Customer Review

266 of 280 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT for my 3yrs old and SAFE!, October 28, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green (Toy)
I read a lot of reviews on this toy before I bought it. I read all the good , bad and in-between.. Since the majority is great we bought it for our 3 yrs old daughter. Verdict- SHE LOVES IT. She loves my husbands Ipod touch yet we don't like that it has access to the web. Which is why I say this is SAFE! Our daughter can get educational information and I don't have to worry about her pressing a button that can lead to something that she doesn't need to see. I don't understand the negative reviews. Yes set up is slow but what do you expect for a hundred dollar computer that has 2mb? I think a lot of people are use to an ipad and you simply can't compare the two. Yes you can get a refurbished ipad for cheap but you have to make sure your TODDLER and young child does not go somewhere inappropriate; and let's face it they can easily break an ipad. This has fallen down a couple stairs and survived! I wouldn't try that on the ipod; ever! The apps are no more expensive than most other educational games out there. Yes angry birds is cheaper and so are others like it but when I wanted to get a Disney app for the ipod it cost 6 bucks. It was not educational and nothing in value compared to the tangled game we bought. Another bad review is set up; I agree with the long wait but it wasn't unbearable. If you don't have 1-3 hours then re-think this toy or maybe your busy life because those little 3 hours don't matter or measure up to the fun my daughter and many other kids have with this toy. The other problem people report is faulty device when it comes to set up. Honestly seems more human error than toy. Many that couldn't get it to work report later they did something like restart the computer and it worked fine. Out of the hundreds of reviews I read I think I only found 5 true faulty ones. For me, the set up was very easy just a little long but at the same time it takes a couple hours for my ipod to charge its battery so I don't see the big deal about a couple hours for an actual set up for this leap pad. You can buy an adapter to keep the toy going because you will run out of battery life a lot. I found just like the much other reviews that rechargeable batteries are the best (make sure to have charged back ups). Get a protector for the screen because it can scratch like any other tablet. I don't think it's overpriced nor do I think the games are seeing as how they last a lot longer and have more things to do than the apps on itunes. I think there is a lot of high expectations from some when in reality it is a durable, child's toy that is safe and educational and for a hundred dollars it's a great deal. My friend's little boy has the vtech and it's doesn't even compare. If you truly got a faulty one Amazon takes it back. That's their guarantee. The game comes with a couple apps that satisfies children for awhile. My daughter didn't even touch the tangled game we bought until about a week later. She can't put this leap pad down and I truly think it's a wonderful toy. The camera isn't the greatest but 1) we didn't buy it for that and 2) I didn't think a tablet that is like an ipad for kids and toddlers would have the quality picture of a camera that is worth more than the tablet alone. I'm more realistic I guess. I'm not trying to be harsh but I strongly support buying this for young kids and toddlers because it's safe, durable, fun, easy concept and I think a decent price for all you get. I found a decent amount of games, yes there could be more but it's still new and I think the choices will grow soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 12 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 18, 2011 12:03:25 PM PST
D. Kliemisch says:
This is a great review, your input made my decision to buy this product really easy! Thank you!!

Posted on Nov 20, 2011 4:48:14 PM PST
Thank you for your honest post. I am a realistic mom too. I want a nice Christmas gift for my son to enjoy educationally and also for fun (it is a gift). Do you recommend this for a 4 year old soon to be 5 years old. He will start kinder in the fall. Also what other pieces do you recommend to buy for it?

Posted on Nov 21, 2011 8:33:27 AM PST
I just posted my own review, but really wanted to add a note to yours about the battery life, which is minimized in your review. You can not buy an adapter for this product, you must use batteries, which have a very short life in this product. And eventually recharging the batteries becomes very frustrating....LeapFrog Leap Pad is a sophisticated product and therefore requires a better option then rechargeable batteries. Until LeapFrog finds a way to extend the battery life, or adds an adapter, I couldn't recommend this product.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 21, 2011 4:40:23 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 21, 2011 4:41:30 PM PST
T. Sewell says:
Helena,

There IS an a/c adapter available for the leappad. We use it all the time...

