Customer Review

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of SI's best books in years!, October 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Illustrated Football's Greatest (Hardcover)
This is an amazing coffe-table sized book that is sure to start arguments among friends. The Top Ten lists in every category are sure to be topics of many conversations among football diehards. Is Montana really the best QB and why don't we find Franco Harris among the best RB's? Just two of the many questions I had after a first glance. I'm thinking I'll spend many hours with this book, comparing my opinions with some of the best writers in the world. The photography (as always) is as good as it gets. Buy the book for someone this Christmas and I'm sure they'll appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 19, 2012 12:29:43 PM PST
r. f. says:
The only problem with this book is that there are 2 PRO FOOTBALL leagues in , North America. 1 of those pro football leagues is having it's 100th championship in 2012.
The CFL has been around a lot longer than the NFL has been and N.A. football was started in Canada.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 19, 2012 1:31:57 PM PST
W. Sallade says:
Please don't try and put the CFL in a class with the NFL. Take your favorite Blue Bomber, Rough Rider, Argonaut or BC Lion team and I'll match them up with today's Kansas City or yesterday's Tampa Bay Bucs (from the 70s) and guess who wins? What about the great World Football League? The CFL may be pro football, but it's not the NFL.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 4, 2012 6:28:34 AM PST
r. f. says:
The Buffalo Bills were beaten by the Hamilton TI-CATS in 1962. Look it up. You obviously don't know a lot about all PRO football. Just ask former Miami running back star RICKY WILLANS who bombed in the CFL. Why? Because the CFL is a different game. Only 1 country in the whole world plays 4 down NFL football. 1 country in the whole world plays 3 down CFL football. So the NFL may be popular in the U.S [and to a much smaller degree in Canada] most of the rest of the world couldn't care less. HOCKEY , BASKETBALL and BASEBALL have a much higher world profile than the NFL does. Hockey , BasketBall , ect... have TRUE world championships where countries [not just cities from one country] play each other. So , if the Superbowl Champion is the "world champion" of 4 down football. Isn't the GREY CUP champion the "world champion of 3 down football"? If you want real major league then I would follow the world's most popular sport by, far , called soccer. Why watch the minor league NASCAR , when you can watch the world wide Formula 1?

As far as the CFL is concerned , Canada invented N.A. football from English rugby and introduced to the U.S. Also look it up.
The Superbowl isn't even 50 years old yet and the GREY CUP just celebrated it's 100th Anniversary. I know some Americans think that they invented everything , however , The Grey CUP is an important part of Canada's history. The book in question should be called ,
" the NFL'S GREATEST " and the PRO FOOTBALL HALL OF FAME should be called the , NFL HALL OF FAME.

It's just American centric thinking that has a ROCK AND ROLL HALL OF FAME were the voters are 99.9% are American. Like that is the truth.
I guess that Canadians don't know anything about N.A. football and rock and roll is unknown to countries like Canada , ENGLAND , AUSTRALIA and Germany ect... I just can't wait for PEOPLE MAGAZINE'S MOST BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE IN THE WORLD. GEZZZ... I thought that the whole world was a lot bigger than the U.S. is. Silly me.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 4, 2012 6:45:57 AM PST
W. Sallade says:
Hey r.f. calm down or you'll rupture a blood vessel or something! Sounds like a little "Yankee envy" going on up there. The 1962 Buffalo Bills of the AFL, are not representative of the American Football I'm talking about. Send your new Grey Cup Champ down and line up against the Chiefs, Jags or Panthers. They will get run over, around and through. Players who can't hack it here, move on to Canada (I suppose because they have no other skills) and usually suceed in Canadien Football. Think Warren Moon, Danny McManus or any other of the Americans who thrived. The 1962 Buffalo Bills huh?

Posted on Feb 9, 2013 9:51:13 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 9, 2013 10:05:21 PM PST
@r.f. I don't think anyone outside of Canada actually cares anything about hockey. I've traveled to the UK and Europe many times, and all they seem to care anything about is futbol (soccer) and rugby (at least the UK). Same with my friends from all around the globe. Regardless, my foreign friends who do follow "American Football", follow NFL not CFL. And not because they live here - most of them don't. You may love your CFL (and good for you - loyalty is a fantastic trait!), but don't get on your soapbox and bring the rest of the world into it, when they could really care less.

Also, sweetheart, check your dates. The NFL was founded in 1922 as the "American Professional Football Association". It merged in 1970 with the "American Football League" and the two were re-branded as the NFL (also the year the Super Bowl was founded). Perhaps that's where you pulled your date. Furthermore, the CFL was not officially founded until 1958. Perchance you should take another look at your premise, as your entire argument was based on the dates as you understood them.

And your rant is a bit over-the-top as SI is a US publication which follows predominantly US sports. Seems like you just wanted an excuse to bash on US citizens. As to your rant about Rock-N-Roll, please explain to me as to why Canada's fabulous music artists (and I concede, there are quite a few) pass through the US machine to be launched into Stardom instead of staying in Canada?

Posted on Feb 9, 2013 10:10:34 PM PST
P.S. The Grey Cup has celebrated its 100th anniversary (2009). However, as it was a Rugby award when instituted in 1909, and not pro football as we know it, it seems that you were fudging the facts a bit to lend your argument credence.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.6 out of 5 stars (79 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
$32.95 $21.12
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: South Florida

Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,012,098