Customer Review

10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't disable motion smoothing (soap opera affect), November 23, 2012
This review is from: VIZIO M3D470KDE 47-inch 1080p Razor LED Smart 3D HDTV (Electronics)
I wanted to like this TV, but once we started using it we saw that there is NO WAY to disable motion smoothing -- this creates the infamous "soap opera affect". If you are sensitive to this (it makes every video look like a soap opera/sitcom/BBC show), then I'd stay away from this TV. The Vizio website and tech specs site is misleading -- they indicate that the smooth motion is NOT available, but what they mean is you can't disable it. There is some indication that the "KD" model (which is NOT the same as the KDE model here, the KD model has been reviewed favorably elsewhere) might have the motion smoothing setting available to disable.

Some other gripes: the Amazon Prime app bugged out and we had to turn the TV off and back on again to get it working. The 3-d was ok, but there was a bit of "leakage", and the set has some clouding issues on dark scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 24, 2012 9:32:47 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 24, 2012 1:16:34 PM PST
One way to check to see if a Vizio model allows you to disable the "smooth motion effect" - other manufacturers call it something different - is to compare the manuals from the Vizio website.

The first link is the M3D470KD. After opening the pdf, type Ctrl + F to open the search box. Type "Advanced Picture" or go to page 25, where you will see there is a setting for this model.

It shows you on the KD version you can set it to off, low, middle, or high.

http://store.vizio.com/documents/downloads/hdtv/M3D470KD/UM_M3D470KD.pdf

now do the same for for the M3470KDE and you will see there is no setting for the smooth motion effect. Several other settings are missing.

http://store.vizio.com/documents/downloads/hdtv/M3D470KDE/UM_M3D470KDE.pdf

Change the model number in the address bar twice to check your model.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 25, 2012 10:03:24 AM PST
The Preacher says:
Thanks, but this is a lot of work to see if the TV has that setting -- the Vizio website states pretty clearly (http://store.vizio.com/3d-smart-tvs/m3d470kde.html) that there is no motion smoothing, but this is entirely misleading since what they meant is there IS motion smoothing, but you can't turn it off. This is just bad engineering. I like Vizio, but this was a major problem that makes the TV almost unusable to me.

Posted on Nov 25, 2012 11:58:45 AM PST
Alex says:
You can disable smooth motion by turning GAME MODE ON in the settings. It's weird but it works.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 25, 2012 10:59:40 PM PST
martoon96 says:
This does work, but I'm hoping that Vizio will fix the missing "smooth motion" setting through a firmware update.

Posted on Nov 28, 2012 9:38:18 AM PST
Chris Edward says:
I purchased this same tv from Sams Club and was able to turn it off via advanced settings to eliminate the soap opera effect.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 29, 2012 6:32:07 AM PST
Mark Rogers says:
I just got this TV. The software version is 2.37.7

There is a "Game Mode" menu option in the Settings (Menu> Settings> Game Mode= On/Off).

Using the "Game Mode" solution is not just something relating to Vizio. See this article where the author talks about "Game Mode" as a solution for motion blur in Samsung and Sony HDTVs:

http://hdguru.com/a-solution-to-the-dreaded-soap-opera-effect/2119/

That said, while I have only used the TV for 24 hours, I have not seen any "motion blur" or "soap opera effect" so far. Apparently it would not be evident when viewing standard TV shows shot on video tape. Instead, it happens more often when viewing movies or "made for TV" type series (Game of Thrones, Homeland) that are originally shot on film.

I will be writing a full review when I finish wall-mounting the TV and installing all of my components. But my immediate reaction to this review is that it is a shame to give the TV only one star for a flaw that many HDTVs have, and that CAN be managed via the Game Mode setting. So far, I am really impressed with this TV.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 5, 2012 11:52:47 AM PST
C. Starke says:
Have to agree that the "soap opera effect" alone (which I honestly haven't even noticed) is no reason to give this TV a one star review. The old saying, "You get what you pay for" comes into play here. Think about what you get for this price: 47" LED-lit LCD, 3D w/4 pairs of glasses, built-in wifi, great remote w/full qwerty keyboard, made by an American company (sure, not assembled here, but come on). I would expect to pay $300-500 more for all of that. Still deliriously happy with this TV. I just wish I could be watching the Bruins play on it. :(

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 27, 2013 6:22:52 PM PDT
A C Onsumer says:
Watch the Bruins in Your Dreams.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.3 out of 5 stars (91 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,240,527