Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM
Customer Review

585 of 624 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from a Bachelor's point of view, February 4, 2010
I got my Cuisinart EPC-1200PC about 2 weeks ago. Living in a house all by myself it was always easy to stop on the way home and get fast food. I have missed "family meals" and "momma's cooking" since I moved out 15 years ago. I get over to my parents house to eat maybe 3-5 times a month. One night my mom showed me a similar EPC that she had bought and invited me over to eat a meal that she cooked in it. I was sold when I saw the ease and usefulness. After tasting how flavorful the food was I had to get me one. I did my research and decided not to go with the same model as her but instead this Cuisinart model.

My first attempt with this unit was a whole chicken. I skinned the chicken, quartered it and put it in the pot with just enough water to cover the meat. Set it on high for 10 minutes. It took the unit about 10-15 minutes to build up pressure so that the red stopper sealed and then it began the actual "pressure cooking". My first thoughts were "No way is this thing cooking, I don't hear the jiggle associated with pressure cookers" and then the 10 minutes were over and the manual says on chicken to release the pressure using the quick release method. I'll admit I was a bit worried about this part. The horrors of my childhood when my dad blew the top off of our pressure cooker making a whole chicken flash back in my mind. I threw a paper towel folded twice over the valve and with a pair of tongs turn the valve to the quick release setting. No worries here. Steam escaped rather easily and the paper towel did its job. After the pressure was released the units lid unlocks and you twist it to open. I remove the chicken to find it cooked perfectly, moist, tender and juicy. To boot I get 7 cups of stock out of it for a chicken soup I made the next night.

I have used this thing darn near daily since getting it. Sure it may take 10-15 minutes to build up pressure depending on how much liquid you put in the pot, but I cooked a Chicken and rice dish last night that took 3 minutes on high. We are talking about a frozen chicken breast and uncooked basmati rice here people. In 3 minutes. It took the unit about 10 minutes to pressurize for that dish and I let the dish naturally release pressure for 7 minutes afterward before quick releasing the remaining pressure. So in total it took about 20 minutes from start to finish. But its a one pot cleanup and I dare you to cook rice in 20 minutes on a stove top and compare it to the deliciousness that I created in this EPC. I see myself using this unit for many years to come and have not eaten out in almost a month now thanks to this little jewel. I save money by eating at home. I save calories by eating at home.

I consider myself a decent cook for a bachelor. I think this unit can only add to that as I will be able to try many more dishes in the future. The best feature about the Cuisinart is that you do not have to stand there constantly tending to it as you do a normal stove top unit. There are almost zero concerns about the dreaded explosion. I am still careful when I use the unit but I am not scared of it as I am my old stove top unit. I hated that dang thing. Do yourself a favor and get this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 10 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 30, 2012 1:14:42 PM PST
Sam Sarrha says:
when you start do you boil the water you put in it when you start.? that might shorten the heat up time, that works for my rice cooker

Posted on Dec 27, 2012 10:59:00 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 27, 2012 10:59:16 AM PST
A.K. says:
Good for you -- taking charge of your own life! Excellent review too. ;-)

Posted on Mar 18, 2013 3:21:29 PM PDT
Curious - thinking of getting one of these and it looks like you use (or did use) yours regularly. How is it holding up after a couple of years? non stick still ok? Any issues with it setting pressure (seems like that is a common complaint)....good review and thanks

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 4, 2013 3:04:00 PM PDT
R. Scott says:
Sorry for the delay in getting back with you as I just saw your question. I still use this unit frequently. I have not had one problem since I purchased it. I must of gotten one out of the good batch. I would dare say that this EPC gets used more than all my other fancy kitchen gadgets combined. As I type this I have a pot roast complete with veggies in there right now. Non stick coating is still holding up just like the day I bought it, and I wash it in the dishwasher every time I use it. I'm about to order a seal gasket for the top as mine is getting to the point of being rather "discolored" and kind of yucky looking from all the cooking and washes it has taken over the years, but I will not replace it until I have to as it is still working perfectly. One thing I will mention, I have had to take a toothpick to the red pressure button a few times (less than 5) in order to make it set. I don't know if food gets in there or a combination of steam+grease but it has "stuck" open a few times. However jiggling it with a toothpick or other appropriate device remedied the problem. I'd still buy it again to this day and probably get a second as a gift for my parents. Buy it, love it, love yourself and your family. You will thank me. Have a blessed day.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 4, 2013 3:52:53 PM PDT
Thanks - appreciate your response...I'm convinced.

Posted on Apr 7, 2013 5:51:00 AM PDT
Mary of Troy says:
Does this unit come with a cookbook? How do you know what types of things to put in it if is doesn't? Are there other cookbooks you've tried for pressure cooking?

Posted on Aug 29, 2013 7:17:58 AM PDT
W. Johnston says:
I LOVE this EPC too! I am a full time working mommy of four and love not just how fast but how much more flavorful the food cooked in it turn out. It is like I was home all day slow cooking food for my family with layers of flavors cooked in. Would you mind sharing your 3 minute chicken and rice recipe? I would love to try it. Thanks for your time. :)

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 6, 2013 10:01:10 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 6, 2013 10:04:29 AM PDT
Angie says:
Get Bob Warden's Slow Food Fast and Great Food Fast cookbooks. They are great and super easy to use and follow.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 20, 2014 7:20:17 PM PDT
The cuisinart pressure cooker is the best one out there have gad mine for a couple years can't live without it my daughters each have one I also purchased the breville which I learned never buy a cobo crock pot pressure cooker impossible for the unit to do both jobs hope this was helpful

Posted on Nov 6, 2014 2:45:34 PM PST
Susan says:
Dear Mr. Scott. Some of the other reviews said that the EPC manual it terrible? So then what do I do if this is so? Can you give some advise? It takes me forever to read some instructions....But, I loved your review and felt like this was the EPC for me. I cook a lot for my family, and my husband is a Type I Diabetic. I can see myself cooking healthy chicken dishes for him. Thanks so much. I am grateful. Mrs. Susan Swift, Bronx, NY
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item not available
Reviewer

R. Scott
(REAL NAME)   

Location: Marion, AR

Top Reviewer Ranking: 11,144,528