Customer Review

81 of 111 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A $40 scantron remote, May 8, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: i>clicker student remote (Gen1): Radio Frequency Classroom Response System (Misc. Supplies)
To give you some background, the only reason I bought this was because it was required for a number of General Education courses offered at my university. And therefore, being a college student, I did not enjoy having to shell out any more money on materials, the iClicker included.

It does its job well, and the battery life is excellent, but it is an unnecessary piece of technology. The same function could be accomplished for free by simply raising your hand. But if a professor wants to take surveys in class in a speedy manner while maintaining confidentiality, then the iClicker is the answer. It's just a shame it costs as much as it does no matter where you look either online or at a bookstore, but at least it does what it is advertised to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Sep 6, 2010 10:08:25 AM PDT
B. Russell says:
Of course, a lot of professors don't actually use this for taking surveys, but instead use it for attendance and taking actual quizzes. Although I agree that the iClicker is a unnecessary piece of technology, the uses that professors have come up with for it make it almost irreplaceable. But then again, I don't agree with the uses that professors have come up with, either.

Posted on Dec 10, 2011 11:22:43 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 10, 2011 11:23:20 AM PST
I can understand not wanting to spend extra money when perhaps a budget is tight but view this as a useful tool that makes efficient use of your time and the professor's time. Raising the hands necessitates counting and tabulating. Besides not all people respond and thereby wasting time to do recounts. As for it being an unnecessary piece of technology, I'd feel instead of fretting over this, why not spend embrace it as part of the cost of education?

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 9, 2012 3:11:41 PM PST
K S says:
Read the original review--the purposes the reviewer sees it being used for could, indeed, be done much more efficiently by other means. If accuracy of count is actually of importance, pen/pencil and paper is cheaper and, while not as efficient timewise, does provide a paper trail. This gadget is certainly not going to do a thing against non-responses, either; nothing short of magic will.

As the original reviewer noted, this is quite good if the use is quick, anonymous & confidential surveys in class. (As this is what I expect to be the use it's put to in the class I have to get one for, I'm perfectly fine with it being on the required list.) Otherwise, it's $35 that a college student could be using on school or living expenses, or even saving.

I'll 'spend embrace it as part of the cost of education' when the lowest price is less than 50% of my food budget for a week. Until then, I feel I have every right to protest it being required unnecessarily.

Posted on Sep 7, 2012 4:19:38 AM PDT
Delos says:
I think you're overlooking a ton of common sense psychology here: First, some people hesitate because they are afraid to be embarrassed to be wrong/the only one raising their hand for an answer. Second, the dumber (but slightly resourceful) students just wait a beat and learn to raise their hand when either the majority of the class does, or when the ones they've learned actually study raise their hand for an answer. I can tell you from experience - I've seen half a class full of students who were totally lost fool a professor into believing they understand very complex engineering concepts/equations by figuratively keeping their head down or nodding along when he asks if they understand. And then they fail the test. Congratulations if you're self-assured enough not to worry other people's opinions - but close to half of most classrooms are people that are not so.

Posted on Oct 17, 2012 8:03:02 PM PDT
proxy4me says:
I am curious to know if this thing is 'Made in China' or not. I highly doubt that it is made in the USA. If it is not made domestically, then it is clearly overpriced, which in this case means that they are raping college students for more than books now because they have no choice but to get the damn thing because it is required for the course/by the professor. I think it is shameful because this is basically just like a TV remote control (in fact less sophisticated), but the price is really outrageous and is ONLY meant as a source of unfair profit for the company selling them (is it McGraw again?).

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 22, 2012 9:10:44 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 22, 2012 9:12:40 AM PDT
I had similar thoughts as expressed here and have changed my opinon. See this reply to a question during the second Presidential debate, asking about making 100% of the Apple iPhones and iPads in China. This story has been posted on The Wall Street Journal Digital Network's AllThingsD site at http://allthingsd.com
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Logan, UT, USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 218,488