Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro
Customer Review

25 of 170 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars On-Disc DLC! ANTI-CONSUMER PRACTICES, May 22, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragon's Dogma - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I was just about to open my copy of Dragon's Dogma, which I had pre-ordered some weeks back, when I saw news that Capcom admits that this game has on-disc DLC. I knew I was taking a gamble when pre-ordering this game, since this IS Capcom we're talking about. But since this was an RPG and not a fighting game I thought it was worth the risk. Well, guess I was wrong.

Sorry, Capcom. I, as a responsible consumer, refuse to support such unethical business practices. I shall be returning my copy to Amazon ASAP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 51 posts in this discussion
Initial post: May 22, 2012 10:13:17 PM PDT
get the DLC out of your ___ and rate the game...

Posted on May 22, 2012 10:56:15 PM PDT
C. Hamann says:
Yeah you're right. 300 + hours of gameplay just isn't worth $60. This doesn't belong in the review section.

Posted on May 23, 2012 12:05:26 AM PDT
Phenom says:
When you return it only get like 80% of your money back according to amazon policy. Is it really worth the loss?

Posted on May 23, 2012 5:05:23 AM PDT
C. Batey says:
This post has nothing to do with the mechanics or gameplay of Dragons Dogma and there for does not help anyone. Nor is this information 100% accurate. Senior VP Christian Svensson has anounced Capcom is in the process of revising its On-Disk DLC policies...Sorry E. Lacerna; however, I will believe the VP of Capcom over you.

I for one will be enjoying the 100's of hours of great gameplay that was released at launch and hope for the best with Capcom. It seems Capcom is finally taking note to customer backlash and will be changing their future releases, I just hope Dragon's Dogma can see some of those changes.

Posted on May 23, 2012 7:48:28 AM PDT
Dan says:
GO here

http://www.amazon.com/gp/community-help/customer-reviews-guidelines

It'll help you learn how to write a proper review. I have reported this as abuse/spam.

Posted on May 23, 2012 9:12:21 AM PDT
[Deleted by Amazon on May 23, 2012 9:20:48 AM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on May 23, 2012 10:08:35 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on May 23, 2012 10:11:16 AM PDT
M. B. says:
The Senior VP of Capcom, who doesn't even understand why people are upset about the on-disc DLC? They think it's an issue of packaging. Their "solution" is to have the same DLC available online, on the day of release (thus, finished before the game was even shipped out -- implying, it should have been part of the game already) via download instead of putting it on the disk. They do not understand what is inherently wrong with "DLC" finished before the game. Capcom is a pioneer is abusive DLC practices. This isn't a surprise. They approach DLC as part of the total sales figure for a product, as opposed to something that helps enhance an already finished product. Not to mention the constant advertisement that pops up on the bottom of the screen every hour or so regarding DLC.

With that said, this review should really not be on page as it's an ethical stance and not an objective view of the product. It doesn't help anyone, and it's not a good review.. because it isn't one. Sorry that you were not aware of the DLC issue beforehand, and hopefully you get a decent refund; however, it'd be best not to post ridiculous reviews.

Posted on May 23, 2012 4:35:15 PM PDT
Jaded Gamer says:
Reported for abuse. These kinds of reviews have very little value.

Posted on May 23, 2012 5:28:29 PM PDT
EL says:
Wow, so many Capcom fanboys on here butthurt because of the truth. Sorry, kiddos. I know a lot of you are too young to remember when the days when the gaming industry actually did not go out of their way to cheat their customers, so you think this on-disc DLC nonsense is nothing to be concerned about. But us older gamers know when a company is screwing us over, so the responsible consumers among us will refuse to accept such scams.

And go ahead and report me, fanboys. Keep bending over and taking it from the multi million dollar corporations that don't care a smidge about you. Hopefully one day in the future you'll grow up and realize that there's more to life than your videogame fix. It's the principle of the matter, kids, and if you can't understand this then you have no right to call yourselves adults.

Posted on May 23, 2012 7:35:15 PM PDT
I prefer on disc DLC because it saves my hard drive space. I understand arguement of it should be included but business is about making money. The good news is the consumer makes the choice if you enjoy the game support it with buying the DLC if not then its a easy choice I find it funny when people cry about on disc DLC when no one is forcing them to buy it an it saves there memory.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Phoenix, AZ United States

Top Reviewer Ranking: 41,599,267