Customer Review

374 of 407 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously, People are actually mad about the swearing?, September 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Truth About Love (Audio CD)
First off, I'd like to say this is a great album. From start to finish I was never bored or like, hmm, this song sounds like a filler. She's got stuff to say and yes, we've heard it before, the relationship angst and what not. But how predictable would it be for P!nk to put out an album full of cutesy songs about her daughter? She would've been slammed so hard. Instead she let us know she's here to stay, and I'm thrilled.

Now on the swearing subject. DO YOU GUYS NOT KNOW WHO P!NK IS? HOW DARE YOU BUY A P!NK ALBUM AND BE OFFENDED BY THE F WORD? SHE HAD A SONG CALLED "F****** PERFECT". It's like buying a lemon and being like "oh my god, this lemon, i just didn't realize it was going to be sour". durrr, lemons are sour, p!nk says the f word. Let's move on.

"Try" is a standout song. It's actually one of my favorite P!nk songs in her 6 album career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 5 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 29 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Sep 20, 2012 1:33:55 AM PDT
B A says:
LMAO! I completely agree with you about the swearing!

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 20, 2012 1:20:00 PM PDT
Mommy says:
Exactly, big huge DUH to you people!

Posted on Sep 20, 2012 3:42:45 PM PDT
T. Noble says:
sounds like you were commenting off my review. Good review though, totally agree about the cursing :)

Posted on Sep 21, 2012 1:16:02 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 21, 2012 1:16:23 PM PDT
jlr says:
I literally just downloaded the album so I haven't listened to it yet. I've been a fan of Pink's for a few years. Like you said, she wouldn't be Pink if she didn't swear! That's why her stuff is labeled [Explicit]. Der.

Posted on Sep 22, 2012 4:54:14 PM PDT
Agree with you about "Try". It's outstanding.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 22, 2012 9:45:29 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 22, 2012 9:46:00 PM PDT
LostFan says:
I had to laugh also at the people mad about the swearing...it clearly states on the cover that the album is explicit. You expect swearing.

I find "Try" the weakest of the whole album.

Posted on Sep 25, 2012 7:34:28 AM PDT
It hurts their widdle ears, and they can't read, so they don't know the album is "explicit."

Posted on Sep 25, 2012 2:41:56 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 25, 2012 3:16:25 PM PDT
G. Page says:
Personally, I have no problem with swearing, per se. However, I'm troubled by what I see as (ever-increasing) cynical pandering by the record companies. There's a clear distinction between the two.

While P!nk's image has always arguably been "in your face" the recent trend toward loading every pop song title up with explitives and double-entendres (by the way, the "blow me" play-on-words has been done before - it's not exactly fresh) is, in my view, just kind of transparent and obvious. It's tired and played out, and I don't think it's particularly "edgy" either.

I'm not offended by the WORDS; I'm offended by what seems to be crass commercial opportunism. It all smacks of vulgar posturing just for the sake of being vulgar, which I find kinda weak. It would be far more rebellious to do a top 40 pop song without resorting to the obvious "hot buttons" which I can't think anyone (outside of a few, isolated, vocal, sheltered, puritanical types) REALLY finds all that "shocking" anymore. How about artists being SHOCKING with their ideas, rather than empty words? Now THERE'S a novel concept.

I've got nothing against P!nk and there's no need for anyone to say, "So don't listen to it." (After the initial listen to see if I would like it, I haven't.)
I just think, in general, it's sad how the record companies, in an effort to
keep making boatloads of money off the backs of a select few artists, have become even more calculated and pandering (and maybe even a tad bit contemptuous of the music-buying public). Their total disregard for the creation of vital, creative, original pop music (as if such music and the pursuit of profit are mutally exclusive) is profoundly depressing. Well, I say F#&@ THAT!!!

No offense! :)

Glenn Page Muisc
http://glennpagemusic.bandcamp.com/track/life-goes-past

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 27, 2012 10:29:24 AM PDT
[Deleted by Amazon on Sep 27, 2012 10:36:13 AM PDT]

Posted on Sep 29, 2012 12:59:19 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 29, 2012 12:59:42 PM PDT
Great review!

Anyone who complains about the lyrics or song titles is obviously not a fan of Pink's career. Pink is gritty, upfront, and ballsy with her songs. That is simply Pink's own personality, and I commend her for not trying to change that aspect of her music throughout her career.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.6 out of 5 stars (847 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (662)
4 star:
 (95)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 138,828