Customer Review

57 of 419 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD-R Are you kidding me Whedon?, December 2, 2008
This review is from: Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog (DVD)
So, I have a tshirt that says Josh Whedon is my master now.
I'm going to have to think hard about wearing it again.

I love Dr.Horrible, but releasing this as a DVD-R recorded item is terrible ( not horrible )

I don't want to have something that looks like a pirated copy and if I want a DVD-R version I'll do it myself.

Honestly Josh, I expected better from you.

The material is great - format sucks.

I can't fathom why you would go back to FOX except that you need a paycheck. Please don't sell out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 34 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 3, 2008 5:13:09 AM PST
I hope you don't wear that shirt...it might confuse people...who is Josh Whedon? I know of a Joss Whedon that has made some really cool shows, but no Josh. It sounds like you are a big fan.

Posted on Dec 3, 2008 7:39:26 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 3, 2008 7:43:29 AM PST
Shiori says:
The only reason this is being released on DVD-R format is because of the expenses due to pressing. Do you honestly believe that they could release this with a formal pressing and be able to meet the intended goal of using the profits to pay back the cast and crew? Let's not forget that Joss Whedon is doing this entirely with his own money. Without a studio to back him, it'd be ridiculously expensive to have a formal pressing done.
Plus using DVD-R circumvents the whole limited region issue, which had been a major hassle just in trying to release the show via iTunes.

You probably should stop wearing that T-shirt, but not because the format sucks...

Posted on Dec 3, 2008 9:35:03 AM PST
What on earth makes you think this is a sale out or going back to Fox?!
This is a completely independantly made DVD.

Posted on Dec 3, 2008 10:32:33 AM PST
M. Carter says:
This review is absurd. There is not one coherent sentence that justifies such rage, or a one-star rating. If you're going to be critical, for the sake of all prospective customers, have a bit of sense and know what you're talking about.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 3, 2008 12:15:44 PM PST
I agree with Flanders. At least get the guy's name right - what a maroon.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 3, 2008 6:33:22 PM PST
Micah says:
You can get pressings done very cheaply, if you're not dealing with studios. A DVD like this, pressed with a professional label, case and all inserts, costs under $2. And that's for a limited run. If he was able to fund making the project, he could very, very easily fund a professional pressing.

Posted on Dec 3, 2008 8:32:12 PM PST
bowlwoman says:
Josh? Yeah, you're a huge fan if you can't even get his name right. It's J-O-S-S.

I think the DVD-R format not only negates the Region encoding issue, but it also ads to the whole "done it on the fly" concept of the show. It's supposed to look homemade and somewhat amateurish, because the show itself lends to that style.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 4, 2008 1:33:02 AM PST
badblokebob says:
There's absolutely no reason a professionally, properly pressed DVD can't be released region free. Region coding only exists so studios can limit and structure releases. Plenty of DVDs by smaller labels are released Region 0 around the world -- usually cheaper labels with cheaper DVDs, which often suggests to me it might even cost less to not apply region coding.

Posted on Dec 4, 2008 3:57:16 AM PST
A. Laatsch says:
To answer Matthew's subject title... the answer is no. He is not kidding you. Btw, put that shirt on ebay. It will probably be worth money because of the misprint.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 4, 2008 4:42:40 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 4, 2008 4:43:34 AM PST
R. Luzetski says:
Yes, Joss could have printed DVDs created. But then he'd have to pay up front. That would be both prohibitively expensive and leave the (likely) situation of having stock on hand that was paid for but never purchased. DVD-R can be made on the fly.

Why does it matter, anyway? I don't understand what someone would have against DVD-R. It will play, it will look good, and it will be just as hilarious as the original with all the extras that Joss can provide. Why does it matter what the disk looks like? I won't be looking at it any more than it takes me to get it out of the case and pop it in the player... :)
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.7 out of 5 stars (925 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (782)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
$14.99 $5.00
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Colorado Springs, CO United States

Top Reviewer Ranking: 23,122,252