Customer Review

13 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game changing Camera! Canon is in trouble :-(, February 18, 2014
By 
This review is from: Panasonic LUMIX DMC-GH4KBODY 16.05MP Digital Single Lens Mirrorless Camera with 4K Cinematic Video (Body Only) (Electronics)
Can't wait to get my hands on this camera. It will address all the flaws that the canon cameras are plagued with starting with 4k recording that canon also has but for a 15k price tag. Also a better audio interface hardware and tons of other options that you cant get right out the box with the canon cameras without ML or a bucket of money. Love canon and all there great cams but they should have came out with a camera like this 4k ago. Suckers!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 13 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 21, 2014 6:58:17 AM PST
Rustamrustam says:
you can buy the black magic for 3000

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 25, 2014 3:38:01 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 25, 2014 3:48:00 PM PST
Matt Eye says:
Black Magic, is that the one that is like the size of the old Mac Mini, in black, and takes low-res photos? David Copperfield, where are you now?

Canon is not in trouble, well, partly so. They have had 4K video camera for a couple of years now, but in contrast to the GH4, you might spend ten times the price. So, want to trade in your new car for a Canon? A used car with several dozen thousands of miles on it and a few years old may be depreciated enough that it would sell nicely so you have the money for a GH4.

Yes, Panasonic, the price is obviously 10% gratitude to the likings of one who will gladly afford one. Canon is still the leader of DSLR as Nikon, but this really does give the leader a run for its APS-C dough.

Tried to sound humorous, not serious. Yes, the price on the GH4 is very nice. I say this would be a great choice for being able to make movies the way you watch them in a theater. Do keep in mind that it is not geared for amateurs, but that does not mean necessarily difficult to learn. (Practice makes better not perfect.) Consider taking a class or watch tutorials on how to use it to better your horizon. You just need to find the right enough powerful computer hardware and monitor that may set you back even more, so by the time you have the TV, computer, and GH4, that may already pay for the Canon's $21,000 MSRP body only and nothing else. This is not Hasselblad hardware but is its price territory, although their ultimate model and the best lens may cost as much as a low-end Lamborghini or the average American house. Hasselblad does not take video anyway. Still, an interesting perspective IMO.

Posted on Mar 9, 2014 10:28:36 PM PDT
Mark says:
"Suckers" is right, people that believe a 5 star review from someone who has never touched the camera would be "Suckers". Why would anyone post a review on something they know little about and have never touched? There is no real reviews of this camera in the world at the moment and there is about 30 seconds of footage showing what the video looks like in HD only. Contrast that against the Sony 4K dslr, it has allot of independent footage out there and it looks amazing, much better than the footage panasonic has released and it is shot by independent reviewers.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 10, 2014 6:12:43 AM PDT
[Deleted by Amazon on Mar 10, 2014 6:13:29 AM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 10, 2014 7:37:33 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Mar 10, 2014 7:39:35 AM PDT
KidVid says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Mar 10, 2014 10:25:18 AM PDT
Java Dude says:
This is not a review.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 29, 2014 2:46:06 PM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Apr 23, 2014 9:34:31 PM PDT]

Posted on Apr 2, 2014 5:47:30 AM PDT
A. T Mauro says:
In the past, I've owned a Canon 7D and the Panasonic GH2 and preferred the Canon for overall performance, especially as a still camera. I also prefer the lens options with a Canon camera and you can't beat the huge sensor of the full frame cameras. Right now I don't have a need to shoot 4K, so a Canon 5D MKIII shooting RAW would work just fine and if I wanted to make a timelapse movie I'd definitely want to use the Canon. But for the price, the GH4 seems to be a terrific camera and overall I like what Panasonic LUMIX is doing. I think Canon still considers their DSLRs to be for the professional still photographer and this is why they've been reluctant to put all the video bells and whistles on the 7D or 5D. Anyway, they'll all be shooting 4K soon, including your iPhone.

Posted on Apr 2, 2014 6:26:38 AM PDT
hiscifi says:
This is not a review. If you wanted to take time to discuss speculation based on the published specs of this camera, then write a blog. In the meantime, this section is specifically for hands-on reviews only, and this is how many of us make our decisions to purchase. Take this down.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 10, 2014 11:42:42 AM PDT
C. York says:
Since this is turning into a opinion section I will add my 2cents.

First of all - Panasonic, Canon, and Nikon are a CAMERA COMPANIES! Yes they make some video camera's but we are talking about their DSLR line. These are photo camera's that shoot HD footage. The ONLY thing, and I mean ONLY thing that makes these cameras appealing to cinematographers like myself is the ability to use different cinema lenses and the fact that they are small enough to use in places you could never use a Arri Alexa or even the overly popularized but rightfully so RED.

If you are saying that you can tell the difference between a 70D or 7D or GH3 then who ever shot and edited the footage is a complete amateur. I can shoot a movie with a SD Camera that will blow the handles off most of these YOUTUBE so call cinematographers. Its not about the tool, but knowing what to do with it and understanding lights and shadows. Give me a 99 dollar HD camera and Ill shoot the lights off of Las Vegas. It is called experience.

If any of you are serious about cinematography at a DSLR price point then invest in a Black Magic Cinema Camera. Start with the Pocket Camera if you cant afford the 2.5K at $1995 or the 4K at $2999. What separates the men from the boys in this category is the codec. You can shoot RAW (this is what REAL Cinematographers shoot in) or Pro Res and you get 13 stops of dynamic range! Did you read that? 13 stops of dynamic range! Now compare that to a Canon 5d Mark III or a Panasonc GH series.

I own a production company and we shoot music videos, commercials, documentaries and movies. We own the C300, 5D Mark II and III using Magic Lantern, a GH3, the 2.5K version of the Black Magic Cinema Camera and the Black Magic Pocket Camera. We rent a RED at least once a month. We also have an abundance of lenses. All of these cameras I know really well as this is what I do for a living.

If you are a amateur cinematographer looking to truly get into shooting REAL cinematic projects, get a Black Magic camera. It comes with Davinci Resolve! This is not your point and shoot camera like a DSLR. You will have to learn color correction. If you do so, your footage will be head and shoulders better than any DSLR. 4k footage may be impressive to some, but I will take a 1080 with 13 stops of dynamic range over a H.264 4k video image any day.

Now if I had to chose a "stills" camera at this price point, the GH4 would definitely be a contender. But keep in mind people .... these cameras are photo cameras first, that shoot great video in the hands of the right person. The are NOT cinematic cameras like Panasonic is boasting! If you have 2k to spend on one of these cameras and you are seriously considering cinematography as a career there are better ways to spend your money. Invest in learning this wonderful art and mastering the art of lighting. I would ad a GH4 to our arsenal, but not for the reasons most of you think. I would get it to shoot 4K pics to use for Matte Painting, Roto Scoping and Green Screen.

Just my 2cents but hopefully this will bless someone and save someone some money. We need more cinematographers in this business. Technology is opening a lot of doors and making the tools more affordable. But just because you can afford one of these cameras doesn't make you a cinematographer. And Alejandro, no offence my friend, but if you really believe your GH footage looks better than a Canon or Canon looks better than GH, then you really need to take a class. I can post some footage from movies I have shot and I will guarantee you couldn't tell the difference. Remember, they are just tools.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 28,985,749