Customer Review

511 of 565 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "ok" digital frame, but they game dumb Amazon.com customers, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NIX X08D 8 inch Hi-Res Digital Photo Frame with Motion Sensor (Electronics)
Cheap frame, almost all of the transition effects look like a 486 dx2 66mhz PC trying to run Crysis at 1080p.

You have to display this in landscape, horizontal has a viewing angle of "stand still and stare right at it, not even a degree off".

Oh, and the final thing, the first thing that pops out of the box, is a large printed card that says, "if you rate us 5 stars on Amazon, email us your review on Amazon.com and you may win another free picture frame!"

So, take every single review here with a grain of salt. The frame works, sort of, but all of these reviews are biased due to this cheating system they've implemented. They get 2 stars for being clever with marketing. Don't sell yourself out for a poor product, it isn't worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 6 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 42 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jul 4, 2013 5:40:32 PM PDT
Pickles says:
Thank you for your honest review.

Posted on Jul 18, 2013 6:25:16 PM PDT
Cybertops says:
Thanks for the review

Posted on Jul 22, 2013 4:49:59 PM PDT
Thanks for a quality useful review. Great first sentence....says so much and made me laugh out loud.

Posted on Jul 28, 2013 10:04:57 AM PDT
JerseyBlue says:
Thank you for your honesty and making people aware of their deceptive business practices!

Posted on Nov 3, 2013 4:47:47 PM PST
Caponsacchi says:
It's helpful for the consumer to know when some of these dubious "contests" are used to pump sales (I'm even seeing mini pig breeders offering a free piglet, now that the fad is fading). But since you're obviously not "competing" for a free frame, that should free you to give an especially detailed review of the pluses and minuses of the frame. So the transition effects are behind the curve, say, of "iPhoto." Minor detail, esp. if you don't want fancy transitions. But what's the difference between "landscape" and "horizontal" mode? I have their 2010 model, and I liked that in horizontal position, vertical shots still look good (sometimes they fill only 30-40% of the frame in wider frame models). I take it that side-viewing leads to a big drop-off in brightness. But unlike television shows, viewers of picture frames usually view them head-on, so that's not a major consideration. I'd just like to see a few more reasons why this is a "poor product" before dismissing it, esp. since the price is nice.

Posted on Nov 11, 2013 2:08:45 PM PST
NIX Support says:
Hello, This is Mary from NIX, customer Service Manager. I wanted to follow up with you. Since this review was written, we have sourced a nicer, brighter screen with a better viewing angle on our later batches base on our customers experiences and feedback. You all will be very impressed with this frame and the vibrancy of the colors. You talk, we listen. If you have any questions, please email me direct at mary@nix-digital.com

Christopher, if you would like to try a new frame, with the better viewing angle, I can get that arranged for you, no charge at all, just contact me.

Anyone and everyone is welcome to leave a review. And they do. The fact we give a free frame once a month from a drawing has been a fun and great pleasure of doing business. I have found that most folks give as a gift or to a charity.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 11, 2013 2:11:29 PM PST
Christos G says:
Thank you for your reply!

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 11, 2013 2:39:09 PM PST
NIX Support says:
You are welcome. We have you covered! Just send me your address to my email and I will get a new frame to you.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 2, 2013 1:28:25 PM PST
are the new screens available on the stock that amazon currently has?

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 2, 2013 1:55:15 PM PST
Hello, Yes, our latest frames are out now. Please visit our store for the latest. http://www.amazon.com/gp/browse.html?ie=UTF8&marketplaceID=ATVPDKIKX0DER&me=ADZUJ766977TP&ref_=custrec_signin_inline_nav
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.1 out of 5 stars (982 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (512)
4 star:
 (252)
3 star:
 (81)
2 star:
 (55)
1 star:
 (82)
 
 
 
$89.99 $59.99
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 3,462