Customer Review

70 of 83 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately, it is true.... The sound is butchered on EVERY episode., February 11, 2009
This review is from: Tales from the Darkside: Season 1 (DVD)
I really can't believe that I'm on Amazon actually giving a Tales from the Darkside product a negative review... but here I am doing just that. I consider myself one of the biggest "Darkside" fans ever. I have been waiting 15 years for this show to get the treatment it so rightfully deserves, and what does Paramount/CBS DVD do? They TAKE OUT ALMOST EVERY PEICE OF ORIGINAL MUSIC IN EVERY EPISODE! I have the entire series made from TV airings burned onto DVD from my DVR, and these DVD's only improve on the picture quality a microscopic bit. Grain is apparent everywhere. This is inexcusable. If they can make Night of the Living Dead look like it was made yesterday, then they can fix up an 80's show!!! Speaking of "Night of the Living Dead", all of the musical tracks from "Night" as well as "Creepshow" ( two of George Romero's most remembered films ) are taken out completely. Funny thing is, "Night of the Living Dead" is in the public domain, so this couldn't be a rights issue. So what do we get instead? An incredibly inferior alternate soundtrack that sounds like someone is playing around on a Casio keyboard. This is the first review I have ever done for Amazon, and I am really sorry that it has to be a negative one, but come on Paramount! You can't get anything right! Can you watch Titanic, Rocky, or Star Wars with the soundtrack completely changed? Of course... but why would you want to? It would be almost a sin. But Paramount likes to experiment with this on one of the greatest and creepiest shows of all time. What do I rate "Tales from the Darkside" as a series? That's easy: 6/5. What do I rate this set? I've had bowel movements that have been better. Hopefully, if enough people complain, this will be rectified... and I'm praying that's the case so that this show won't be remembered as "That 80's show with the bad soundtrack"! Paramount is the devil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 24 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 12, 2009 6:12:32 PM PST
would you be willing to share a copy of that DVD you have with the originals? (;

Posted on Feb 23, 2009 3:27:54 AM PST
this is the poorest excuse for a review ive ever heard. First off I have also the complete set but my version of (answer me ) was awful and couldnt find a better clearer copy and now with this dvd set it is cleaned up. sure its not the best box set but paramounts not going to go to the extreme to remaster an old tv series. they are only trying to give the viewers an opportunity to see it now and its DECENT. I as a horror fan and love this show am happy that they finally did do a better job than the old bootleg tv shows that you copy that looks bad now. their not charging a 50.00 price tag like others so be happy

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 2, 2009 8:45:56 PM PST
Doctor Wily says:
You are funny, my friend. Very funny. Okay, to start off, I have an 18 disc homemade TFTD set that is MILES above anything you will find online. The crappy 6-9 disc sets that are floating around are horrendous, and we all know it. Mine is not. When my set looks better than Paramounts, there is a BIG problem. You are sticking up for Paramount, and that is disgusting. If you think my review was poor, then I guess you think that all of the other reviewers who aren't suckers and gave this a 1 star, are wrong too. My version of Answer Me (which is a great episode), looks much better than this garbage. As I said, I'm sure I have been a fan of this show much longer than you, so go trolling somewhere else.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 2, 2009 11:01:48 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 2, 2009 11:05:10 PM PST
excuse me but im probably way older than you and ive loved this series ever sense it first aired. the picture quality on the dvd is the exact quality that it was aired in analog on television. this show was not filmed in HD when it came out you know. I personally think paramount did a great job. Maybe you have a better version of those going around with complete sets but yours cannot be better than the dvd picture quality of the set that was just released. maybe the same because paramount doesnt have time to remaster everything. you think they remastered the friday the 13th boxset (Crystal lake to manhatten?) Nope because they dont care about the customers who are fans of the shows. they are only thinking about people thats probably never even seen TFTD and the rest of the fans they are just saying (we gave it to you finally now dont cry) like you are. SO if you got the dvd-rs that u think are better than this set than I believe you should check your set again because this dvd version is from the master prints of the show so how can you have better? PS: Answer me was my favorite episode of them all, I was only stateing that the ones that are out there were taped terrible by someone.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 3, 2009 12:21:00 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 3, 2009 12:30:58 AM PST
Doctor Wily says:
Well, I'm 28, so that may or may not be true, but the FACT is that this show has been BUTCHERED. I only believe in presenting a show the way it was originally intended. Paramount doesn't care about the fans. You know this man. They have no respect for any of their releases. Oh, and I'm just ticked because you said this was the poorest excuse for a review you've ever heard. It was a great review that hopefully stopped people from bying this editied pile of bullcrap. My episodes are slightly darker than this print, but have WAY less grain. All I know is this: I have almost every volume of the Thriller video vhs versions from the 80's in the oversized boxes. I have volumes 1-6 of the Worldvision home video versions. I have an 18 disc homemade set with the missing episode "Attic Suite". I bought rare posters from the episodes off of Ebay. I bought an INCREDIBLY rare logbook of the show that only certain TV stations were ever supposed to see. I met the Director of "Inside the Closet" and chatted with him about Darkside. I also bid on a Tales from the Darkside leather crew jacket on Ebay. I am quite the Darkside fan, so you can imagine how ticked I am right now that not only have Paramount screwed my dream over, but now you are insulting me. Listen buddy. If you are happy with the crap Paramount gives you, then go watch it. Unlike yourself, I enjoy watching things THE WAY THEY ARE MEANT TO BE WATCHED. Oh, and for the love of all that is sacred, please write correctly.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 4, 2009 11:01:08 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 4, 2009 11:06:36 PM PST
this review isnt based on english skills, But anyway...this set is the best seasons out there. The rest are terrible and I wouldnt even care if they released the others. I already have them and can watch them with bad quality because they are bad anyway. The stories are horrible. I dont know what they could be thinking after the first seasons. I mean the worst episode of all the seasons is (the swap) and all my favorites were from this season like (inside the closet) (answer me) (Mookie and Pookie) and best of them all (case of the stubborns). they didnt even put any thought in the rest of the stories in the other seasons. but gosh sake THE MUSIC WASNT ALL THAT BAD....I mean I didnt really notice any changes except for like two episodes. I know for a fact that answer me had the correct music in it. I am not going to put down paramount just because they didnt remaster these simply because people that has all of the episodes like you and me are fortunate but others are not thats never seen the show and its not all that bad and paramount arent about to spend the extra money shelling out for the original music scores. yes they are grainy but arent that bad of a quality compared to the versions that were on the sci fi awhile back...PS you were 4 years old when this was released, so you really dont know the quality when the show was first aired. I was 12 years old and watched them when they were first aired so if your mother let you have a warped mind at that age and allowed you to watch them as a tiny child then you may have remembered

