Customer Review

30 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anticipation can blind your judgement, November 22, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman: Absolution - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Being a huge fan of the Hitman series, having played all of the previous games, i'd like to get off my chest the things that might make you reconsider whether you should buy it or not; and since there are many reviews with only very high expectations and appraisal, you can convince yourself and contrast other reviews with mine.

So why i consider this fifth installment is the Worst Hitman game ever, (in my humble opinion):
First, it's a corridor gameplay, which means a single level is separated in pieces and you can't go back from where you were at the beginning. also it's a Point A to Point B in terms of entry/exit.

Secondly, no more Journalistic news of how you did your stuff, (which was funny and cool reading details and watching easter eggs hinting the next levels) when you compare it to Hitman Blood Money.

Third, personally i find that the story sucks, in the manner that in all of the Hitman games, the levels made you visit locations around the world. Here it's only the USA. Oh and early on from the tutorial Diana is no longer you handler (so no more this comunication and relation with her)/ 47 becomes highly sentimental which doesn't seem very 47, if you share the idea (sure he was emotional leaving the Asylum in Hitman 1, but this isn't the first behaviour i'd have expected for this game).

Fourth, lack of orchestral music with the Jesper Kyd touch, makes it less ambientalistically Epic.

Fifth argument, the evidence of QUICK TIME EVENTS in diverse parts of the game! and wierd Minigames that doesn't feel serious/it breaks from the mood of the story and can be tedious for some.

Sixth, No choosing of your Loadout at the beginning of missions.

Seven, No CUSTOMIZABLE GUNS.

Eight, you cannot do Innovative kills, you get Slapped to the face and the "point system" that was added is like a teacher kicking you in the balls when you try to do something else besides what you're supposed to do: there's only a few ways of chosen by the game itself to accomplish your contracts. So Hurray for Linearity!

Nine, DLC costumes and weapons? Seriously?

Ten, where's the PDA map?

Eleven: this should be called Hitman: Abomination.

POSITIVE POINTS:

- Graphics and weather/elements (fire water etc.) are enhanced
- Sound effects are really well done
- There's a bigger crowd system kind of like in A Murder of Crows in "Hitman: Blood Money", but of course with better organization, they don't feel like they're just dumb AI's hanging in there.
- The AI is a little better in terms of being resourceful in groups, and add to the suspense but they still remain dumb in alertness and aren't enough unpredictable.
- There's a variety of starting guns or costumes that can be unlocked throughout the main story, but some of those costumes feel more goofy than being part of the levels.
- Even if i didn't like the turn of events inside "The Storyline" it still opens up to a more interesting plot, with that Lonewolf attitude of 47 protecting a girl (with latent capabilities), which will be unfolded in Hitman 6... let's hope the gameplay won't be a CoD or a generic dumbed down Shooter.
- More gamemodes for higher replayability

Overall it feels like the developers wanted to change completely to the line that they were following in the last 4 games, and took an approach that is more similar to Splinter Cell Conviction in terms of Story/movielike mechanics, rather than a more complex, full-er game. IF you want a change and a different perspective, try it first, and buy it then; if not, well there's still hope they turn back taking back the good elements which made the previous games to stand out from the whole bunch of games out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 22, 2012 2:53:38 PM PST
Orcus says:
Oh and i bought the game from a local place, just in case you ask...

Posted on Nov 22, 2012 8:33:20 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 22, 2012 8:38:07 PM PST
Jackel says:
I have played Hitman 1-4 repeatedly to death while waiting for this game. Hitman Absolution is the best game in the series!!!

First, it's a corridor gameplay, which means a single level is separated in pieces and you can't go back from where you were at the beginning. also it's a Point A to Point B in terms of entry/exit.
- I like it the way it is. I have no reason to go back to areas I already visited. I actually HATE backtracking in videogames.

Secondly, no more Journalistic news of how you did your stuff, (which was funny and cool reading details and watching easter eggs hinting the next levels) when you compare it to Hitman Blood Money.
-I always hated reading those dumb newspaper clips. I'm glad they are gone. Great job developers!

Third, personally i find that the story sucks, in the manner that in all of the Hitman games, the levels made you visit locations around the world. Here it's only the USA. Oh and early on from the tutorial Diana is no longer you handler (so no more this comunication and relation with her)/ 47 becomes highly sentimental which doesn't seem very 47, if you share the idea (sure he was emotional leaving the Asylum in Hitman 1, but this isn't the first behaviour i'd have expected for this game).
-Story is fine and I am enjoying it greatly.

