Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro
Customer Review

198 of 238 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT the collection you've been waiting for!, November 22, 2012
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect Trilogy - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
What DLC is included in the Mass Effect Trilogy?

"On Xbox 360, Bring Down the Sky and Pinnacle Station are not included with Mass Effect, however they are available as stand-alone downloads through Xbox LIVE. For Mass Effect 2, Cerberus Network will be included and Online Pass will be included for Mass Effect 3."

That basically says it all. - Forget about the DLC being on-disk, they don't even give you download codes. The current MSRP ($60) is already more than the cost of the sum of the 3 games separately (shop around). On top of that, to get all of the DLC, you'd need to pay an additional $65 through XBOX Live:

Bringing Down the Sky 400
Pinnacle Station 400
Shadow Broker 800
Kasumi 560
Arrival 560
Genesis 320
Overlord 560
Leviathan 800
From Ashes 800

Total 5200 points = $65

This 'Trilogy' isn't a definitive collection in any sense of the word. This compilation is a blatant, lazy money grab. Insulting. Anti-consumer. If they're this desperate to exploit their audience, they could at least put everything on-disk and charge $120. - At least then I'd respect them for being upfront about it - and I'd be able to have everything in one neat package.

I'll close by saying that this is all doubly infuriating because EA and Bioware have done this right in the past! Dragon Age Origins: Ultimate Edition, for example, was everything a Dragon Age fan could've hoped for in one beautiful package!

Note: This review is specifically for the 360 Trilogy SKU and is not meant to be a review of the individual games therein. I'm reviewing the package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 12 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 23, 2012 6:54:41 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 23, 2012 6:57:31 AM PST
Matt Henry says:
While I checked "yes" that I think this is a helpful review due to the included DLC cost info, I don't agree with the review itself or its conclusions. The product never claims to be a 'definitive collection' or an 'ultimate edition' of any kind. This is a trilogy of the three retail versions, which is a great gift for someone just getting into the series (like my friend, who I'm buying it for), or for someone who has Redboxed their way through a previous title or two (like myself).

It's a bit unfair to review the product so negatively as compared to a product the reviewer *wishes* it was, which will almost certainly be another product down the line. Remember that there's new ME3 DLC coming out this holiday season. It would be unfair of me to negatively review the stand-alone ME3 just because it's not the trilogy. It would be unfair of me to negatively review a base Ford Mustang negatively because it's not the decked-out GT. It's not supposed to be; it's a different package altogether.

As a trilogy, this is a fine offering. In several months, there will be some type of ultimate edition (probably a few months before ME4 hits). If you're looking for that, wait for that, and review that bundle at the proper time. Until then, review this retail trilogy on its own merits, not as a disappointment based on a wishlist that will almost certainly be included in a separate product in the future.

Posted on Nov 23, 2012 10:06:01 PM PST
vvalkerguy2 says:
DLC not included in-game is hardly a reason for 1-star.

Posted on Nov 29, 2012 9:19:21 AM PST
D. D. Davis says:
Just to be "that guy" I will point out that Genesis isn't needed as a DLC with this trilogy package. Genesis is an intereactive storybook DLC that allowed you to set the important decisions from Mass Effect into Mass Effect 2 without actually having played the game.

Posted on Nov 29, 2012 3:56:16 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 29, 2012 4:16:49 PM PST
To be fair to the reviewer, you may or may not agree with his statements, but you can't ignore the fact that even EA/Bioware's marketing referred to this collection as the "definitive Mass Effect experience". You should be able to look up the advertisement that states that exact phrase. Statements like that imply that the package is, in fact, complete when it turns out that it's not. Regardless of one's opinion as to whether or not the DLC is needed to enjoy the main games, you can't argue that it is required if you want to completely understand the story. Despite enjoying the games quite a bit myself, I do believe this bundle is actually just a cash grab. You can rest assured that after they've finished supporting Mass Effect 3, they will release a collection that incorporates everything.

