Customer Review

93 of 118 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but short-lived, December 12, 2008
By 
This review is from: Polk Audio PSW505 12-Inch Powered Subwoofer (Single, Black) (Electronics)
I bought this sub based largely on reviews I have read online (Amazon included). I listened to one in a home theater store and it came down do a Velodyne model and this Polk one. It arrives, I set it up, and let it go. Don't get me wrong, I know I had set it up properly and never "stretched" the sub to its maximum capabilities. It sounded great in virtually all areas I used it for. However, 3-4 months into its use I begin to hear the unmistakable death rattle from the box and it quickly gives out. Thankfully, I purchased the warranty and a new one is on its way. I am not yet ready to give up on this purchase. For now, the rating will be what it is but may change after the arrival of the replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 16 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 22 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 23, 2009 12:07:08 PM PDT
Mike Testa says:
Have you had any problems with your replacement? Anything new to report on its performance?

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 21, 2010 4:53:01 PM PST
Ronman says:
Any new news????

Posted on Aug 5, 2010 6:57:44 AM PDT
M. JOHNSTON says:
I wonder how the replacement fared after a year and a half.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 19, 2010 7:04:40 PM PDT
Kinsaw says:
Would be great to hear back about opinion on replacement speaker....

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 2, 2010 10:20:51 AM PDT
Jared Sample says:
Obviously it's fine. I have this subwoofer too. He just got a bad egg. I get mine to wake the entire apartment complex and it takes it and handles it gracefully. This is the very best home theater purchase I have ever made. It's a FANTASTIC compliment to my sound system.

Posted on Feb 17, 2011 8:37:27 AM PST
Sammy says:
don't buy the warranty...polk stands behind their stuff. i'm sure this is a poster trying to sell a warranty. they cleanup because most are never used. notice how it was composed after the problem and never followed up! do you wait 6 months and then post a review? i think not...i bought polk rti4 and am confidently purchasing this model for $199...can't beat that dollar per watt

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 21, 2011 12:51:38 PM PDT
[Deleted by Amazon on Mar 8, 2012 12:35:24 PM PST]

Posted on Sep 27, 2011 1:39:11 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 4, 2011 4:07:54 PM PDT
Chipawa says:
Received mine last week and it worked great 3 days and was dead. Amazon was awesome and gave me a shipping label to send back (I sent it back yesterday) and I recieved the new one the next day (today) September 27, 2011! It is working fine now. I had originally hooked it up to a brand new Denon AVR-1612 5.1. The Denon receiver was a pain and also had issues, so not sure if it was what blew the sub or not. Called Polk they said the board was bad in the sub.
I took the Denon recceiver back and got a yamaha RX-V471BL AV receiver and it was super easy to set up and new sub is working fine. I will report back and let you know how it goes with this one seeing none got back to the other post. This sub is absolutely out of this world. It sounds just as good as my brothers $2,000 sub. Polk also said they have plnety of parts to repair it if it did have problems down the road. There tech support is as good as Amazons return policy. The Yamaha also has better picture quality than the Denon did if that helps anyone.

UPDATE:Oct 4, 2011
New sub is working great! Did not see any kind of extended warranty, but hey it is only 200.00. Meanwhile it has been a week now and it is a jewel. Freaks the dogs and the cats out with a great blue ray or 3d movie. Sound is absolutely incredible. paired it up with 2 tsi400 and one cs10 center speaker.
Amazon has the absolute best return policy!

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 13, 2011 2:54:09 PM PDT
W. J. Hornby says:
What center speaker do you use with this sub woofer?

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 13, 2011 5:01:36 PM PDT
Chipawa says:
Polk CS10. Bought it brand new as well. TSi400's on the side. Sounds so good I didnt bother getting the satellites.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.7 out of 5 stars (1,109 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (912)
4 star:
 (123)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
$589.95 $254.94
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 21,989,306