Customer Review

140 of 160 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very mixed, October 2, 2012
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 6 (Video Game)
There's too many glowing/bad reviews from people that only played the demo and reviews that...aren't even reviews but just a paragraph of praise or hate.

I'll try my best to help out any potential buyers.

It would take all the room on the page to go into detail about all the gameplay changes but basically, if you've ever played Gears of War, the gameplay is very similar to it.

Pros:

- You can change your characters handedness on the fly. Don't like having to play as Helena on the right side of the screen? Just press RS and she'll switch to the left side.

- Dark atmosphere. Even though it isn't scary they at least tried.

- Smooth controls.

- Inventory is better to accommodate the action. You just use Up/Down on the d-pad to switch weapons and Left/Right to switch items. You have little restrictions now except you can't swap items with your partner.

- The skill system is nice. You can pick up skill points that drop from enemies and customize your character however you'd like upon meeting the requirements for the skills to unlock. There's skills that increase gun power, reload speed, melee power, recoil, accuracy, skills to not have to rely on your partner, increased ammo pickups, etc.

Cons:

- Melee feels overpowered. Why waste tons of ammo on a zombie when you can just beat them up?

- Zombies are back... but now they're faster, carry weapons like bottles and guns, and they're only in Leon's campaign. The majority of the enemies are J'avo, which are like soldiers that are half dead, smarter, and carry guns. The rest are your typical BOW monsters.

- A lot of Quick Time Events and even some cheap deaths.

- Turning off Waypoints turns off your HUD. This may be patched.

- You can only restore one block of health at a time per pill. Any herbs you find have to be mixed to make more pills. It can be annoying in a heated fight.

- Scripted events and lots of setpieces. You can no longer shoot zombies laying or sitting still like in the older games. You have to wait for an event to happen before you can harm them.

Pro/Con

- There's 4 campaigns and 4 hours worth of cutscenes. Each campaign is around 5 hours long.

Chris' campaign is very action heavy and is like a constant warzone (Well he IS in the military now...), Jake's has just as much action, and Leon's campaign tries to be more atmospheric but it doesn't take long for the action to ramp up.

The 4th campaign is unlockable after finishing those 3. I won't spoil it for anyone reading.

Some people may like that this game is a lot longer than previous ones. I personally felt it dragged on because the gameplay is much faster paced and there was a lot of QTEs.

- Too much action. Think of all the enemies in mercenaries mode in RE 5 + enemies shooting at you and you have this. Some people like it, some don't.

Final:

Honestly, I think this is what Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City should have been.

I love the classic Resident Evils more but still enjoyed RE 4, 5, and 3ds exclusive Revelations. This latest one is just too much of a change for me. It feels like it tries to appeal to everyone but doesn't quite accomplish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 16 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Oct 3, 2012 3:24:59 AM PDT
Nadine says:
All I want is a revamped Resident Evil 4 w/ Leon again.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 3, 2012 5:49:15 PM PDT
Joel D says:
All I want is a Re-Vamped Resident Evil 1 !! WTF is taking so long ? How or why did they lose the perfectly scary eerie mood sounds for uptempo music like crap ? It just ain't as scary. (Hint to the soundtrack designers = drums usually equal mood loss... play RE 1 again and learn something)

Whats the deal with losing the sandbox play from the first 3 RE's ? Been waiting and waiting for it to come back, BUT they just turned it into a video game feel on a path. No choices like RE 1 on how you take your path now, just streamline you on a pre-pathed destination. This is BIG and needs to be addressed next time.... PLEASE !

Posted on Oct 4, 2012 2:58:02 AM PDT
The Game Is Truly Awful.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 4, 2012 10:31:33 PM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Oct 4, 2012 10:33:39 PM PDT]

Posted on Oct 5, 2012 5:47:59 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 5, 2012 6:04:00 PM PDT
MY PRECIOUS says:
Great, thorough review Dawn, thank you. I passed on this game, the only Resident Evil game i will not be purchasing.

