Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro
Customer Review

199 of 210 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO BS specs or useless info review, June 25, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS MeMO Pad 7 ME176CX-A1-RD 7-Inch Tablet (Red) (Personal Computers)
-Update 7/15/14-
Since writing this review I have found zero issues. There have been a few minor updates already pushed out. I am still happy with this device.

-Original Review-

Is it worth an upgrade...

-My Actual Testing Numbers-
Antutu Benchmark Score:
My Nexus 7 (2013) - 21050
My Samsung Galaxy S4 - 28463
Asus MeMO Pad 7 - 33050 - hit as much as 43+FPS in pool graphic

Its fast, the screen is not HD which you already know but it is IPS and it does look good, very wide in view angles. Interface is nice and fluid, it boots up fast. Clean looking back cover, nice looking front. At its current price I think it would be hard to find anything faster with more bang for the buck.

Tested, Netflix, in house network video playback, BOINC (Seti at home, heavy number crunching), Dead Trigger 2, Asphault 7...no issues at all. The Intel SOC does very well.

The bad? I ordered it for my wife, so I had to hand it over.

I have since ordered one for myself it should be here today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jun 25, 2014 10:34:22 PM PDT
E.Swope says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 26, 2014 5:46:16 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 26, 2014 6:47:43 AM PDT
Sean says:
Many people including myself do not have older Intel SOC's to test. I tested with what I have that gives a good comparison to what others may have. If you have older Intel SOC's I would encourage you to post your own review to fill in gaps you may see in my review. People who may be looking to upgrade, such as myself, would find value in comparing different generations, even an Intel to a Qualcomm or other SOC.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 3, 2014 2:13:00 PM PDT
GI says:
Why would you test to an older Atom processor, if anything, test to newer other tablets, if those aren't out and/or if that is all the person has it is still a nice comparison as other sites might have the other comparisons.

Posted on Aug 20, 2014 7:48:01 AM PDT
ps6155 says:
Its good to know that it can handle Netflix, but as an enginerr, I know there are lies, d*mned lies and statistics. Antutu benchmarking doesn't mean much beyond showing that the state of the art of computers is advancing. Popular tech reviewrrs started publishing benchmarksg to try to prove to ignorant readers that they had expertise and were worth reading. Often a biaxed reviewer will select one particular benchmark that "shows" a product to be superior to a !ess favored one.

It isn't useful for a consumer to know benchmark numbers unless the same kinds of apps will be performed.

I don't understand why you say its display isn't HD- lasttime I checked the standard, 1280*720, which its display handles easily, was the basic HD standard, and on this size screen (or any under 32") is beyond the accuity of the normal human eye at normal viewing distances.,especially when viewing motion.

The important question is whether the screen is comfortable to view for long periods of time for standard applications. I read 5-6 hours/day. After comparing it to dedicated purpose readers with higher numbers of pixels, I found no difference.

My biggest beef is with the rear camera. 2MP wouldn't be a problem if it had adequate optics. It doesn't. Prints made from pictures taken with my 10 year old Yashica 4100,1.3MP camera makes ones taken by the Memo's 2MP look pathetic. If I needed anything beyond an ocasional Skype or reminder shot, the cam would have been a deal breaker. As it is,99% of the time it will be off,tucked behind the flap of my table's cover.

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 28, 2014 8:38:37 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Aug 28, 2014 8:40:06 AM PDT
That Guy says:
This table is not in competition with tablets running older atom processor's, he is comparing apples with apples.

Posted on Oct 19, 2014 12:37:11 AM PDT
Yu-Jin Chia says:
Good review- does look like a good tablet and good generational improvement. I got the first gen Memo pad a while back as a gift and it was good for the cost then too.

Just to point out though- this is an HD device. 720p is HD, but it is not full-HD. On a screen this size it doesn't matter a great deal anyway.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 1, 2014 5:13:02 AM PST
why are you trying to take 'serious' pictures with your tablet? How much do you expect out of a 100 tablets camera??

Posted on Dec 2, 2014 9:30:38 AM PST
S0rceress0 says:
Thank you for the benchmarking stats. This was pretty key in my decision. I appreciate the work you went to.

Posted on Oct 17, 2015 1:36:41 PM PDT
ME176C and ME176CX look the same, but they are different
in that the camera (front and rear) implementation is different.
For ME176C, the front camera is 2 MP, whist for the ME176CX,
the front camera is 0.3 MP. And for the ME176C, the rear camera
is 5MP, whilst for the ME176CX, the rear camera is 2 MP....
The software is the same : KitKat. But unlike the previous Android OS
implementations on the ASUS platform - they have changed "the logo"
you see upon "start up" from 'ASUS - Inspiring Innovation. Pursuing
Perfection', to 'ASUS - In Search of Incredible' .. which is horrible compared
to the original "catch-phrase", "mantra", "logo", etc. ... In search of incredible...
what? deals? Why is ASUS searching? Makes no sense. Bad English.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›