Customer Review

31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good program, but extremely buggy on Windows, January 19, 2009
This review is from: Movie Magic Screenwriter Version 6 (CD-ROM)
I can't comment on the Mac version of MMSW 6, but the Windows versions is full of bugs. I have submitted at least half a dozen bug reports to the developers and those were only SOME Of the major ones. There are a lot of minor ones I just deal with.

I also owned the previous version and was really looking forward to the release of version 6. I was/am very disappointed.

The program itself it good. It's relativly simple to use and it comes with some nice features. The new outline and the "NaviDoc" feature is a great idea and it's useful, I just wish it was a little more flexible. But overall, it's a very nice feature.

I wouldn't mind the bugs as much if they would release regular updates that fixed them. However, the last update was over a year ago. (last version is dated 2/1/2008)

I'm a software developer by profession and I'd be embarassed to release software with this many bugs in it. Unfortunaly, from what I hear, Final Draft is not much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Oct 19, 2010 12:37:47 AM PDT
foreignpress says:
Could you itemize (briefly) what sort of bugs you encountered?

Posted on Oct 19, 2010 12:39:24 AM PDT
foreignpress says:
Could you itemize (briefly) what sort of bugs you encountered?

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 19, 2010 4:49:29 PM PDT
It's been a while since I've used it. But they were numerous. It crashed often. I'd add bookmarks and nothing would happen. Deleting a word of text would cause the document to scroll up.

Posted on May 6, 2012 12:15:12 PM PDT
It is now May of 2012 and the software has still not been updated. It's not unusual for software companies to release updates every 6 months. Sometimes sooner. MMSW6 hasn't been updated in over 4 years.

Posted on Jun 8, 2013 8:51:38 AM PDT
I posted the above review in 2009. It is now June of 2013 and MMSW6 STILL HAS NOT BEEN UPDATED! I'm starting to think the software has been abandoned, even though they still keep selling it. I'd recommend going with Movie Draft (it's cheap, works well and v2 in development), Trelby (it's free, albeit limited) or if you want to spend $$, go with Final Draft.

Posted on Mar 27, 2014 6:48:34 PM PDT
We are now in March of 2014 and this software has still not been updated. To give that some perspective, the last release of this software came out a year and a half before Windows 7 was released to the public. Final Draft, by comparison, has been through a couple of major releases since then and V9 was release in January 2014. For the record, I don't work for Final Draft them and don't even own a copy of the software. For Write Brothers to continue to sell this software is, in my opinion, disingenuous.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.8 out of 5 stars (77 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
$249.95 $162.93
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Westwood, NJ USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 546,187