Customer Review

263 of 269 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rest assured, this is the latest printing, March 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th Edition (Paperback)
I just want to put to rest some of the previous concerns about this being an outdated issue. I'm a doctoral student, so having the latest version of this manual is paramount to the success of my program. That being said, I researched whether or not I should purchase this manual from Amazon, and almost didn't given some of the past negative reviews. I went with my instincts, however, trusting that a major retailer like Amazon would always offer the latest printing of a given text.

Needless to say, I was right in doing so.

I ordered this book February 27, 2012, and according to the inside of my copy, this is the fifth printing (January 2011) of this book. Rest assured that if you order from Amazon, you're getting the latest copy of a terrific resource and at the best price available.

Book: five stars...a terrific resource for anyone writing in the APA style.
Amazon experience: five stars...don't worry guys, you're getting the most recent version.

I hope I have helped alleviate some of the concerns posted here. While getting the proper version of this book might've been a problem in the past, it is no longer an issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 8 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 10 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jan 4, 2013 3:05:17 PM PST
A helpful review!

Posted on Jun 13, 2013 6:00:53 PM PDT
Hungry Mind says:
My copy of a new 6th Edition just arrived today (June 13, 2013) and it is the 6th printing: July, 2012. What a relief!

Posted on Jul 29, 2013 4:40:20 PM PDT
I teach a lot of young undergraduate first generation college students (this means they are the first person in their family to attend college). Those students are typically poor and will buy the cheapest book listed. Also, their parents will often be the persons buying the books for them. They see no difference between one book or the other. The covers look the same. The cheapest books on the list are often not actually sold by Amazon - but by someone else selling their books on Amazon. The problem is that those students (who buy from ANYONE ELSE who sells on the Amazon website) believe that they are buying from Amazon. They receive some other printing version and then there are major issues throughout the semester. My students are buying books from this website and still getting different printing versions. It would be extremely helpful if AMAZON would require sellers to disclose the printing version of any 6th Edition they allow to be sold on this website. This problem is a headache with every new group that comes through my classroom.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 29, 2013 6:16:01 PM PDT
clang_the_o says:
I completely agree! The printing edition should be disclosed. One could also contact the buyer directly.

Posted on Aug 20, 2013 3:07:10 PM PDT
Brandos12 says:
Yay I just got my copy today (July 20, 2013) and it is also the 6th printing: July, 2012. I made sure I ordered a new book sold by Amazon.com

Posted on Mar 15, 2014 1:22:38 PM PDT
J. Stensrude says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 15, 2014 2:16:50 PM PDT
clang_the_o says:
I assure you I'm a doctoral student and high school English teacher! If Amazon wants me though, I'm game!

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 26, 2014 7:27:09 AM PDT
K. Davis says:
Informative post! Thanks.

Posted on May 10, 2014 8:37:59 PM PDT
bnz says:
Thank you- knowing that this is the latest printing helps a lot!

Posted on Jun 16, 2014 7:58:56 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 16, 2014 8:17:20 AM PDT
I have a sixth printing, purchased from Amazon.com LLC and the sample references on pages 108/109 are SINGLE-SPACED.

I'm assuming this is something APA still has wrong. I give up trying to figure out what is the correct APA format on any given month.

So, even if you get a sixth printing like I did, there are still issues in the manual. Glad this isn't what you are supposed to use to base your papers on - oh yeah, it IS! I'm going to stop using this thing and just check with Purdue U's OWL pages every time I start a new paper so I can adhere to whatever APA standard is in vogue that month.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Alabama

Top Reviewer Ranking: 331,140