Customer Review

55 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People....people!!, June 24, 2012
By 
This review is from: Titanic (Four-Disc Combo: Blu-ray / DVD / Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
For those saying the movie is inaccurate with 'hard a starboard' and they turned the wheel to left (port)- that is CORRECT! Ships used what's called 'Tiller commands'. To turn left, you move the tiller handle the opposite direction! Think of a small outboard engine on a little boat. To go one way, you move the tiller handle the opposite way.

People have no clue what they are talking about and then bash the movie. Sure, there are inaccuracies in any movie but it was really well done and James Cameron knows what he is talking about when it comes to the Titanic.

This movie gets 5 stars for sure-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 5 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 13 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jun 26, 2012 11:51:40 PM PDT
Tally says:
Thank you!

Posted on Jul 16, 2012 10:11:06 PM PDT
Dennis Yenn says:
Excellent review. Good to know.

Posted on Sep 6, 2012 8:59:32 AM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Sep 9, 2012 12:57:32 PM PDT]

Posted on Sep 9, 2012 5:45:04 AM PDT
Jack Daniel says:
John, you are 100% correct, I heard all about this from an expert on the radio earlier this year.

Posted on Sep 9, 2012 12:07:50 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 9, 2012 12:08:36 PM PDT
Great "review!" Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Did you know that there's a "discussion" section here?!??!! I know...I can hardly believe it myself!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted on Sep 10, 2012 5:37:49 AM PDT
Teachlaw says:
Thanks for pointing this out to the "landlubbers!" I've had so many people point this out, thinking it was a "blooper" in the film! They never operated a tiller driven motorboat or sailboat!

Posted on Sep 10, 2012 4:40:53 PM PDT
Mr. Wizard says:
A questionable innaccuracy which seems to follow myth to improve the storyline is the role of J. Bruce Ismay prior, during and following the Titanic's collision with the iceburg. Here is a link to verfiable sources of what role this man truly had at this time. http://www.titanichistoricalsociety.org/articles/ismay.asp

Posted on Sep 11, 2012 12:33:32 AM PDT
Logical says:
No one is reviewing the audio.
The picture is greatly improved in my opinion, AND, I must say so is the audio.
The part that stood out to me was when old Rose started to tell her story.
"You could still smell the fresh paint".
I am very glad that I upgraded, and yes I have the VHS and DVD versions.

Posted on Sep 21, 2012 11:28:22 AM PDT
Sight Reader says:
Apparently some think the Titanic's Quartermaster was tiller trained and actually DID turn the wrong way when given emergency orders. Apparently steamships were in a transitional period from tiller to wheel systems and they hadn't quite nailed down the conventions for what a First Officer actually wants when he says, "Hard-a-Starboard!"

I dunno how much credence this theory (and the inevitable stories of a cover up) has amongst historians.

Posted on Sep 21, 2012 6:33:21 PM PDT
Le Stryge says:
Oh thank heavens for somebody who knows his stuff John!
Don't know how many times I've heard this total inaccuracy repeated from people who vainly think they've found a glaring mistake and will insist on airing their ignorance. The tiller commands were not changed to the current system until the 30's, .....long after the sinking of the Titanic.
I'm somewhat alarmed that the movie gives the impression that Picasso's very famous "Demoiselles d'Avignon", believed to be the formative picture of Cubism, went down with the ship!
Or even La Môme Bijou as referenced by Di Caprio wasn't around Paris until the 30's either. Perhaps the Titanic was actually a time machine?
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.9 out of 5 stars (3,270 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (1,919)
4 star:
 (375)
3 star:
 (267)
2 star:
 (212)
1 star:
 (497)
 
 
 
$26.99 $12.19
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,050,684