Customer Review

8 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Perfect present for a treacherous, unamerican, naive friend, February 24, 2008
This review is from: Jane Fonda's Words of Politics and Passion (Paperback)
Have you an American friend who hates their country, is extremely naive about politics and likes nothing more then expressing ill-informed, ludicrous views. Someone who is willing to betray their country at the drop of a hat, perhaps someone born to a privileged background who likes to play the role of rebellious anti-establishment figure whilst sitting on a sizable bank balance thanks to the sweat from the brows of the folks they look down on and criticize.

If so then why not buy them a copy of this book which is full of "Hanoi Janes" most objectionable, laughable and downright unamerican words, guaranteed to get the steam pouring from the ears of anyone who loves the USA, what it stands for and in particular those brave vietnam veterans taken prisoner and tortured by the very people Jane speaks kindly about. Who will ever forget those lovely publicity photos she had taken in front of the anti-aircraft guns which were used to shoot down American aircraft...

I for one will be recommending it to a number of my military friends who are always on the lookout for suitable toilet paper out in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 1, 2008 5:22:43 PM PDT
It would be a man. They do not like strong women who can think for themselves. I am sure that she has given a lot more to humanity than he has. War is hell to eveyone and that does not mean that they don't love their country.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 6, 2008 5:27:56 PM PDT
Ms. Satcher
Brilliant reply. Assume much and say nothing. Jane Fonda was empirically wrong in damn near every position she ever took. P D Gray is pretty much right on. Why do you assume that North Vietnam had a right to invade and conquer South Vietnam? What do you know about Tonkin, Annam, and Cochin? Why did Diem fail? Did the U.S. assassinate him? Did the U.S. target hospitals and schools.
What is it that you know about Jane Fonda or the "peace movement" that would have you assume that Mr. Gray is a misogynistic man who has done nothing for humanity. Jerk your knee on a subject you know something about.
cheers
PEJ

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 3, 2008 10:48:44 AM PST
John M. Lane says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Apr 1, 2009 12:58:11 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Aug 23, 2011 5:32:12 AM PDT
Michael says:
What a transparent and pathetic review. You don't have to be a fan of cowardice and genocide in order to love the USA. I thought lunacy of this sort had died out years ago. It's interesting to compare the lifepath of Fonda's detractors to Fonda's supporters. This is the review of a bitter also-ran, an armchair warlord who believes in free speech only when it suits his distorted view of the world. I am at least grateful that he has prompted me to buy a book about which I didn't know very much.

Posted on May 7, 2009 4:46:15 PM PDT
Catfish says:
A great review.

Posted on Aug 18, 2009 7:07:26 PM PDT
What ever mistakes or errors of judgement Jane Fonda may have made the much bigger mistake was the Vietnam War itself. The Gulf of Tonkin incident was the WMD's of the 1960's, i.e. a fabrication designed to get us into an unneeded war. Love her or hate her Jane Fonda never sent anyone to Vietnam, it was the politicians and the Pentagon that did that. Much of the anger directed at Fonda comes from the fact the US Government sent millions of our troops into a war that could not be won by conventional methods and later abandoned them after they returned home. People that are angry with Fonda should be more angry with the Chicken Hawks like G.W. Bush, Cheney, DeLay, Ted Nudget, et al that supported a war where other people's sons were killed while they sat it out. Despite the attempts of the far right to ruin Jane Fonda she is well received by the public at large and has made a success of her craft and herself. To get things from the first person please read Jane Fonda's "My Life So Far."

Posted on Apr 23, 2010 3:09:56 PM PDT
W. D. Drew says:
Well said, Mr. Gray
Having served two years in the Republic of South Vietnam with the 173rd Airborne Brigade, I'm continually amazed at how any thinking person can view Hanoi Jane with anything but scorn. As you may have heard "Vietnam veterans are not Fonda Jane".
We have good reason to despise this traitor and anyone who supports her treachery.
Wm. D. Drew
Coldwater, Mississippi

Posted on Nov 23, 2010 10:26:50 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 23, 2010 9:40:10 PM PST
W. Pearson says:
I served in Vietnam from 1967 to 1969. While attending college in 1971, my American History professor assigned a paper. My topic was, "The American Involvement in Vietnam". Having been trained as a Vietnamese linguist by the Defense Department, I was able to utilize records and other documents published in Vietnamese. I also referenced books written by western journalists - real journalists, not Hollywoodites. As I gathered information not available to me as a GI, my belief system took a 180 degree turn. My prof gave my paper a B+, the only grade I received in that course below A. He wrote a comment in large red letters across the front page, questioning my patriotism. And yet, he was unable to challenge any of my conclusions, nor my indictment of certain U.S. bureaucrats. That was the only expression of anger I witnessed from him. Since 1971, I have paid closer attention to world events, especially American involvement. The conclusion I drew in my history paper has been reinforced countless times during the past 4 decades.
Having made this statement as a foundation, I now ask the reviewer Paul G, and some of the commenters, "where's the beef?". Your review is a meatless sandwich. Why don't you provide proof, or at least strong evidence, that statements made by Ms Fonda and other Americans who tried to open the eyes of a sleepy citizenry to the imperialistic lust of World Dominion Big Money demons were wrong? Prior to Ms Fonda's actions, Republican President Eisenhower, and Democrat President Kennedy both warned about dark forces at work in American politics. Mr. Gray, what I look for in reviews is FACTS. This is a review of a book. What are the facts about this one book that render it unworthy?
I agree that no American should have sat on North Vietnamese tanks in Hanoi as a way of protesting the war, but how does that act render false her beliefs, or untrue her words? Have you asked yourself what level of awareness, horror and frustration it might have taken to turn Fonda and others against SOME leaders in the Nation where they earned a good living?

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 16, 2011 11:15:18 AM PDT
Bryan Wells says:
Right on. Excellent comment Mr. Sanchez. Thanks for speaking up.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

1.0 out of 5 stars (1 customer review)
5 star
0%

4 star
0%

3 star
0%

2 star
0%


$16.95
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: England

Top Reviewer Ranking: 2,726,202