Customer Review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must for Arthur Rackham collectors, August 16, 2012
This review is from: Arousing Delight Arthur Rackham, Artist and Illustrator
Arthur Rackham (1867 - 1939) is one of the best known illustrators of children's literature, and this book was published in conjunction with an exhibit of his work in the Clarke Historical Library, Mt. Pleasant, MI (02/24/2006 - 07/28/2006.)

A wonderfully concise 'Introduction' and 'Biography' begin this soft-cover, 7.75"x9.75", 72-page book, including a discussion of Rackham's style, subjects, technique, and technology. Also included are discussions of "Notes on the Collection and Exhibition," "Rackham's Classics," "Children's Literature," "Fairy Tales," "Literature," and "Leisure: Music and Nature."

Almost half of this book is taken up by an "Annotated Bibliography of the Arthur Rackham Material Found in the Lucile Clarke Memorial Children's Library" as compiled by Jennifer Wood. This is a treasure trove of information for serious Rackham collectors as this particular library has one of our nation's leading collections of this artist's works.

The book ends with a list of Arthur Rackham's "Prints and Ephemera," "Works about Arthur Rackham by Others," and an 'Afterword.'

"Arousing Delight" contains 25 full-page plates, mostly of Rackham's paintings, although a few are facsimiles of his drawings and reproductions of frontispieces:

(1) "Little niece," said Kühlburn, "forget not that I am here with thee as a guide" from "Undine" (1909)
(2) "...almost fairy time" from "A Midsummer Night's Dream" (1908)
(3) Frontispiece from "The Ingoldsby Legends" (1907)
(4) "She never had so sweet a changeling" from "A Midsummer Night's Dream" (1908)
(5) "While Nature, flushed with fullness of incredible colour" from "The Wind in the Willows" (1940 deluxe edition)
(6) "A Mad Tea Party" from "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" (1907)
(7) "As I was going to St. Ives" from "Mother Goose" (1913)
(8) "These fairy mountains" from "Rip Van Winkle" (1905)
(9) "The fairies are exquisite dancers" from "Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens" (1906)
(10) "The Moon and her mother" from "Aesop's Fables" (1912)
(11) Original sketch by Rackham presumably of Morgiana from the flyleaf of "The Arthur Rackham Fairy Book" (1933 deluxe edition)
(12) "Shove that under your feet" from "The Wind in the Willows" (1940 limited edition)
(13) Frontispiece from "The Pied Piper of Hamelin" (1934)
(14) "Briar Rose" from "The Sleeping Beauty" (1920)
(15) "Bob Cratchit went down a slide on Cornhill" from "A Christmas Carol" (1915)
(16) Title page from "The Rheingold" (1910)
(17) "Suddenly the branches twined round her and turned into two arms" from "Little Brother & Little Sister" (1917)
(18) "A chrysanthemum heard her, and said pointedly, 'Hoity toity, what is this?'" from "Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens" (1906)
(19) Title page from "Cinderella" (1919)
(20) "All at once the door opened" from "Hansel and Grethel" in "The Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm" (1909)
(21) "Hoity-toity," he cried. "Here's Pride in purple feathers!" from "Puck of Pook's Hill" (1906)
(22) Frontispiece from "Where the Blue Begins" (1922)
(23) "Love, laughing, leads the little feet a little way" from "The Springtide of Life" (1918)
(24) Seahorse and Head-piece, chapter 12 from "The Compleat Angler" (1931 deluxe edition)
(25) "Put his strange case before old Soloman Caw" from "Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens" (1906)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-4 of 4 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Aug 16, 2012 6:27:03 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Aug 16, 2012 6:32:25 PM PDT
A wonderful, helpful and timely review! Arthur Rackham is my favorite 19th century illustrator and was to have a large impact on my life when I was a child. When my mother and I moved from New York to Paris in the late 50s, the first book she was to give me was "Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens", illustrated by Rackham and I was immediately taken by his fine work. It reminded me a little of the Tuileries on overcast autumn days and inspired me to draw a melancholic garden of my own. The book is a particularly fine 1957 edition printed by Hodder & Stroughton with sixteen coloured illustrations of his.

Long lost in transit over the decades, it was returned to me by surprise this weekend by friends who came across it in their recent travels. Oddly enough the book arrived exactly two months to the day of my mother's decease, and I was delighted to find that it had been inscribed by her when she had first given it to me ('It is a sign from your mother!', said a volatile Irish friend of mine who believes in ghosts). As of now, I have "A Christmas Carol" and "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland", illustrated by this original artist along with some postcards. All to say, this excellent recommendation of yours to add to my collection with appreciation.

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 17, 2012 5:40:25 AM PDT
E. A. Lovitt says:
A friend of mine collects AR's books and prints, although I don't believe she has any first editions, just reprints. I'll be giving her this book for Christmas.
How wonderful that your childhood companion was returned to you!

Posted on Aug 17, 2012 4:38:01 PM PDT
you two have good taste.
don

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 17, 2012 4:49:58 PM PDT
Ditto!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

5.0 out of 5 stars (1 customer review)
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
Used & New from: $18.94
Add to wishlist
Reviewer

E. A. Lovitt "starmoth"
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   

Location: Gladwin, MI USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 91