Customer Review

205 of 210 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lasting fun at a decent price, October 26, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: VTech - Rhyme and Discover Book (Toy)
We got two of these Vtech Rhyme & Discover Books for our twins last Xmas (December 2008), and they played with these at least half an hour at a time, several times a day. At 10 months later the kids (now a little over 2 years old) still play with them regularly, anywhere from 5 to 15 minutes a day, sometimes more.
The books have been smeared by sticky hands and wipe clean well, and they have been dropped countless times without damage.
Just recently, 10 months later, we have changed the batteries (two AAAs) in one of the books, and the other one is still going on the batteries that came inside it.

The pros are:
*Price (you get lots of bells and whistles for this amount of money) and batteries included
*Durability
*Cleanability
*Visually interesting (Four panels or "pages," for a total of seven different pictures/sides to look at, plus a couple of two-sided movable pieces that make sound effects, and three light-up "tab" buttons in the shape of a lamb, kitten and puppy, each with their own sound effects)
*Huge musical variety -- some songs have a couple bars of vocals and some are just instrumental
("Ring around the rosie," "Twinkle twinkle little star," "Mary had a little lamb," "Little Bo Peep," "Hey diddle diddle," "Bingo," "Three little kittens," "This is the way we ...," "Old McDonald had a farm," "The farmer in the dell," "Rockabye baby," "This old man," "London Bridge is falling down," "Three blind mice," "Sur le pont d'Avignon")

The cons:
*The on-off switch has two volume choices, but the louder option is a little too loud for young ears. The lower volume is fine, and it would be nice if toy makers would put the volume switch somewhere less accessible to the child. My kids, and the ones I've babysat, all seem to like to crank the volume to the highest setting, and the highest setting seems as though it has the potential to damage hearing over the long term. (This is a problem with many toys, and not unique to this one.)
*It would be nice to have the entire song for some musical selections (you get only part of the song and not all the lyrics either), but it's not a huge minus considering how many songs are included

Overall, based on my kids' experience with this toy, I would recommend this to my friends and/or give as a gift.

Update October 2010: These books are still in the toy box rotation and going strong in spite of many falls to the floor and some banging on the play/train table. We changed batteries again, so in total one book has had its batteries changed once and the other has had batteries changed twice. Now that the kids are 3 years old, they don't play with these books as much, so we're getting ready to hand these down to a younger cousin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-4 of 4 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 5, 2009 9:19:44 PM PST
Excellent review. My suggestion for toys that are way too loud? Scotch tape over the speaker area. You can still hear the sound but it's not too loud for little ears (or parent's ear for that matter!)

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 13, 2009 12:40:41 PM PST
Phoebe Oh says:
Good suggestion, although my twins are experts at destroying things and have pulled tape off, which makes the tape a potential choking hazard. One time, when I had time and the twins weren't around, I unscrewed a LeapFrog toy and put the tape on the inside of the speaker opening and then re-screwed the toy shut. That way they couldn't get at the tape.
Of course, it would be nice if manufacturers simply made sure their toys' maximum volume stayed within a safe range.

Posted on Mar 18, 2011 1:50:08 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Aug 15, 2013 10:01:59 AM PDT
E. Karr says:
The lyrics are printed on the page. They sing the first few lines and the music continues so you can finish singing the rest of the song by reading it off the book. As for cleanability, the pages are easily cleaned but not so the little star/butterfly, which is a sticker on top of the moving plastic part. I had wiped down the pages with a wet cloth and the moisture messed up the edges of the sticker. As for value, yes you get lots of music - but I'm not sure you're getting as much educational value since there are so many buttons which are accidentally touched to set off the music all the time. This makes it harder for the baby to learn cause and effect, especially with everything blinking everywhere.
UPDATE - I saw a study on paint on children's toys and they found that the red on this toys contains some toxic chemical. Make sure your kids don't put this in their mouths.

Posted on Aug 15, 2013 2:03:35 AM PDT
W. Swanson says:
Thank you SO much for such a THOROUGH review...it's been a very long time since we had a baby in this family, and I wanted the opinion of someone who really knows, by experience. With TWINS...I figure you must know! This review gave me all the info I needed and more. GREAT REVIEW!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.4 out of 5 stars (610 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (412)
4 star:
 (114)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
$14.99
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: central Illinois

Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,054,485