Customer Review

432 of 474 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars These bulbs have very short lives, August 29, 2008
By 
This review is from: SYLVANIA 9006 SilverStar Ultra High Performance Halogen Headlight Bulb, (Pack of 2) (Automotive)
ALL the DOT-legal high output bulbs achieve higher output by overdriving the filiments, which reduces bulb life. They have to do this because the DOT puts limits on wattage. The only exception are HID and HIR bulbs, which use new technology to get more light out of less watts.

According to Sylvania:
"Since our SilverStar(r) ULTRA
headlights are up to 50% brighter than standard halogen, they will have
a shorter life span when compared to our other products. Part number
9005SU will last for approximately 125 hours of "on time", 200 hours for
part 9006SU."

For comparison, standard Halogens are rated at 1000/350 hours low/high. Use the S

If you want good lights on a 9006/9005 car, get some Toshiba 911 and 912 HIR bulbs. They'll cost you about $15 more than the Silverstars Ultras, put out more light... and last 5 times as long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 6 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 27 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 8, 2009 6:53:40 AM PDT
Thank you for writing an informative review that actually lists alternatives!

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 28, 2010 2:43:05 PM PST
Hi. you mention the toshiba 911 and 912 as better alternatives to the SilverStar, which I've been using but have short life. Are the Toshiba's DOT approved? and what's a good source to purchase? Thanks!! Dave

Posted on Nov 21, 2010 11:32:55 AM PST
D. Sauer says:
Toshiba stopped making the HIR bulbs (they're actually called 9011/9012) in 2009. They discontinued them because they were having problems with filament placement accuracy, which screws up their performance in most cars and reduces their life. So they've gone away.

As far as lifespan, if they're handled correctly, these Sylvania bulbs will last a year or more. Paying $35 a year for superior lighting (and the related safety improvement) seems like a pretty good deal to me; I pay a lot more for cable, and most of those channels are garbage. ;)

Posted on Feb 24, 2011 9:18:48 PM PST
Stickley says:
It helps to have actually owned and used a product to write an informed and meaningful review of that product. It's pretty obvious that you have no actual experience with these bulbs, so you have no business posting a review of them.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 26, 2011 7:17:02 AM PST
Thank you for being pompous. The review was accurate. if you didn't like it, that's too bad. There are hundreds that do [not all vote].

Posted on Aug 2, 2011 9:51:53 PM PDT
Mike Phan says:
The Toshibas were replaced with Phillips 9012s. They're pretty bright, hopefully they last longer than the silverstars.

Posted on Sep 24, 2011 11:43:54 AM PDT
R. Roberto says:
Filament placement and precision is very important in lights- if it's off it will produce a poor pattern to the point of being blinding to oncoming traffic and/or useless in light output on the road. Standard bulb life spans are deceiving for comparisons because all bulbs decrease in light output with use and the convention that we replace a bulb when it stops working is bad- manufacturers of cars and bulbs, as well as the industry and safety experts all recommend replacing headlights every year because of thew marked decrease in output which we don't notice because it happens gradually. Try replacing one bulb then putting your lights on and comparing the light output to the old bulb to see what I mean- standard bulb to standard bulb.

These bulbs are great, over driven or not and they are DOT legal unlike 90% of the HID conversions on the market, which means I get good light on the road not in oncoming drivers eyes.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 3, 2012 12:47:07 PM PST
Scott M. says:
I have had several of these bulbs on my vehicles over the years and I had to learn the hard way about why I experienced a short lifespan initially. If you touch the bulb at all the oils and dirt on your hand burns them out with a quickness. I went through a few bulbs before a friend set me straight on only touching the metallic parts of them. After that they lasted well over a year, or longer, as I traded the vehicle in. These are great bulbs when handled and installed correctly their performance is outstanding!

Posted on Jul 7, 2012 2:37:00 PM PDT
E.Riddle says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Jul 10, 2012 6:18:09 PM PDT
Big Ron says:
The back of the Sylvania box honestly states to expect shorter life the higher the performance. So while the more expensive bulbs may put out better light, you must be willing to accept the trade-off and sacrifice lifespan. The review is correct. For me, the original/standard SilverStar XS (non-ultra ) is good enough. I don't think the Ultra is that much better and not enough to justify paying $10 more.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Mass

Top Reviewer Ranking: 54,334