple people using the Xbox the ability to sign in with facial recognition is useful. But if it's just you, you can now set it to auto-sign in your profile. Gesture commands are terrible, don't even try to bother. Voice commands work well most of the time. If you want to run your cable box through it, don't expect all of the channels to work with voice commands, I found about half work reliably. Also my home theater would drown out my voice during any loud scenes. Frankly, I don't think voice commands are reliable enough to use, but some disagree. The Kinect is also pretty much useless for gaming, no AAA games take advantage of it other than the occassional voice command that is just replacing a button mash anyway.

Perhaps the most useful feature of Kinect is the IR blaster. So you can set it to turn on your TV when it comes on and turn it off when it turns off. You can also control your TV or receiver volume. This is the only thing I'd use my Kinect for, but I don't find it enough to justify having it plugged in. If you are just going to be playing the occasional video game with it, I would definitely pass on the Kinect. If you want to use it for streaming and blu ray playback too, I'd still pass on Kinect and buy a media remote for it. I'd only recommend Kinect if you have several different people who are going to use it and don't like signing in manually or if you really want it to be the center of your entertainment setup.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details