Posted on Nov 24, 2011 5:17:19 AM PST
I just wanted to point out a safety trick for the ipod and ipad and iphone if your child is using one at times. You can go under general settings and turn off safari temporarily (set up a code under restrictions). You can also turn off buying and/or deleting apps so they don't mess anything up. For my older son, i have safari turned off on his ipod touch and i purchased a safe browser called mobicip. I am thinking of a leap pad for on of my younger sons, thanks for your review

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 9, 2011 12:14:29 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 9, 2011 12:46:51 PM PST
Dawn says:
Kristen
Sorry for the late reply.
My daughter is 3 and is a total girly girl but I'm sure he will love the cars game and I believe there is a toy story game. The nice thing is the games have educational levels on them. My daughter is on the preschool level for most but they can be set to a higher level like 1st grade. I really do recommend this for any kid under 8 or 9 and any gender. The online app store has many more games than just what is in store. My daughter even finds the non disney games entertaining. It has been a couple of months and my daughter still cannot put it down. If you haven't bought the leap pad yet please wait. You are paying almost 100 bucks more from these 3rd party sellers on amazon and i believe they are sold out almost everywhere. I do still recommend this even over a ipad because of the fun kids have with it, durability, price and easy grasp for small hands (plus the easy navigation from game to game). You might have some luck in being able to purchase this in a store for the retail $99.00. If you go to walmart.com or target.com you can do that find in store. My friend was able to get one 2 weeks ago at a target 3 hours from her. Good luck and I hope you got one or if haven't will wait :)
Helena,
There is an adapter the down fall to that is it has to be plugged in with the leappad connected so a child cannot run around with it. I did not mean to minimize battery life. I did say to have backup rechargeable batteries because you will go through them a lot. I bought 3 sets of 4 rechargeable batteries (12 batteries total). That's why i say have backups; So when one set goes out you can put the other charged set in and if you forget to charge 2 sets you have the 3rd charged set as a backup. Yes 12 rechargeable batteries will cost ya a good 30 bucks but it's better than buying regular batteries constantly and will save you money in the long run. I don't know why you wouldn't recommend this product over batteries. It's not that difficult honestly and i would even pay for regular batteries constantly just to see how happy my daughter is with this toy. Just put the dead batteries back in the charger and replace them with another set that is charged; so by the time your child goes through those batteries the other previous set is ready( or like I said before have 3rd set and tada problem solved in case you forget to charge the other two or what not). I don't think the battery life is really that bad. A couple of hours for non stop play on regular batteries are pretty good. I remember the old hand held video systems that ate up batteries back in the 90's and they did not have rechargeable battery options. i wish you could and it may be better for leap pad to be able to charge this through a computer like an ipod/pad but you will have to wait a couple hours for the charge and that will probably up the cost another 50 bucks. Honestly rechargeable batteries are the way to go and ours last 4-5 hours straight play. Couple days if she is not constantly on it (which is rare). I don't know what option you would be happier with (computer charge or battery) but both would have a downfall and you are not going to find many interactive games that have long battery life. Computer charge is going to take a couple hours (so your child will have to wait no matter what) and you have to make sure you recharge the battries. Like before no battery will be able to last hours or days for a ipad or computer like game when it is constantly played with. Again I'm practical and don't expect a miracle perfect toy for a hundred bucks.
Hope that helps clear up the battery life for others.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 9, 2011 12:15:03 PM PST
[Deleted by the author on Dec 9, 2011 12:15:16 PM PST]

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 9, 2011 12:55:19 PM PST
Dawn says:
Thank I did not know the ipod touch has that option. I would apply it but honestly my daughter doesnt even care about the ipod touch anymore still nice to know and thanks.

Posted on Dec 9, 2011 7:28:03 PM PST
Heather D says:
Thank you for your review. I am debating whether or not these would be appropriate for my three year old girls. What apps or games have you downloaded besides what comes with it? Thanks!

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 14, 2011 9:30:45 AM PST
Dawn says:
I think very appropriate for 3 yrs old. We bought the Discovery Channels; Dicovery education: Animal alphabet. My 3yrs old loves it! It's a video and although some of the information is a little advance I know she is learning about animals. She has the Ispy treasure hunt. Not her favorite but she does play it every know and then. The disney princess books are a big success! She has tangled and the princess and the frob but they are the catridges rather than the online app
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.7 out of 5 stars (819 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (387)
4 star:
 (149)
3 star:
 (89)
2 star:
 (73)
1 star:
 (121)
 
 
 
Used & New from: $31.50
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: California

Top Reviewer Ranking: 75,055