Customer Review

141 of 165 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first in EVERY WAY if you are a fan of the Ghost Rider going in..., April 28, 2012
This review is from: Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance (+ UltraViolet Digital Copy) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Something you'll notice if you read any of these reviews is that a good portion of the 'bad' reviews compare this movie to the first Ghost Rider movie. Well, I have a problem with that. I have been a long time fan of the Ghost Rider going back to the Original 70's comics. The first movie which purports to give us the origin of the Johnny Blaze Ghost Rider has next to nothing to do with the source material at all. The first movie turned Johnny Blaze into a goofball who eats Jelly Beans out of a martini glass and keeps the powers of the Ghost Rider against the will of the Devil. If you like that then you are no fan of the Ghost Rider.

Johnny Blaze was a hard drinking, tortured soul who was tricked by the 'devil' and turned into the Ghost Rider against his will. He spent the entire run of the original comic series doing everything he could to be freed from his curse. Johnny Blaze doesn't listen to the Carpenters. Johnny Blaze doesn't watch TV specials about monkeys. He's not got time for that crap.

This movie, while it does have it's own problems, plays closer to the 'real' Ghost Rider in every way. Blaze fights the demon for control constantly. He seeks an escape from the Spirit of Vengeance at every turn, but he uses the Ghost Rider to his advantage at times. THIS is the spirit of the original book brought to life. Not the campy crap-fest that the first movie was. While the writers did take some creative licence with characters, parts of the origin, and pretty much completely ignore the first film (thank god), they build a rider that is much more like the one we see in the pages of the Ghost Rider comics. This movie brings us a darker, more menacing Ghost Rider. When the Rider is on screen, he's unsettling. He revels in the destruction and death going on around him. He laughs maniacally as he uses massive mining machines infused with hell-fire to destroy his enemies, and toys with them like a cat would a wounded mouse...

The 'enemies' of the rider in the first film were epic emo-fairy failures. They are easily dispatched and offer no real challenge for the Rider. Well, the same can be said about this movie, but at least here they are outmatched by the rider because they are mere mortals facing off against a demon/angel of vengeance/justice. When the 'heavies' show up in the form of Blackout and finally the Devil, they aren't much of a challenge either, but then again they put up a better fight than the ones in the first film.

Blackout is not the Blackout from the comic, but here he is realized better than most comic book movie villains. He puts up a fight but there's never really much danger for the Ghost Rider from any of the bad guys.

Where this film falls apart is that the story is at times confusing, Cage often jumps into 'Crazy Cage' mode and ruins some scenes, and a lot of the dialog is just silly. Where it succeeds is the Crank-style mayhem that is unleashed whenever there is action going on, the visual effects of the Rider are ramped up and embrace the dark side of the Character. The Flaming Skull in this go around is LEAPS AND BOUNDS better than in the first. In every way possible the Rider is BETTER rendered here in character and appearance.

See this if you are a fan of the Ghost Rider and not the first Movie that tried to make the Ghost Rider into a Spiderman style super-hero. THIS is the heart of the Ghost Rider. Dark, Gritty, Campy and FUN! Now if they would just ditch Cage and get a decent writer to give a third movie a go...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 26 posts in this discussion
Initial post: May 29, 2012 1:46:53 PM PDT
[Deleted by Amazon on Aug 28, 2014 7:37:24 AM PDT]

Posted on Jun 4, 2012 6:03:28 AM PDT
Bryan says:
While it is nice to have a faithful adaptation to a book, comic book or other material, it is a visual medium. They took the idea for the character and made an entertaining B-movie out of it. (by the way, the character does get tricked into making a deal in the first movie.) This second movie was just a mess. Nicolas Cage can be fun even in silly roles, but this one was all over the place. In the original, I sort of cared about what happened. Not here. The point I'm making is that it's not always possible, or even desirable to always get every detail in the film version. For example, "Jaws" was changed quite a bit with subplots taken out of the story. It was faithful to the basic story, but it didn't keep every detail. It was actually better than the book for that reason. But then again, it's only my opinion. Fans of comic books tend to be very passionate about the movie adaptations, but they forget that movies are for a mass audience. Many of the people watching haven't read the stories and want to be entertained. That's the important thing.

