Customer Review

257 of 275 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Next best thing to a professional calibration., December 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney WOW: World of Wonder [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm an ISF-certified HDTV calibrator and can highly recommend this disc to anyone with an HDTV who wants to get their display adjusted for better images but doesn't want to invest in having a professional calibration done. I've got several other DIY "calibration" DVDs and this one is by far the easiest to use (particularly for first-timers) and does a better than average job of fine-tuning your HDTV. It's the best investment you can possibly make in optimizing the performance of your new DLP, LCD, LED/LCD or plasma HDTV and you'll be rewarded with much better images than your display exhibited out of the box. And, while it won't allow you to properly adjust the color management system or fine-tune the grayscale performance that professional calibrators are able to do (with a $10,000+ plus investment in equipment and training!), it will get you much closer to industry standards and eliminate some of the more common adjustment problems such as the "torch mode" that most HDTV sets exhibit out of the box. Highly recommended and definitely well worth the small investment of time and money. You'll also be better informed about what it takes to make great pictures (and convincing surround sound) and your home entertainment quotient is bound to increase significantly. Try it, you'll definitely like it. Who knows? You might even be so impressed with how much your HDTV performance has increased that you'll go to the Imaging Science Foundation website (www dot imagingscience dot com) and contact a professional calibrator to take you the rest of the way to the maximum performance your new HDTV is capable of with a professional ISF calibration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 13 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 36 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 4, 2011 10:07:33 AM PST
Not everyone lives in an area where they can get ISF calibrated. It is a shame really that it isn't more readily available nationwide.

Would this disc be a viable alternative?

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 8, 2011 3:52:03 PM PST
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Jan 24, 2012 12:10:12 AM PST
D. Vega says:
I have a 2006 model year Vizio 1080p LCD. I know it's a dinosaur (which cost a fortune), but I would like to keep it for a few more years. My biggest complaint is that I cannot see what is happening in low-light scenes. Will this help me get a better picture?

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 24, 2012 3:11:59 PM PST
MoosePond says:
Yes, it should definitely help, but only to the extent that your display is capable of rendering black levels accurately. Another thing that would help is to keep your room lighting as dim as possible so that your display isn't having to battle ambient light.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 25, 2012 9:44:52 AM PST
Thank you so much for the reply, I do usually keep my room dark when viewing and have troubles. I first noticed it when "Lost" was first airing and they did a lot of important story telling in low-light conditions. I will get the calibration disc and see if it works for me.

Posted on Mar 29, 2012 6:37:24 AM PDT
J.R.E says:
Thanks for the review.

MooseP -- You say that "this one is by far the easiest to use (particularly for first-timers)." Would you recommend it over, say, Spears & Munsil for users who have some experience with calibration tools? Or if you know what you're doing, will you basically get the same results with either product?

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 29, 2012 7:00:12 AM PDT
MoosePond says:
I have never personally used Spears & Munsil (either the DVD or Blu-ray version) but based on what I hear from colleagues who have it's pretty complete for a calibration tool that doesn't use any external equipment and I suspect that it's a bit more comprehensive than WOW. I think that using either will get one reasonably close to industry standards and would be vastly preferable to just winging it and attempting to make the necessary adjustments with only the unaided naked eye as a tool.

Posted on Jun 5, 2012 9:22:15 AM PDT
Brian R. says:
Thanks for your review - another question for you:
Since this plays through a blu-ray player, are you supposed to mess with any of the blu-ray's settings? Doesn't both a blu-ray player and tv have video processing for things like sharpness, upscaling, etc? How does this affect using a calibration disc? Are there settings on blu-ray player, tv, or both that should be turned off first (like ambient light control, adaptive contrast/luma, etc). It just seems like there's so many settings on both the player and the tv that I'm left wondering if they'd interfere with properly using one of these discs.

Thanks!

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 5, 2012 1:05:49 PM PDT
MoosePond says:
Other than setting the resolution and aspect ratio outputs to match the display capabilities I can think of no useable settings or adjustments on the vast majority of Blu-ray (or DVD) players. In my experience as a certified professional ISF calibrator I have found that most "feature" adjustments such as ambient light control, noise filters, black level enhancements, etc. not only do not improve picture quality or accuracy but generally make them worse. The primary user settings that you're going to be able to properly adjust using the WOW disc are picture mode, brightness, contrast, color, tint, sharpness, backlight, etc. However, do not be afraid to experiment with other controls to see if they actually improve the picture. Many of these controls are interactive so, for example, adjusting the color temperature might well interact with several other controls and you'll need to try various scenarios. Professional calibrators do this all of the time and, from my experience, how these various controls interact with one another varies widely, not only from manufacturer to manufacturer but from model to model as well as technology (lcd, plasma, led/lcd, dip, etc.) to technology and is why a truly comprehensive calibration can often take 3-4 hours. Spend enough time to truly learn all that the WOW disc offers and you'll be rewarded with a much improved video (and audio) experience.

Posted on Oct 30, 2012 9:20:45 AM PDT
Macahan says:
Hi MoosePond, I'm in a interesting position. In June 2006 I bought a Sony KDS-R60XBR1 and had it ISF calibrated with my Denon blu-ray player. Now I have the new Oppo BD-103 player and was wondering if I need to make any new adjustments? I'm thinking just re-touching the basics ought to do me fine like brightness and color. Thanks for any opinions you can give......

Mike
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.2 out of 5 stars (582 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (322)
4 star:
 (139)
3 star:
 (71)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
$39.99 $18.49
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Hudson Valley, NY

Top Reviewer Ranking: 7,631