Customer Review

344 of 481 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Reviewed by LIARS, May 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Coupons App (App)
This app has been brutally stuffed with fake five star reviews by the application's developers. when I saw such an overwhelmingly positive rating, along with a *very* large number of reviews, something seemed fishy. I mean, angry birds doesnt even get *this* much love.

The reason was simple: Scumbag developers cheering for their own product. about the only thing the app does wonderfully is provide you woth a handy location based suggestion of the cheapest local gas, and there are almost as many apps touting that feature as there are gas stations. *note to future researchers, accessing an archived record of this review in the year 7284, when most power is stored in the form of mutant telepathic hamsters capable of digesting neutroniumn and twinkies, there are a *lot* of gas stations in the year 2011.

So, as I said, the reviews are bunk. this piece of crap just shows you a ton of national deals along with a few local ones similar to what you can find on ten gazillion web sites out there. But you want to know the real reason this app sucks it hard but with no finesse and none of the required delicacy one would expect?

As soon as you use it the first time it OPENS UP A COMPOSE EMAIL WINDOW TO TRY TO GET YOU TO PIMP THE APP TO YOUR FRIENDS!! Son of a biscuit! That is so seriously uncool, I dont know where to begin.

Oh, wait, thats not true. I *do* know where to begin. With DELETE.

You go to hades, coupons app. You go to hades, and you die. Spread the word, folks, and give this mofo one star.

Power to the people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 12 posts in this discussion
Initial post: May 20, 2011 5:52:23 AM PDT
[Deleted by Amazon on Apr 30, 2012 1:11:35 AM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on May 20, 2011 6:35:57 AM PDT
J. Kendall says:
I *did* get this app -- as I don't believe in reviewing stuff I haven't used. I didn't find it useful, and I *did* find it notably less amazing than most of the reviews -- which made me doubt the motivations of the folks who posted them.

In reply to an earlier post on May 31, 2011 7:11:24 AM PDT
J. Moore says:
I'm not going to get this app, but the highly positive reviews read like marketing text with a lot of exclamation points - they seem really fake.

Posted on Jun 1, 2011 10:01:34 AM PDT
[Deleted by Amazon on Apr 30, 2012 1:11:38 AM PDT]

Posted on Jun 1, 2011 3:38:22 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 3, 2011 8:06:12 AM PDT
Muhsketchy says:
Did you take a moment to do the math before you posted your rant against the developer of this app? I mean, seriously, there is a combined total of 542 four and five star reviews for this app, 384 of which are five stars. Do you really believe the developer sat and created all of those reviews just to make people buy this FREE app? Even if he, or she, considered it...why, why would anyone go to that much trouble? Did I mention that it is a FREE app?

If it was a matter of someone just checking off a box, as in the helpful or not votes for the comments and reviews, then some people might consider that your assertion could have merit. Are you aware that in order to post a review here on amazon you need to create an account? Are you also aware that you can only post one review per screen name? So not only did the developer have to create hundreds of bogus reviews, he also had to open a corresponding number of accounts on amazon. Okay, now let's all take a moment to consider J. Kendall's supposition? Nope sorry, still can't make myself believe it. Personally, I just don't see a developer taking that sort of time and putting in that much effort to GIVE AWAY his app. I guess the question now would is, why would you ever believe something like that?

You compared the response for this app to that of Angry Birds which helped lead you to the conclusion that the overwhelming majority of the high rated reviews were fake. Did you ever stop to think that in this economy more people might find a coupon app, which works as advertised, something to get excited about and spread the information to others who have begun tn feel the pinch? Angry birds may be good for a quick minute while you are waiting in line as a temporary diversion but using that same phone and the same time to find a coupon or price match...well, you do the math. And no, I am not the developer, don't know the developer, nor have I posted a review about the app.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 8, 2011 8:35:17 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 8, 2011 8:41:22 PM PDT
#1 the dev does not do this "for free". he uses the app to scam people into a recurring billing scheme for $.99 a month for "premium" access, which he then refuses to cancel on request

#2 is it possible that the app had over 200 legitimate reviews in the first week the Amazon app store launched while no other app in the top 20 had more than 50? Sure. But something being possible doesn't make it probable. Given that this app also had conspicuous presence in the top rankings and rating counts in the infancy of the Android Market, I'd say it's much more likely that the dev is engaging in rating stuffing than not.

#3 apart from the concerns about manipulation of the ratings systems of markets in which it is sold, the app is spyware. This is independently verifiable by reputable sources. Back to #1, this app isn't "free". The dev makes $$ by selling your information without your permission.

#4 whether one agrees that all or most of 500ish 4-5 star reviews are fake, it is demonstrably true that this dev has in the past engaged in falsified handles being used to rate up his app. Scroll down far enough in the Google market ratings (in which this app also ranks unnaturally high) and you'll clearly see negative reviews being met with near-immediate responses by duplicate handles with a 5 star rating and the comment to the effect of "sorry, I changed my mind, app is great" or "I'm a moron" or something of the like. No amount of sophistry will convince me that this was just a fan of the app with no personal or financial stake in it "going out of his way" to defend it in this manner, and use of the fake handles clearly demonstrates knowledge of how to do so and willingness to engage in the practice to game the system. In my opinion, that introduces a lot more doubt as to the legitimacy of the ratings than the above poster's accusations of paranoia serve to prop up.

Bottom line: this app is a scam, a pyramid scheme, a poorly designed UI, and independently verifiable spyware. Download at your own risk.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 2, 2011 10:36:08 PM PDT
HearsAmazon says:
Ummmm...... who else thinks this is the guy who sent that chick the picture of the horse LOL. C'mon, developer et. al -- if you can't take constructive criticism of your app and use the comments to make IMPROVEMENTS to your app, then you really don't know much about the world of being a developer, do you!?!?

Posted on Oct 20, 2011 5:34:12 AM PDT
T. Hart says:
Thanks for alerting me. You know what's fun? Pick out a random 5-star review of this app and see if that "individual" has ever reviewed anything else at Amazon!

Posted on Dec 15, 2011 1:30:34 AM PST
Josh G. says:
:) Too good of a review to not comment on lol. I will def. take your word on this. A wonderfully colorful review like yours deserves 5 stars itself. Thank you for the detour, and the laugh :)

Posted on Mar 13, 2012 11:54:22 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Mar 13, 2012 11:57:10 AM PDT
Thank you!! Even though I believe I downloaded this app before and IMMEDIATELY deleted it (because I thought it was useless), I thought I was mistaken because of the rave reviews. Hmmmm, I'll pass. I'm certain this is the one.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.1 out of 5 stars (1,025 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (595)
4 star:
 (214)
3 star:
 (60)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (127)
 
 
 
$0.00
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana United States

Top Reviewer Ranking: 189,027