Customer Review

1,044 of 1,057 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIGURING OUT WHICH NOSFERATU TO BUY, December 19, 2004
This review is from: Nosferatu (DVD)
This is a classic of horror cinema and arguably the first real horror movie. Still carries a genuine fright over 80 years later.
Now my real issue - Amazon lists a whole bunch of different versions of "Nosferatu". The only problem is, the reviews for the good editions end up on the pages of the cheap ones. There are only 2 good versions of Nosferatu to choose from - The version from Image (black/red cover), which is the only one with the great commentary by Lokke Heiss, and the newer Kino 2 disc edition. These are well-presentede editions. All the other versions are cheap, public domain, fly-by-night crap! Hopefully this review gets spread around like all the other ones. Amazon needs to have item-specific review pages.
And if you haven't seen either of them yet, check out "The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari" and Carl Dreyer's "Vampyr" from the same period.
Thank you to everyone for clicking for this review. It's the most helpful one I've ever written. That was my sole aim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 16 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 21, 2007 10:00:07 AM PST
shaxper says:
Since this review was made, Kino has released the new 2 disc Ultimate Edition of Nosferatu which, from what I've heard, surpasses both previous versions mentioned in this review.

Posted on Jun 23, 2008 3:27:11 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 25, 2008 3:40:03 PM PDT
Nosferatu- Eine Symphonie des Grauens is my all-time favorite film. Naturally I bought Kino's 2-disc Ultimate DVD Edition. And shaxper is right about it surpassing previous releases. Though I don't own the Image Entertainment DVD release, I'm going out on a limb here and saying that the new Kino edition is the best available version so far. I've reviewed Kino's 2-disc set elsewhere on this site.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 17, 2008 12:16:14 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 17, 2008 12:16:29 PM PDT
The new Kino is probably one's best bet for a US release (it's region 0 NTSC), but the Eureka! Masters of Cinema DVD is also an awesome sounding package (region 0 PAL). Here's a page to help make that decision:

http://www.dvdbeaver.com/film2/DVDReviews33/nosferatu.htm

You can't really go wrong with either one, although the extras sound a bit better on the MoC release.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 14, 2008 9:21:57 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 23, 2008 1:02:59 PM PST
MacGuffin says:
A number of UK reviewers aren't enamored of the MoC release. I suppose I'll stick with the Kino simply because it's easier to acquire. I was glad to note that there's no PAL speed-up; the run times are identical.

Posted on Dec 16, 2008 8:00:02 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 16, 2008 8:10:47 AM PST
S. Kingsley says:
The new Kino set is awesome, but lacks the excellent commentary by Lokke Heiss on the Image Entertainment version. I already had the Kino, just ordered the Image, you are therefore also obligated to buy both of them. ;^) It's not like you can have enough Nosferatu, one day I will also order Herzog's version with Klaus Kinski. I have seen it several times but still do not own my own copy. I'm waiting for the price to drop below ten bucks for that one.

While you are at it, why not also join the Max Schreck Fan club, you can be member #4.

http://movies.groups.yahoo.com/group/maxschreck/

Posted on Aug 22, 2009 6:02:55 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Aug 22, 2009 6:09:56 AM PDT
njpaddy says:
I have 4 versions of Nosferatu and this is not even one of my favorite silent films. I have the MoC (UK) version, the 2002 Kino, the 1999 Image and the 1997 Photoplay version occasionally shown on Turner Classic Movies. For someone wanting to see the latest and longest restoration, I would recommend the Kino Ultimate Edition as the MoC is PAL format and will not play in most US dvd players. If you haven't seen this film, I would recommend the Image version as it runs about half the price. The Image version is about 12 minutes shorter than the Ultimate but the print quality is still very good and you get the commentary track.

Nosferatu

Posted on Mar 14, 2010 1:40:40 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Mar 14, 2010 1:44:48 PM PDT
Julie Vognar says:
I bought a cheap one at a music store. I'm sure the accompanying excellent commentary is the one you refer to---but the film itself is in 3 or4 different colors! One at a time.....I find this very distracting. Is that the way the original is?

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 28, 2010 6:20:34 PM PDT
Early film had to be shot in black and white, but they would some times print it on tinted film stocks, so the film when shown changed color with the scenes.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 28, 2010 9:36:20 PM PDT
Julie Vognar says:
Thanks! My friend who is a film expert said, "nobody knows which came first." I think I would prefer the black and white

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 16, 2010 6:38:03 AM PDT
Bryan Leech says:
I can only comment from general knowledge and experience, but it was usual to release films with tinting to appropriate scenes. This added to the cost, so purely B/W prints were later made available for cinemas that needed to keep their costs down. In other words, I would expect that the inital release contained tinted scenes (and these can definitely add to the impact of the film if not overdone). Non-tinted prints would later have been made available for houses running on low budgets.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.4 out of 5 stars (348 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (221)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
$8.37
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: oh

Top Reviewer Ranking: 13,402