Customer Review

44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great as an Access Point Right Out of the Box, but..., August 28, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WR700N Wireless N150 Portable Router, Pocket Design, Router/AP/Client/Bridge/Repeater Modes,150Mpbs (Personal Computers)
If all you want is a portable AP (Wifi Access Point) and don't want to change any of the defaults like SSID or Password and do not need a full 300 - 500 MBPS bandwidth, this is the device for you. Just pull it out of the box, cable it to a router port (like the LAN cable in Hotel Rooms) and you are ready to pair your devices. However if you want anything more, read on.

First to be clear, what is the difference between an Access Point and a Router? A router lets multiple devices (Wifi, cable or both) share an Internet Line like a cable or DSL modem. The router provides all the functions to make this happen. An AP does NOT connect directly to a modem or like device. It REQUIRES that what you connect to a line that already has the functionality of some kind of LAN routing device like a router port. The AP has more limited functionality. It simply allows multiple devices (wifi only in this case) to share a single router port or similar type connection. It has less functionality than a router so is dependent on there already being a router behind it.

This device can also act as a number of other device types as the description details. There is also much more information on the TP-Link web site. Go there before buying if you want this to do anything other than use this as a default AP device.

If you do want to access the administration menu to do anything, it does not access like most other routers. Most routers work fine if your computer LAN poert is set to automatic IP and DNIS addressing . Because auto-DNS can cause problems sometimes on wide area networks like in a Hotel or large business, the addressing is static and you have to change your LAN port to a specific configuration if you want to access the menus on this device. That wouldn't bee too hard if their support web site or user manual was up to date and accurate. It is not. The support FAQs for this device haven't been updated since Windows Vista and the User Manual since Windows XP. In addition the instructions and FAQs give you a number of IP addresses to connect to this device and only one works. I documented the steps for Windows 7 and will provide them below. In addition, if you want your Ethernet port to work with other devices you might connect after you are done, you will have to change the configuration back when done.

How to access administration menu:

Disable Wifi:(there must be no other network connections live)

Control Panel>Network and Internet>Network and Sharing Center>Change Adapter Settings>Local Area Connection (right click-properties)>Internet Protocol Version 4>Properties>Use the following IP Address: 192.168.0.10>Subnet Mask 255.255.0.0>OK.

Use browser to log in to cable connected device at 192.168.0.254>admin-admin.

When completed:
Control Panel>Network and Internet>Network and Sharing Center>Change Adapter Settings>Local Area Connection (right click-properties)>Internet Protocol Version 4>Properties>Obtain IP Address Automatically>OK.

This reverts Ethernet Port back to normal.

Enable Wifi.

You are done. Once logged in to this device, it configures like any other router. There is no simplified user configuration interface, so don't go there if you aren't familiar with router configurations. The Quick Setup menu link in the Main Menu lets you set a few of the basic things, but that is all. Don't go any further if you do not know what you are doing. Worst case and you get it to where it doesn't work, hold down the reset button for 30 seconds, not 5 seconds like the manual says. It will revert to factory defaults again.

A note on telephone support: If you can eventually get through, they are superb!!! Knowledgeable, patient and English speaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-4 of 4 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 17, 2012 10:17:23 AM PST
Ominx says:
Thanks for this. I needed to be able to set the TP-Link as a repeater with an iPad and the IP Address and Subnet Mask written in the manual were not working. I couldn't access the admin menu to change the settings to mirror the AP until I tried the instructions posted here by Cecil. Now with an app like Fing on the iPad I can find the AP MAC address and IP and set up the TP-Link all with an iPad.
So here's it broken down for an iPad:
1. On your iPad touch the arrow next to the SSID of your TP-Link
2. Under IP Address select Static
3. Enter IP Address: 192.168.0.10 and Subnet Mask 255.255.0.0
4. Load up Safari and go to 192.168.0.254
5. Make any changes necessary (the TP-Link will reboot)
6. Go back to your Wifi settings and change IP Address back to DHCP and you should be online.

Posted on Aug 2, 2013 6:28:42 PM PDT
Michael says:
Thanks! Your review was very helpful in getting this set up. Followed the instructions and it worked like charm. I was pulling my hair out, trying all the standard router set up steps and nothing was working! Thought I would be able to figure it out for sure but i would have never guessed what you did in a million years.

I now have it switched to router mode and I am off to the races. Thanks again!!

Posted on Mar 19, 2014 5:34:37 AM PDT
After working all afternoon following the directions and calling the assistance line given, I finally turned to the comments on Amazon and within 5 minutes, I had this wonderful gadget up and running! Thank you for the assistance! It's working great and doing exactly what I needed it to do!

Posted on Apr 5, 2014 10:25:12 PM PDT
ubat says:
You are absolutely right: both the quick install and the provided CD manual are basically useless. I'm no computer novice, but this thing had me scratching my head. I just spent a couple of hours trying to figure out its setup, because the config web-based page just wouldn't open. I tried every single suggestion I found on the web, and nothing worked. But one thing you stated in your review -- other Wi-Fi gadgets disabled -- seems to have worked (I also plugged my internet connection network cable on the TP-Link, don't ask me why). The config page opened long enough for me to set the device to repeater, which is what I wanted in the first place. When the device rebooted, I lost the config page and it won't open again. Never mind, because it all seems to be working now. Still have to test the device as a range extender, but at least it's configured correctly. Thanks!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: CA, USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 2,782