Posted on Jun 4, 2012 7:19:57 AM PDT
Leocyfer says:
Thanks Scott.
I did enjoy the 1st movie, but I'm not a comic book guy so I didn't notice the faults. That said, I look forward to this film and your review was quite telling. I don't look and sequels like most people. I base my like or dislike on the film itself, without reference to the 1st movie. IE: "ALIENS" was, IMO, a much more enjoyable film then "ALIEN".
I'll buy this on BD and it may take a few viewings to come around, but my feeling is it will be worth the money.
Thanks

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 9, 2012 2:48:45 AM PDT
cgigerharley says:
Finally, someone that rates the movie for the entertainment value of the movie you are viewing. So many, so called critics of the movies try and philosisize the story with some previous story and totally miss the entertainment value of the current viewing. Review the movie based on the actor's abilities, their passion and work they put into the character. If there are two actors with the exact same style, please tell me their names and I will challenge you to backup their claims. Also, the asthetics of the movie itself plays a huge part of any movie and again, I can almost guarantee you the same people that operated the cameas, lighting, editing and so on each have their own unique style, talents and interpetation of the current movie. And one more thing, please tell me a movie that follows exactly how the written word is portrayed in a visual presentation of the character's thoughts, and interpetation as intended by the author. The written story lines can provide the insight to the character's way of thinking, deciscion making and action to their thoughts. No movie I have ever seen has portrayed this type of delivery. If it did, the movies would be boring, extremly long and subtitles would have to be presented to convey the exact thoughts and emotions. Boring....if this were the case, they might as well be the exact format of the Titantic, which still does not come close to the psyche of the characters the author had intended.
So Kudos to you sir, for accepting a movie as a movie should be accepted, viewed and reviewed. I have the 3D version pre-ordered and have not seen it yet, but I will guarantee you, I will go into the movie with an open mind and hope it is a visual, well acted and portrayed representation (as closely based on the author's intentions) as possible. One more thing, each person that reviews a movie should base their reviews on the above mentioned perspective, because even your closest relative is going to have a different take and perspective of the movie. If they don't, then their had to be some in-breeding somewhere.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 9, 2012 2:51:30 AM PDT
cgigerharley says:
Finally, someone that rates the movie for the entertainment value of the movie you are viewing. So many, so called critics of the movies try and philosisize the story with some previous story and totally miss the entertainment value of the current viewing. Review the movie based on the actor's abilities, their passion and work they put into the character. If there are two actors with the exact same style, please tell me their names and I will challenge you to backup their claims. Also, the asthetics of the movie itself plays a huge part of any movie and again, I can almost guarantee you the same people that operated the cameas, lighting, editing and so on each have their own unique style, talents and interpetation of the current movie. And one more thing, please tell me a movie that follows exactly how the written word is portrayed in a visual presentation of the character's thoughts, and interpetation as intended by the author. The written story lines can provide the insight to the character's way of thinking, deciscion making and action to their thoughts. No movie I have ever seen has portrayed this type of delivery. If it did, the movies would be boring, extremly long and subtitles would have to be presented to convey the exact thoughts and emotions. Boring....if this were the case, they might as well be the exact format of the Titantic, which still does not come close to the psyche of the characters the author had intended.
So Kudos to you sir, for accepting a movie as a movie should be accepted, viewed and reviewed. I have the 3D version pre-ordered and have not seen it yet, but I will guarantee you, I will go into the movie with an open mind and hope it is a visual, well acted and portrayed representation (as closely based on the author's intentions) as possible. One more thing, each person that reviews a movie should base their reviews on the above mentioned perspective, because even your closest relative is going to have a different take and perspective of the movie. If they don't, then their had to be some in-breeding somewhere.

Posted on Jun 12, 2012 4:24:26 PM PDT
It says 2 discs but doesn't say 3D and Bluray combo. Did it come with the 2d and 3d bluray disc?

Posted on Jun 15, 2012 8:07:03 PM PDT
dukemeiser says:
Just because it's truer to the comic in spirit doesn't make it a good film. The directing was terrible. There was no storyline. Most of the Ghost Rider scenes are just weird instances of him standing around shaking his head. The black background action scenes were just annoying. I've never read the comics, but at least the first movie was worth sitting through more that once. You couldn't pay me to watch this God-awful film again.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 16, 2012 4:19:55 PM PDT
I bought the 2 Disk Blu-Ray so I can't answer for the 3-D edition. My edition included a barebones 'behind the scenes DVD and the Movie on Blu-Ray.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 16, 2012 4:24:45 PM PDT
I agree to an extent. Hence why I said what I did in the review. My point is that for a GHOST RIDER MOVIE this is better than the first one. As a campy comic book superhero movie, this is not your movie. I HATED the first one going in, but kinda grew to accept is as what it was, a Hollywood raping of childhood memories.

That said, I enjoyed this MORE than the first one BECAUSE I was a fan of the Ghost Rider BEFORE the first movie and didn't care for the first movie at all.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 16, 2012 4:27:12 PM PDT
If you are a fan of the source material as I am, you'll like this far more than the first film. It's far closer to the HUNDREDS of Ghost Rider Comics I read over the years than the first movie ever dreamed of being.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Tennessee

Top Reviewer Ranking: 900,210