Customer Review

32 of 88 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Macrobiotic cooking does not necessarily cure cancer, April 9, 2003
This review is from: Aveline Kushi's Complete Guide to Macrobiotic Cooking: For Health, Harmony, and Peace (Paperback)
I bought Aveline Kushi's "Complete Guide to Macrobiotic Cooking" after reading another book called "Recalled by Life" about a doctor who claimed to have been cured of cancer by following macrobiotics. This book does a good job of explaining macrobiotic cooking, but it is worth mentioning that author Aveline Kushi died in 2001 from cervical cancer which had spread to her bones. While I do believe that diet can help in the fight against cancer, macrobiotics is not and other forms of diet are not necessarily a cure all. I am sure it is a very healthy diet that works for many people, but it may be difficult to stick with. May Ms. Kushi rest in peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 23 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 4, 2007 3:23:05 PM PST
MysticJaguar says:
This review is insulting. You imply the author must not have a good approach because they died of cancer. Is there any treatment that is going to guarantee survival from cancer. You need to delete this review.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 17, 2008 1:21:43 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Aug 25, 2008 4:13:21 PM PDT
Emuru says:
I have to agree. The reviewer assumes that "cancer"- a very broad category of disease to begin with- is caused by the foods we eat or don't eat, and by the type of lifestyle we follow. Quite a leap to make when the most learned people in cell research (and other closely related fields) make no pretense of understanding what causes this large group of diseases! I smell guilt feelings from waaay too much Texas Barbeque... ;) Message to Chris: I LOVE Texas Barbeque myself! Relax- Eat- Enjoy!! But don't judge others for eating differently, okay? :)

Posted on May 23, 2009 3:09:08 PM PDT
Aveline's death in her early 70's was tragic, but the event does point out that macrobiotic diet doesn't guarantee you won't have cancer. What we don't know is how many years the diet might have added to her life.

Posted on Apr 19, 2010 3:47:59 PM PDT
Sarah says:
I don't think this review is insulting, one of Kushi's books was called "Macrobiotic Cancer Prevention Cookbook" and it is important to note that despite following the diet Kushi died of cancer. This is no surprise to me, as I never believed her when she suggested cancer could be prevented by macrobiotics... but she suggested that, not me!

Posted on Mar 31, 2011 7:28:48 PM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Jun 4, 2011 4:01:28 PM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 28, 2011 9:39:48 PM PDT
InfoJunkie says:
Sarah. This review is of Macrobiotic Cooking, NOT the book you mention. So, yes the review is completely irrelevant. That's like someone posting a negative review of a jazz cd because they don't like jazz. Nothing works for everyone. And their is no guaranteed cure/prevention that works 100% of the time for every person.

Posted on Jan 14, 2012 2:32:48 AM PST
RWH says:
I too read "Recalled by Life". I have that same cancer. That author also died. However, he was in remission for 7 years, and the cancer came back when he went off his diet. With cancer there are no guarantees. Diet is a possibility. Medicine falls painfully short for that matter. If it did not, I would not be looking for options. Oncologists leave a great deal to be desired. They accept the disease process, and treat it with protocols. There are very few doctors who know anything about diet, positive approaches, encouraging the patient to think positive, and the patients will to live. Eating well is a good way to go, no matter what happens. It's positive. It helps with other things, which help to fight, like cholesterol, obesity, arthritis, heart disease, etc. My oncologists don't pay any attention to any of those things. Don't you think they're important? Every reviewer here will die of something, some of cancer. It is not about the dying, it is about the living.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 14, 2012 8:49:03 AM PST
Good points. Best of luck to you, prayers are on the way.

Posted on Jan 31, 2012 6:08:35 PM PST
Michio was a heavy cigarette smoker and a coffee drinker. There is a cable channel called Veria. On this channel there is a program called, The Genesis of Healing.

The host for the show aired on macrobiotics stated that the Kushi's did not follow the diet very well later in life.

I would look at the numbers of people who have been healed from cancer and other maladies and not at three people who developed it.

We are all human and prone to error. The creation of this diet has been a tremendous help to many and it's really a shame that the family who created the diet did not follow it to prevent disease.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 1, 2012 8:22:30 AM PST
InfoJunkie says:
I agree. AND it is an indication of how difficult the program is to follow if someone who wrote a book on it can't even stick with it.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: San Antonio, TX, United States

Top Reviewer Ranking: 253,571