Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro
Customer Review

612 of 686 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Right Out of The Box, April 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amazon Fire TV (Electronics)
The Fire TV came well packaged with extremely simple instructions. Plug in the power cable and HDMI cable (not included), put batteries in the remote and that's it. After initial start up there is an update that must be run, but after a few minutes the unit was up and running. Interface is nice looking and easy to use. Voice search worked perfectly...it understood this Kentucky accent instantly. Flipping through the movie choices is super fast (almost too fast since it has skipped a movie a time or two). Netflix is on the home page, but you have to install the app before using it the first time. As I'm typing this review the unit is displaying some beautiful screensaver pictures while I have a movie paused. If you store your photos on Amazon's Cloud you can use your own pictures instead. Picture quality is fantastic and movies start up lightning fast. The only thing I see as a con would be how the Prime movies are marked. The placement of the Prime marker in the upper left of the movie icon is very small and isn't as prominent as it should be making it rather difficult to tell whether it's Prime or a movie you would rent/purchase. I figure in the days and weeks ahead Amazon will be listening to customer suggestions (as they usually do) and more and more updates will be forthcoming making this device even better. For me the Amazon Fire TV is a winner. It will definitely be replacing a Directv receiver I was using.

Update: After one full day of using Amazon's Fire TV I am more than satisfied with my purchase.If you read reviews like I do make sure to skip over the ones that don't have the Amazon Verified Purchase listed under their name or click that their post is unhelpful. These are people who are trying to review a product without even having it in their possession. If you discount those reviews (which make the overall rating less than it should be) you will discover that the majority of people who actually purchased this product are very satisfied.

4-6-14 Update: Added the AmazonBasics Digital Optical Audio Toslink Cable and this has added a whole new dimension to the sound quality of my tv. The sounds are more richer and louder than ever before. I am continually amazed at what this little device is capable of. I really suggest getting the cable I mentioned above to make your Fire TV experience even better!!

4-8-14 Update: Turned on the device today and went to start up Netflix...all I got was a white screen. Turned the unit off and on, but still a white screen. I uninstalled the Netflix app and reinstalled and it worked again. I don't believe it was a problem on the device itself, but rather the app since all of the other apps worked fine.

4-15-14 Update: Had the same white screen issue with Netflix some more. Contacted customer service and reported the issue. He stepped me through the process of going into the settings then the apps. When you come to Netflix instead of uninstalling click on force stop. This fixed the issue. If I have the problem again he asked that I contact them back immediately so that they can contact the developers with the issue. I continue to enjoy this device and have since gotten rid of the Directv receiver I had connected. I can't recommend the Fire TV enough!!

6-25-14 Update: My Fire TV is still going strong and I am completely happy with it. I have found that I watch TV more so on The Fire than my DirecTV. The one thing I haven't checked (but will sometime) is the USB port. I've got to save some movies to my flash drive and see if I can play a saved movie from the drive using the USB port on The Fire. Finding Amazon content is a breeze using the Voice Search and searching through movies or videos using Netflix and others is fine. Yes, it would be great to be able to use the Voice Search with everything else, but it's not a deal breaker for me nor an inconvenience. I would imagine Amazon will eventually include their Voice Search on any third party application as time allows. Even after using it all this time I'm still amazed at the sound and picture quality of such a tiny device. For me Amazon just gets better and better.

8-4-14 Update: I had movies saved to an external hard drive and I plugged it into the USB port on the Amazon Fire, unfortunately, it doesn't work. It basically did nothing. It made no noise like it was trying to access my hard drive nor did it recognize any USB plugged in. Hopefully Amazon will push out an update to fix this at some point and time. It would be a wonderful feature to have. (Hint, Hint...Amazon).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 15 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 65 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 24, 2014 8:28:23 PM PDT
G. Smith says:
Has the freezing issue been resolved?

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 24, 2014 8:44:34 PM PDT
R. Colley says:
Yes, after going through the force stop I've not had any more issues with Netflix. If you're having the same issues try the steps I listed above and that should take care of it. If not, contact customer service because they want to know of problems and get them fixed quickly. Good luck! :-)

Posted on Apr 27, 2014 9:36:22 AM PDT
JBabboni says:
I have been looking at similar set-ups. I understand that the Roku device search function will return results from multiple apps. When using the voice search with Fire TV, does it return only Amazon results or results from multiple apps/services on the Fire TV device?
thanks.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 27, 2014 9:54:26 AM PDT
R. Colley says:
As of right now voice search only gives results from Amazon content.

Posted on May 4, 2014 4:11:49 AM PDT
M. TOCCO says:
Is to easy to stream content from a non-Amazon tablet, eg iPad or iPhone?

In reply to an earlier post on May 4, 2014 7:39:46 AM PDT
R. Colley says:
I'm sorry, but I can't answer that since I don't own an iPad or iPhone.

Posted on Jun 6, 2014 10:07:14 AM PDT
josie says:
These ongoing reviews are the BEST!

Posted on Jun 17, 2014 11:27:17 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 17, 2014 11:28:49 AM PDT
Moonlilly says:
TO R. COLLEY: I wanted to say something about your comment of "If you read reviews like I do make sure to skip over the ones that don't have the Amazon Verified Purchase listed under their name or click that their post is unhelpful. These are people who are trying to review a product without even having it in their possession. If you discount those reviews (which make the overall rating less than it should be) you will discover that the majority of people who actually purchased this product are very satisfied" THIS IS NOT THE CASE! one can purchase items elsewhere and review it here - for example this very product can be purchased at Best Buy. if I were to pick this up at my local BB store and place a review here, MY REVIEW WOULD BE JUST AS VALID AS ANY OTHER REVIEW THAT HAS A VERIFIED PURCHASE MARK NEXT TO IT AND DOESNT DESERVE TO BE AUTOMATICALLY DISCOUNTED OR MARKED AS UNHELPFUL! Just Sayin....

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 17, 2014 9:26:50 PM PDT
R. Colley says:
Moonlilly, While I appreciate your comments, I meant exactly what I said....those people reviewing without having one in their possession should not be counted as accurate reviews. I don't care if a review is made if the item was purchased elsewhere other than Amazon, but was simply questioning the validity of those reviews where they clearly say they don't own one or maybe saw one their friend had, but hadn't used it. What I don't appreciate is being scolded or yelled at in a review forum. By using all caps you are doing just that. I've always tried giving detailed and accurate reviews of the products I have purchased myself in the hopes that it might actually help someone down the road. If you don't like my review that's fine...move along and find one that suits you better. Just Sayin...

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 19, 2014 10:26:22 PM PDT
stigabre says:
No one can know if you actually bought it or not if it does not say Amazon Verified Purchase. So the reviewer has a point. You can say you bought it all you want but unless you bought it on amazon we can't know. Since, this is amazon they are reviewing it on, not best buy.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer

R. Colley
(REAL NAME)   

Location: Kentucky

Top Reviewer Ranking: 49,913