Anyways, all I'm really saying is don't give the reviewer such a hard time. He's not giving the product a poor rating because it's not something he wants it to be. He's giving it a poor rating because it's not something it was advertised to be.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 30, 2012 2:09:33 AM PST
Except that...
1. That's not how ratings actually work. They are supposed to be based on the quality of the product.
2. NOWHERE on this package or anywhere in the product description does it state that this game includes all Mass Effect content. It simply states that it is the trilogy, plain and simple.
3. Even if Bioware/EA were referring to this product as the "definitive Mass Effect experience" right now they would be correct. That's what this is, it collects all three games in one package. If you were to play each game in this box to completion without getting a single bit of DLC you would still be completing the Mass Effect story, the "definitive' story. Would you argue that the player had not actually played the Mass Effect trilogy after completing all games in this box?

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 1, 2012 11:10:27 AM PST
Michael Zack says:
1. The quality of the product is linked to what the advertisements promise about the product. No matter how great a 2 minute roller coaster may be, if you were promised a 10 minute roller coaster, the ride is going to suck.

2. Ignoring how the product is advertised won't change that the reviewer is right. They are the ones who are claiming this is the definitive Mass Effect experience. Not him. Not me. They are. Plain and simple.

3. What the heck do you mean "even if." They are referring to the product as the definitive experience. And you can't have that experience without the DLCs which adds to the story.. hell... which are CRITICAL to the story. Like Arrival. I didn't get that DLC, and the first 20 minutes of the 3rd game was nonsense to me until a friend explained what was going on. I didn't get the definitive, or complete, story without my friend telling me about it. So quite frankly, I would argue they didn't get the complete experience of the game without some of the DLCs.

Deal with it.

Posted on Dec 4, 2012 7:12:22 AM PST
Here's why I think this is a GOOD example of a one star review: the games are already out and everyone knows they are great. It's not like his review will mean that someone doesn't get to experience Mass Effect because the trust a the Amazon review score. What this reviewer is doing is reviewing the compilation. As a compilation of games (some of which are pretty old) this is a terrible collection. Why not at least include the DLC for Mass Effect 2? It IS anti-consumer and just a sign that EA doesn't care about its fans. As the reviewer mentioned, the Dragon Age: Origins collection includes absolutely everything, so it's obvious that this is no oversight. Someone brought this up in a meeting (should we give the fans the DLC?) and someone had to say "no." They have every right to do that, of course, but they should realize that a lot of Mass Effect fans like myself would have given them another $60 for games they already bought just to have the complete package. That free money from the true fans is gone now, EA. Great job.

Posted on Dec 8, 2012 7:18:59 PM PST
Chris says:
I don't know where you got the information from, but let me help you update it a bit.
"Bring Down the Sky" was only 80 MSP (1 dollar) which is a steal. At least that's how much I paid for it. Genesis is not necessary DLC because it is just a recap of the first Mass Effect 2. I accidentally bought this, but you don't need it if you already played through Mass Effect 1. Also, I might add, that they shouldn't include DLC just yet because they are still releasing it for the third game (Omega just came out last week). It is just called "The Trilogy", and was probably just released to make more money from the series. I also like it because people can finally play the first Mass Effect on the Playstation 3, so the long wait is over. Playstation owners can now experience the entire collection. DLC will remain DLC, probably for another year or so. Then they will release the "Ultimate Edition" for $60 or so. If they released an ultimate edition now, anything over $100 is simply unappealing to the consumer.

Posted on Dec 9, 2012 12:00:26 PM PST
Franco says:
THANK YOU. People, like me, who are not so smart about "collection editions" will sometimes buy things like this. Your review was really helpful.

Posted on Dec 29, 2012 5:52:55 PM PST
cftroop says:
Why would you buy Genesis if you have Mass Effect 1? And Pinnacle Station sucks. And Bringing down the sky is $1 so I don't know where the hell you're getting this info from.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›