Customer Review

48 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great at first, died after 6 months, April 19, 2009
By 
This review is from: NETGEAR Wireless Router - N300 (WNR2000) (Personal Computers)
I've had good luck with every Netgear I've ever owned for the past few years. Got it in December 2008, began the process of death in March 2009. Now, middle of April 2009, it has died the good death. Started needing reboots about once a week after 3 months. The need for reboots has become increasing common - now it needs it every day if not more than once a day. I've decided to toss it.
It's a shame - Netgear used to be a great brand. I've noticed reviews of Netgear products going steadily downhill over the years and didn't think anything of it due to my (what I now realize) good luck. Now I've been lumped in with everybody else in realizing Netgear's quality has gone to shambles in recent time. I won't be buying Netgear again - not just because of this experience, but because of the increasingly-common negative reviews I've read about just about all of their products here at Amazon and at other sites. Due to the reviews of Netgear's recent customer service quality I've also decided that it isn't worth the headache & heartache of working through the warranty process. So, it's going in the trash & I'll buy another brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-5 of 5 posts in this discussion
Initial post: May 2, 2010 10:50:25 AM PDT
wew says:
So what to get instead? Linksys also tends to die easily.
My Buffalo has been going strong for over 3 years now. Using tomato firmware with it. I would not sell it for the world.

Posted on Nov 6, 2011 6:31:04 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 6, 2011 6:33:28 PM PST
A. Johnson says:
I had the same experience with routers from Linksys, Netgear and D-Link. Connection fails after 6 months and I can't believe it could be the router so call the cable company. Always turns out to be the router -- average life around 9-12 months. They all stink. We do have frequent power failures, but still, these things don't even last as long as a shoelace. Last time around I thought twice and shelled out the extra green for an Airport Extreme Base Station. No failures to date. Now it turns out I need an additional router for a second wireless network and was about to cheap out and buy a Netgear. Thank you for reminding me why I shouldn't.

Posted on May 3, 2013 1:54:43 PM PDT
R. Tejeda says:
mine too it die after 5 months.. for not reason! never buying again from netgear their customer service sucksss

Posted on Jul 21, 2013 10:17:31 PM PDT
I feel lucky...got mine to last almost 3 years.

Posted on Jul 21, 2013 10:39:04 PM PDT
A. Johnson says:
I don't quit agree that the NETGEAR brand has gone to shambles , but did have two units in a row die untimely deaths. Since then I have switched to the Apple Airport Extreme, and have never had a problem of this kind.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.5 out of 5 stars (947 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (422)
4 star:
 (146)
3 star:
 (66)
2 star:
 (71)
1 star:
 (242)
 
 
 
$69.99 $36.54
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 15,181