Fourth, lack of orchestral music with the Jesper Kyd touch, makes it less ambientalistically Epic.
-I didn't even notice! Music has been great in my opinion.

Fifth argument, the evidence of QUICK TIME EVENTS in diverse parts of the game! and wierd Minigames that doesn't feel serious/it breaks from the mood of the story and can be tedious for some.
-LOL. Thanks for the good laugh. I barely noticed any QTEs....and this is coming from someone who beat Indigo Prophecy which has millions of QTEs everywhere throughout every moment of the game. Nothing is wrong with the minigames.....I actually like them.

Sixth, No choosing of your Loadout at the beginning of missions.
-I'm glad we do not choose the loadout prior to missions because it does not fit the story.

Seven, No CUSTOMIZABLE GUNS.
-I'm glad we do not customize guns prior to missions because it does not fit the story.

Eight, you cannot do Innovative kills, you get Slapped to the face and the "point system" that was added is like a teacher kicking you in the balls when you try to do something else besides what you're supposed to do: there's only a few ways of chosen by the game itself to accomplish your contracts.
-That is a lie. I have done plenty of innovative kills. Maybe you are playing the wrong game? Point system is fine.....I hope they don't change it for the worse in future Hitman games.

Nine, DLC costumes and weapons? Seriously?
-Bring on more DLC weapons...I like them. If you don't like them then don't buy them. I like them so I bought the DLC guns I like and I did not buy the DLC guns that I do not like. The choice is yours so it is dumb to complain about it just because you don't like it. Again, if you don't like it then DO NOT BUY IT.

Ten, where's the PDA map?
-I'm glad that map is gone. It was basically cheat mode. I looked at it once just to know how it functions then I never used it again.

Your final paragraph.
- This game is amazing and does not deserve to be placed in the same paragraph as Splinter Cell Conviction.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 22, 2012 9:00:18 PM PST
Sparky says:
I agree with you Jackel.. 100%.. I had to LOL at his review haha.. Best game on the market right now imo. Gonna take me a while to finish it. You can upgrade weapons.. DLC anything bring it on...

Posted on Nov 23, 2012 3:58:59 PM PST
From my POV, your list of complaints have a number of points which are non-crucial to dissing the game-- Jesper Kyd not composing as a reason for not liking the game? How juevenile can we be here? Kyd is one of my favorite composers of all time for the record and while I miss his influence I am certainly not objecting to the game because he either didn't have the time, didn't want to be involved, etc... and the complaint about the newspaper thing? Again-- lame. Seems like you are stuck in the same ole same ole rut and need to step out of the comfort zone to appreciate the new features that make this game unique in the series.

Posted on Nov 24, 2012 4:44:56 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 7, 2012 5:49:15 PM PST
Kegan Terry says:
I respect your complaints, as I had the same, But as the other commenters have said, It shouldnt really take away from your gameplay per se. Anyways everyone is entitled to their opinion, and I agree with yours completely, but I still had to give this game 5 stars, it may not be as good as the others, but compared to some of the other ps3 titles out, this by far is the best!
SPOILER* O yeah and about Diana....you obviously didnt get to the end did you!! :D

Posted on Nov 26, 2012 4:29:02 AM PST
Tim G says:
Kegan Terry, WTF? SPOILER!

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 10, 2012 6:24:41 PM PST
Orcus says:
Yes i know the ending. But didn't liked the Lonewolf attitude of the main character

Posted on Dec 11, 2012 1:54:38 PM PST
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 15, 2012 8:21:02 PM PST
Orcus says:
what are you talking about? i've put 3/5

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 5, 2013 9:18:24 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 5, 2013 9:22:34 AM PST
Great review. I agree with nearly all of it. Actually, I gave the game an even lower rating. Ever since the PS3 came along, there's been this pattern among game developers: make games bigger and prettier while tossing some very basic game-play elements of PS2 predecessors. There's also this weird tendency to add emotional, heart- tugging elements to every story in every game these days. In the case of Absolution, they've added it to a franchise where it has not existed before and quite frankly, doesn't fit.

Agent 47 is a cold- blooded assassin and he's more fun that way.

47's affection for Diana and his daughter didn't make the story more interesting nor did it make his character more interesting. It was just irritating and out-of-character and a ham-handed attempt to add "depth." It has no real place in this franchise.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›