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 5, 2009 8:00:38 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 5, 2009 8:01:19 AM PST
Doctor Wily says:
Actually, your memory must be horrible, because the music in "Answer me" is COMPLETELY DIFFERENT on the DVD. The only episodes on the dvd that were spared the butchering are "Inside the closet", In the cards", and "Grandma's last wish", so you, my friend are wrong. Also, it is only your OPINION that the other seasons were bad. There were some excellent episodes in the later seasons, so if you are going to make comments, be sure to state that they are only your opinion. Please start writing normal, your text hurts my eyes.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 5, 2009 9:50:27 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 5, 2009 10:14:52 PM PST
Ok so my text hurt your eyes but this review is about TFTD so if you are Def and cant hear the music then sorry we cannot help it but dont give other people the wrong info. If answer me is my favorite episode then I would know that it is the correct music or not. Go back and listen to your version on the one YOU say you taped. Maybe you are listening to (a clone by the telephone) roflmao.both deals with a phone and maybe youre confused...you cant win with a person that knows it all about TFTD. Besides....The music changes do not ruin the shows. Point is they didnt change the story line. people just like to gripe. if your going to complain, your kinda of a moron to purchase this set anyway when you (claim) you already have the whole set that looks the best quality. why waste 25.00 on a set you already own. moronic to me sorry. youre just bought it for the cover art? lol. you already know how paramount is but you buy anyway. I only bought it because my versions are crappy thats going around. I actually have the clothes from Christian slater from stubborns because he was selling things off of his possessions as well as chad allens stuff from Milkman. I mean you think Im stupid and dont know anything about this show. I do know something you dont by them using (ill give you a million) and using the music from (something to tide you over) because romero owns the rights to the creepshow music. I know way more than you on this stuff. I also received from Romero who I met at his friends art shop, two anamation Cells from Creepshow 2 thats hanging on my wall.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 6, 2009 6:13:55 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 6, 2009 6:15:30 AM PST
Doctor Wily says:
Look. I do not want this to be a mudslinging battle of who is the better Darkside fan. I do not mean to offend you in any way, in fact, I would much rather get along! The reason I bought this set was because I am a collector of ALL things Darkside, and did not know about the music changes. But the point is, I hate the music changes (especially the fact that "I'll give you a million" is missing it's "Creepshow" tunes), but you don't mind. That's okay. But I will tell you, that if you listen to the music on the new dvd, "Answer Me" is re-scored. It's not the same. Go ahead and listen for yourself. I am not arguing with you, I am just asking you to listen again, because I have a thread on this at the IMDB, and all of the others agree with me (because it's true). Can we just get along from now on? I was just upset at how you treated my review.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 7, 2009 2:14:30 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 7, 2009 2:27:34 AM PST
well I was just saying that I remember this (Answer me) episode very well and maybe it does have a little change but I dont notice it because I just remembered the creepy (music box) type score. I have the dvd-r versions that are going around though, I havent took them out and seen them in awhile being they are horrible quality and its no good to watch just a plain show taped from tv. I am just saying that I am pleased with paramount releasing them in decent (not excellent) but decent quality and alot better than what I got. even if they redone the music to them it wasnt all that bad. I mean how many TFTD fans do you think are out there? sure, quite a few but we are the older crowd and the younger crowd thats never viewed it wouldnt care because they dont know anyway. Paramount wasnt even ownership of the episodes when they were released, they got the rights after getting the rights to make the movie, so therefore they had to change stuff or they would have to pay and I dont think paramount even would think of people complaining about the music score. I bet theyre thinking (how can people notice when this is a show over 25 years old? but most of us do but we have to settle with what we get. they will not make a change of music and pay the extra price just to rerelease this on a hope of people to buy. its not selling so well anyway. I go to my walmart and they only got one copy in to sell and its sitting on the shelf. im getting along but I just dont think you should put this dvd set down because paramount did get this out there for the public and just because its not at your standards,If you werent so lucky to have taped them years back you would be happy you had this dvd now to relive the memories. PS: Giving this show ONE star gives people the impression that this is a bad show. there are alot of people that do not even read reviews and just see the one star and pass the review by. I would have at least given it 3 or 4 stars and explained why you didnt give it 5 to keep people from over looking this masterpeice of a show
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.5 out of 5 stars (70 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
$22.98 $14.87
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 11,288,811