Customer Review

1,089 of 1,157 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An OZ-some DVD Experience, December 12, 1999
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wizard of Oz (DVD)
Like most baby boomers, I've watched this film dozens of times in the past on broadcast TV, then VHS tape, then LaserDisc ... but I had never actually SEEN "The Wizard of Oz" until this newly restored DVD came out. It's an amazing transfer. The sepia-tone Kansas sequences are startlingly sharp and clear, and the Technicolored world "Over the Rainbow" is truly dazzling. I found myself fascinated by details I had never noticed before: the glittering corn stalks in the Scarecrow's field; the mirror-like floors of the Emerald City; the polished buttons on the guardsmen's uniforms. Incredibly, even the individual grains of red sand in the Witch's hourglass stood out and glistened! All these minor-but-sumptuous visual details served to heighten the magical spell that the film has always woven, enhancing the performances, the story, and the music.
The DVD extras are a mind-boggling embarrassment of riches. The "Making Of" documentary hosted by the incomparable Angela Lansbury is worth the price of the DVD alone, but there's so much more: an international poster gallery, interviews with cast members, deleted scenes, production stills, radio clips, etc, etc. There's enough material to keep even the most casual viewer fascinated for hours, and a true Oz buff will be occupied for days!
If you only bought a DVD player to watch this one disc, it would well be worth the expense. Treat yourself, and fall in love with this classic film again ... for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 16 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jul 12, 2010 12:35:03 PM PDT
David Burger says:
This is a nice review, for an old product. It is of no use whatsoever for evaluating the Blu-ray version. The 1999 DVD release WAS an exhiliarating experience, but Amazon is not doing its customers any service by recycling old reviews for new products. I own the 1999 release; I already know what it's like. I also own the 2005 release, which is even better. I opted to read these reviews to find out what people think of the NEW release. Come on Amazon; we're your customers, we deserve better.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 26, 2010 7:52:53 AM PST
[Deleted by the author on Nov 26, 2010 7:53:52 AM PST]

Posted on May 19, 2011 1:16:46 PM PDT
Excellent review; really nice, I have it in my cart ready to go. TY!

Posted on May 20, 2011 1:19:54 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on May 20, 2011 1:21:18 PM PDT
R. Birnbaum says:
My special effects - jaded nieces and nephews, found this movie (72 years later)to be an absolute delight! Time will not diminish the utter magnificence of this film!...Many UK aspiring meterologists have cited this film as the reason to study tornadoes ,and do graduate work at Oklahoma-all because of this movie....A film that will last forever!...and as for the music....I say God bless Harold Arlen and Yip Harburg,truly the embodiment of an American musical renaissance.....The flying monkeys and Margaret Hamilton define true fantasy.....And a special nod to Victor Fleming,the director....

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 12, 2011 1:42:33 AM PDT
Joe Hart says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Oct 19, 2011 8:08:49 AM PDT
Confused because another review says this collection DOESN't contain the Angela Lansbury documentary. Clarification, please?

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 25, 2012 8:19:15 PM PST
Amazon does this all the time and it's infuriating. They combine reviews for several products that are often very different,(try looking at computer hard drives!), and it becomes IMPOSSIBLE to get an evaluation of a specific product. And it takes a REALLY LONG TIME to try to sort through it, when AMAZON could so easily separate them out with the push of a button on a keyboard. WHY? WHY do they do this?

Posted on Feb 18, 2013 12:32:15 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 18, 2013 12:33:52 PM PST
M. Standish says:
I enjoyed reading your review. I find it odd that someone would complain that you don't write about Blu-ray when it would seem you are clearly writing about the DVD. I see your review was written way back in 1999. So I'm assuming you are writing about the 60th anniversary edition, or something along those lines, since the 70th couldn't have, and didn't, come along until 2009. With your review being "attached", or shown to be representative of the 70th anniversary release, I'm afraid there is going to be much confusion caused. Not certain why Amazon would do this. Perhaps that is why the gentleman was confused as to why your review failed to address Blu-ray. Amazon may have taken the liberty to "attach" your popular review to its' release as well. It is entirely inappropriate unless all the releases are identical, and quite obviously they are not.

As a fellow baby-boomer (from the early 50's in this case), I can closely relate to everything you said. The Wizard of Oz has always been my favorite film of all time, and I rather doubt anything will ever replace it. I suppose when Star Wars came out in 1977, and as a wide-eyed 20-something sci-fi fan, I might have placed it ahead of The Wizard of Oz for a short time. I plead "temporary insanity"!!

I'd also like to add that there has been only one film since The Wizard of Oz that has succeeded in so utterly and completely transporting me to another time and place while viewing it, and that was Avatar, which came out in 2009 during the 70th anniversary of The Wizard of Oz.

God bless you L. Frank Baum!

Posted on Jun 22, 2013 10:32:21 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 22, 2013 10:42:11 PM PDT
Thanks for the review Michael. Amazon is doing it yet again for this 75th Anniversary Edition blu ray edition. I have to say they have the format wrong for the edition saying it is "widescreen". There was no such thing in 1939. We all know by now that "The Robe" was the first "widescreen" or "Cinemascope" picture and then "How To Marry A Millionaire" followed. I do own the 70th Anniversary 3 disc Emerald Edition blu ray of "The Wizard Of Oz" and found it to be absolutely amazing. Now it seems, they have made it into a 3D movie, like the new "Oz: The Great and Powerful". I wonder how it will look in 3D for this release of it? I must also note that in the 70th Anniversary blu ray "Emerald Edition", you get the well done documentary "MGM: When the Lion Roars" 6 hour Award Winning Studio Chronicle on standard dvd.

Posted on Jul 15, 2013 5:58:30 PM PDT
da610 says:
Hey, yeah! What's this 1999 review doing on the top/featured reviews for the upcoming anniversary release?
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.7 out of 5 stars (3,344 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (2,802)
4 star:
 (256)
3 star:
 (103)
2 star:
 (57)
1 star:
 (126)
 
 
 
$28.09
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Pineville, Missouri, USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 2,541