Customer Review

99 of 101 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 100% Advertisements, November 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FamilyFun (Magazine)
I wondered what happened when I saw the price for Family Fun magazine drop to $5.00 a year and then today I received my first issue. Back when my kids were little, this was "the" magazine for planning vacations, finding kid-friendly recipes, and planning entertaining but educational activities with the kids. Now it's 100% advertisements. Scattered throughout the magazine are about 30 blurbs from Facebook fans and Pinterest pals with ideas you've heard a million times. There are no professionally written articles. Not a single one.

Here's the December/January issue:

p. 0(inside front cover) Ad for Oral-B and Crest
p. 1 table of contents
p. 2 table of contents cont'd and credits
p. 3 ad for Hilton Resorts
p. 4 ad for Ore Ida hash browns
p. 5 ad for Ore Ida french fries
p. 6 ad for Kings Hawaiian bread
p. 7 facebook fans and pinterest pals (like I care)
p. 8 ad for Family Fun's iPhone app "ToyHopper" which recommends Christmas video games for kids (omg)
p. 9 ad for Pringles potato chips
p. 10 list of holidays in december and january (like national cocoa day)
p. 11 ad for Curel lotion
p. 12 ad for Toyota
p. 13 idea from Pinterest pal (I've seen this before, about 15 years ago, duh)
p. 14 how to make a really ugly and flimsy clothespin menorah
p. 15 ad for SpongeBob Christmas DVD and iTunes
p. 16 how to make two really tacky ornaments and a cute angel
p. 17 ad for Legos and Duplos
p. 18 how to make a table fan tree (same as it was 40 years ago when I did this in elementary school)
p. 19 ad for Orajel and Spinbrush toothbrush
p. 20 how to wrap a photo around a candle (ugh)
p. 21 ad for CakeBoss mail-order cakes
p. 22 ad for Karen Tack's cupcake books
p. 23 ad for Karen Tack's cupcake books
p. 24 recipe for crackers from about 20 years ago (originally in Better Homes and Garden Kids cookbook, I believe)
p. 25 ad for Hallmark
(four more pages of ads for Hallmark with no page numbers)
p. 26 rest of cracker recipe
p. 27 ad for Oral B, American Girl, and Apple App Store
p. 28 recipe for sugar-coated marshmallows dressed up to look like gingerbread men (one of the most sugar-laden recipes I've ever seen)
p. 29 ad for ABC Family television channel
p. 30 idea from a Facebook fan
p. 31 ad for Mucinex
p. 32 ad for FaceBook and Disney Princess dolls
p. 33 ad for Geico (seriously?)
p. 34 ad for Rice Krispies
p. 35 rice krispy marshmallow treat recipe (in shape of christmas ball) and ad for Kellogg's Rice Krispies
p. 36 ad for Eggland's Best eggs
p. 37 how to make a snow angel (like we need instructions; it's not that complicated-->lie in snow, fan arms)
p. 38 ad for Zoo Tunes speakers for mp3 players
p. 39 ad for Palmolive dish detergent
p. 40 ad for Similasanusa cough and fever syrup
p. 41 ad for RedBox video rentals
p. 42 ad for Similasan ear relief drops
p. 43 ad for Parents.com website membership
p. 44 ad for Blue Bones dog bones
p. 45 ad for Blue Freedom dog food
p. 46 three yoga poses for mother and daughter (not fitness, not even fun)
p. 47 ad for Organic Valley dairy products
p. 48 ad for Gerber "generation" toddler food
p. 49 ad for Gerber Graduates dippers
p. 50 ideas from Facebook fan (ridiculous, if this is educational then your kids will not be very bright)
p. 51 ad for Disney Channel's "Sofia the First"
p. 52 multiple ads for kids' furniture and accessories
p. 53 multiple ads for kids' furniture and accessories
p. 54 how to soak your feet (omg)
p. 55 how to paint your nails (another omg)
p. 56 ad for Piggy Paint kids nail polish and Moodylicous Childrens Spa face frosting
p. 57 ad for Crazy8 kids clothes
p. 58 ad for Nissan
p. 59 how to find a local greenhouse (hint: google "greenhouse")
p. 60 how to travel witha dog (if you have a dog, you know this)
p. 61 ad for websites catering to dogs
p. 62 ad for IAMS dog food
p. 63 ad for IAMS dog food
p. 64 ad for Disney World Resorts (Wilderness Hotel and Golf Resort in particular)
p. 65 ad for Imaginext toys
p. 66 ad for Imaginext toys
(two more pages of ads for Imaginext toys with no page numbers)
p. 67 ad for Oreo cookies (more sugar, just what our kids need) and Wilderness Resorts (a division of Disney World)
p. 68 picture of peppermint fudge (recipe later, a copycat version of the fudge on sweetened condensed milk cans)
p. 69 how to frost a donut hole (seriously?)
p. 70 recipe for gingerbread biscotti (wife's a cook, she said "gross" when she read the recipe)
p. 71 ad for Minute Rice
p. 72 how to frost a cookie like a present (a really ugly present)
p. 73 ad for Sears Portrait Studio (the only ad worth paying attention to although JC Penney takes better kid pics)
p. 74 a really awful recipe for Newton-like sugar-laden jam bars (more sugar)
p. 75 ad for Fruity Pebbles cereal (the most sugar-laden cereal of them all)
p. 76 how to take pictures of kids (and badly)
p. 77 more pictures
p. 78 more pictures
p. 79 ad for FaceBook and Pinterest (surely you saw this coming; when they have a faked "article" they have to have the ad to go with it immediately after)
p. 80 ad for American Girl dolls
p. 81 ad for American Girl dolls
p. 82 how to paint a metal washer (hardware) with nail polish, add a ribbon, and call it a really ugly gift..uh I mean necklace
p. 83 pictures of ugly painted washers
p. 84 how to paint other stuff with nail polish and call it a cheap gift
p. 85 how to paint a cheap spoon with nail polish and gift it (omg)
p. 86 ad for familyfunmag.com in the guise of a how-to make a sport pillow (the size of your hand)
p. 87 ad for EpiPen (now the pharmaceutical companies are advertising in Family Fun)
p. 88 safety warnings for EpiPen (omg)
p. 89 add for FaceBook, YouTube, Twitter, iTunes app store, and about six more ads
p. 90 ads for about 15 products you can buy online
p. 91 picture of a guy walking in a christmas tree cutting yard (I can drive down the street and see this, do I have to pay for it in a magazine?)
p. 92 ideas from FaceBook fans
p. 93 another picture of the same guy, this time carrying a tree
p. 94 ad for InchBug sipper cups
p. 95 ad for Smuggler's Notch Cabins in Vermont
p. 96 picture of a kid on an intertube in the snow (yeah, we know how to do that too, no instructions required)
p. 97 ad for Campbell's tomato soup
p. 98 (back cover) ad for CoolWhip frosting and FaceBook

