Customer Review

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb and masterful, April 22, 2010
This review is from: The Informer: A Novel (Hardcover)
Craig Nova's latest novel, THE INFORMER, will have you on tenterhooks. The place is Berlin in 1930, where Germany's decaying Weimar Republic is crumbling so fast that remnants of its flag find use as tablecloths. Both the Reds and their opposition, the Brown Shirts, will stop at nothing to grab power when the government fails. In the underbelly of the city there exists a fermenting mixture of spies, assassins, seasoned criminals and the usual assortment of sewer rats. It is a society foundering in brutality and depravity.

Police Investigator Armina Treffen is less preoccupied with politics at the moment than with tracking a serial killer who preys on young women. Though a miasma of corruption continually attempts to stifle her progress, she casts a wide net which brings her to Gaelle, a scarred prostitute whose burns have cauterized her emotions as well as disfiguring her face.

Galle is desperate for some kind of protection other than the lame hooligan who acts as her pimp. Her search for security leads her to all the wrong places and makes her a target for murder. Who will reach her first, the political executioners, the serial murderer or the authorities?

The author is a master at evoking the sense of disintegration that permeates the daily life of the city. Thanks to his superb writing, the reader smells the city's damp streets, dreads its shadows and knows the weight of its impending fate.

Fans of Alan Furst and Stieg Larsson will greet this book with pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 


Review Details

Item

4.1 out of 5 stars (13 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
$26.00 $23.00
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Santa Barbara, CA USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 24,568,907