I wish Capcom would port the fabulous Resident Evil 1 Gamecube remake, but i wonder if it is exclusive to Nintendo? Re:4 started out on the Gamecube before it was ported to the PS2, so i guess there's hope. But in the mean time, Capcom might consider a part 2 remake:

http://www.gameinformer.com/b/news/archive/2012/09/26/capcom-may-consider-resident-evil-2-remake-with-enough-support.aspx

I was also annoyed that the Resident Evil 6 Anthology includes only the low-res PS1 ports of Resident Evil 1-3 that are already on PSN, i really thought that they would be HD remakes when the compilation was first announced.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 7, 2012 9:19:32 AM PDT
M. Coffidis says:
Yea, but that wouldn't be moving forward...

Posted on Oct 7, 2012 10:19:39 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 7, 2012 10:23:09 AM PDT
Jason Bean says:
Great review! Sadly this is a series that seems to have lost it's identity as it tries to appeal to a much broader audience. I still enjoy these games and really liked RE6 (much like I enjoy most 3rd-person action games) but the original appeal of the series is lost.

I don't quite agree about the melee combat, though. Maybe it's the difficulty I set it on but I thought the stamina bar kept melee combat in check enough that I wasn't spamming it trying to take down enemies.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 7, 2012 5:23:44 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 7, 2012 5:31:42 PM PDT
Nadine says:
Well I was finally able to rent it from Redbox & played a little of Chris's campaign & mostly Leons becuz I'm in love w/ Leon from RE4...

I had some moments that reminded me of the RE4 days but it didn't really give me any deep emotional thrills that I got before. I'll paste my sentiments that Jason nailed perfectly:
" but the original appeal of the series is lost.". Exactly.
What I felt in RE4 & even 5 wasn't near the same. I didn't think the music was captivating either. Just blah and nothing that I felt was appropriate for the aura I was wanting to feel. I did get scared tho but then I scare easily w/ any zombie games lol.
I loved the melee power when it connected w/ the zombies.
I dunno, I still had fun & liked what I played of it & I know it's not fair to judge it when I only played a few hours. But I wanted to see if it was buyable.
In what I played of the missions I did like it & LOVED LEON again.

I'll definitely buy this when the price comes down more. I seriously want them to get back what they lost in earlier RE's.
It's why they have such a fan base, so why they stray from the formula is beyond me.?

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 7, 2012 7:37:38 PM PDT
Joel D says:
To be honest, "the original appeal of the series" was lost after RE3. But RE4 was decently awesome, I agree, but for you young bucks and buckettes out there, RE5 was a complete and absolute disaster. That was the moment everything was lost and had the more "video game" action shooter feeling and completely lost "Survival Horror" like it claims to be.

The real original feel of RE games are not suppose to have glowing bright icons on the screen letting you know what to pick up and exactly where it is. The real original feel of RE games, real survival horror makes you look for it on your own (combing every square inch rapidly pressing "A" like a real man - lol). The real original feel of RE games make shooting a gun and using the ammo feel like a absolute treat that was worked very hard to get to. And bullets are extremely scarce. THAT is what creates the "Survival" part of "Survival Horror".

The real original feel of RE games moves a lot slower, (allowing for everything described above) - this slower action creates extreme inner body tension, and creates a explosion of fright the moment something loud, quick and action'ish kicks in. The real original feel of RE games allow you to not go on the correct path, but just leave you in a open, go anywhere universe, letting you waste time going the wrong way or the wrong order and figuring out the bigger puzzle as you learn. AND causing for different outcomes pending on which way and how you did end up going. Add that to correct MOOD strings and orchestration, and this is WHAT Survival Horror is. RE from 5 on has lost all that and traded it in for Action Shooter.

I highly advise Capcom to take notes from and get advise from the original creator of Resident Evil (1) to REACTIVATE Survival Horror into Re games. Follow his rules, when you (new writers/developers) disagree with him or feel you want to "update" something, that is when you (new writers/developers) know you are so desperately WRONG. Analyze where you (new writers/developers) would do something different and recognize that is where your creativity SUCKS and you do not have what geniuses have to make timeless classics. LEARN from it and move on and then, just maybe then you can make a honorable RE installment.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 9, 2012 9:18:33 AM PDT
M. Portillo says:
they have revamped it
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.8 out of 5 stars (461 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (203)
4 star:
 (100)
3 star:
 (67)
2 star:
 (46)
1 star:
 (45)
 
 
 
$29.99 $9.99
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 184,366