As you can see, the entire magazine is ads. If there is a "fake" story, it's a paragraph of garbage preceding the several pages of related ads. e.g. How to travel with a dog followed by several pages of dog food ads. The FaceBook fans and Pinterest pals are the ones here giving this junk magazine five star reviews.

Don't believe me? Print this out, take it to your local bookstore and check out the issue. :) Yep, I'm right. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 22, 2012 5:05:33 AM PST
Thank you! I was ready to click until I saw your comments. Sadly this is the way many magazines are going!

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 25, 2013 4:25:55 PM PDT
The good news here is that I bought my subscription through Amazon. They processed a refund for my unused subscription practically immediately. I received another issue from Family Fun in the mail today. Still full of ads. Don't know how people can pay for this.

Posted on May 15, 2013 8:16:59 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on May 15, 2013 8:17:39 AM PDT
lollee says:
I LOVE the fact that you took the time to actually list every page and its contents. And, your post was well written, too. Not snarky but truthful and using good grammer, punctuation and spelling!! It saved me money I was going to spend on my grandchildren for a subscription. I'll do research and find another mag that really has content that is useful. Thanks again.

In reply to an earlier post on May 30, 2013 1:00:58 PM PDT
You are welcome. The old Family Fun was great, but that was over a decade ago and it's changed hands at least twice. Most magazines seem to be going this direction. Thankfully Amazon took care of the subscription refund promptly. Family Fun didn't. They failed to process the refund and are still sending me mags. I make sure I get all my magazine subscriptions on Amazon now, just in case I want to cancel. If I find a fun kids magazine I will let you know. There are a lot of homeschooling websites that have activities. I'm amazed at how much you can get that way, field trip ideas too. My girlfriend gets things off Pinterest too. There seem to be a ton of first and second grade teachers on there. Not so many older kid activities.

Posted on Oct 17, 2013 2:20:12 PM PDT
DYG says:
Thanks!

Posted on Nov 23, 2014 4:36:04 PM PST
Thanks so much for your review!
Unfortunately I totally agree, which is such a shame because I used to love this magazine. I subscribed recently, not realizing that there had been a change, and I have been nothing but disappointed... If anyone has found a magazine similar to what FamilyFun used to be, please let me know, I miss it!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.2 out of 5 stars (96 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
$39.50 $9.00
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 9,729