Customer Review

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DvD player and more, May 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony Blu-Ray Player | BDPS780 (Electronics)
I ordered and received the new Sony Blu-ray disc player as a replacement for a broken old unit in my motor home. I hooked it up to my home TV to test it out and found how good a unit this really is. Has very fast startup time and full access to the internet. I also tried out Skype on it with a friend and found it was great. You will have to watch which camera, that you use for the video to work. Calling customer service at Sony could only say you needed the Sony camera but I found a HD Microsoft camera also works. I have ordered now a Sony 32inch 3d TV to go with it. After going to a store and seeing how the 2d to 3d works I am convinced it was time to get one. I know the glasses type are now and the ones without glasses are coming but what will they cost and how long to work out the bugs? If you decide to get this unit you will be very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-5 of 5 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 3, 2012 11:10:41 PM PST
Timewarpone says:
You made a comment about converting 2D to 3D? Have you tried to view this content? If so were you impressed? Thanks a million

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 4, 2012 2:34:23 AM PST
Some content it really does good on. You have to remember this is a simulated 3D so it has to figure out what on the screen it adds depth to. However it is pretty slick and make a 2d to 3d device make more sense since 3D content is limited.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 4, 2012 8:59:32 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 4, 2012 9:12:29 AM PST
Timewarpone says:
Thanks for your help. Mostly all comments are heavily weighted towards the internet. I rarely watch the internet on my TV. I have 2 desktops and a laptop for that. I really wish when buying a "New" TV that the consumer had the option of getting the TV with or without the internet readiness. As far as I am concerned it is just a marketing ploy and a way of the manufacturer to justify the high price. How I got around all the internet stuff working or not working, (For Example Flash Player readiness) I just bought a 50 foot HDMI cable and a better video card with HDMI output for my computer and we never have any problems with viewing the internet on our TV which we hardly do anyway. A few years ago I added a second Roku player for my daughters room and we had a horrible experience so I ended up selling the second one. To get back on track, I kinda of wanted to hear if it was worth the extra price or was the upconversion was just a "Bells & Whistles" feature or the "Real Deal" Thanks a Million for your help

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 14, 2012 2:21:21 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Mar 14, 2012 2:31:56 PM PDT
blondeslover says:
I try to make this short. I agree with your review & thoughts. I just

bought a new TV - toshiba 42" with 240hz 3d - it has 2d to 3d

feature.

The 2d - 3d features only works if you own a 3d blu ray disc player

that has the 2d - 3d feature. I was suppose to buy a 3d tv by

panasonic with the same

features as the toshiba tv but it was sold out at Frys Electronics. So,

once it arrives I will set it up, in the mean time I am trying to find out

by reading reviews & comments & research on internet to see which is

the best 3d player for the 2d-3d feature. All the internet stuff , I

find it ridiculous and a waste - it means I have to pay more. The same

with the 3d tvs these days, what a rip off , I don't give a rats ass if it

has the internet crap on it. It just makes the computer chip on tv

not work well - 3d tvs still have problems, i found out from reading

the reviews on amazon because I was doing research for 6 six months

to make sure I get my moneys worth & I finally went back to the Frys

Electronic store to buy it but,

it was completely sold out for good - its not even available online

anywhere for you to purchase. The internet stuff on these devices

just sucks - a lot of people on amazon complain about these 3d

players & 3d tv's that have internet so,

it won't be awhile til I find 3d player with the features I am looking for

Your previous comment is helpful.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 15, 2012 12:29:50 AM PDT
Timewarpone says:
Sony has the best reviews overall, they load the fastest, but you might want to get a Toshiba 3D DVD Player to match your TV for compatibility features. I do not own the BDP-S780 player yet, I am still sitting on the edge. I will probably get the BDP-S480 which is not wireless because my wireless router sits directly behind my TV for my Directv DVR. I am planing on using the BDP-S480 as a DLNA Server or PLEX server so I can stream movies from my hard drive to my DVD Player then to my TV. PLEX is a free App. Windows media player can be turned into a Certified DLNA Server. Almost every review about any 3D DVD Player talks almost exclusively about internet and hardly anything about features. You can rent 3D movies for about $6 each. Netflix will not be offering 3D movies for rent. I own over 400 DVD titles but I would only want about 50 or 60 of them in 3D such as Tron Legacy so then I will rent the ones I want. 3D movies are even more expensive to own then Blu-Ray. It is really hard to find reviews about the quality of conversion of 2D to 3D with any capable dvd player.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.0 out of 5 stars (75 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Largo, Fl

Top Reviewer Ranking: 232,269