Customer Review

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but Poorly Edited, December 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waiting for Armando (Kate Lawrence Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is an entertaining little cozy mystery. It is certainly worth ninety-nine cents. However, I find the numerous typos, spelling and punctuation errors to be very distracting. This was probably the poorest edited ebook I've read yet. Too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 5 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 13 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 29, 2012 9:53:04 AM PST
[Deleted by the author on Mar 16, 2012 1:37:38 PM PDT]

Posted on Mar 5, 2012 7:35:27 AM PST
I. Zawilski says:
Thanks for the information about the editing problems in the book. This kind of thing definitely figures into my purchase decisions for my Kindle. There's no excuse for sloppy work, in my opinion.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 9, 2012 4:26:49 AM PST
[Deleted by the author on Mar 9, 2012 4:27:46 AM PST]

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 9, 2012 4:32:58 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 9, 2012 6:08:20 AM PST
Wow...just wow. You have waited 2 months to chastise this reviewer?

It is not a good idea for an author to smack a reviewer on the nose, especially out-loud like this!

Posted on Mar 9, 2012 4:57:03 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 9, 2012 11:42:33 AM PST
Chandler says:
The kinds of reviews I am most grateful for are the ones that let me know the author didn't care enough about the work to properly edit it. It's like an artist of an oil painting putting it up for sale and you get it and all the pencil line sketches still show underneath. Problem with it happening on a book, is it makes it unpleasant and difficult to read. A little like getting lots of bland food at a restaurant. Sure you can keep sending the dishes back, but a good food reviewer also warns others so that they won't have to.

All reviews are on how the book is NOW, you don't leave out what may or may not be fixed in the future as the book author suggested in her exceptionally snarky comment. That would be a mind reading review. And to say it was a great book but ignore the most important step in writing for an author: clarity and grammar etc....would be as poorly written of a review as the writing of the book. It seems obvious an author, who didn't care enough to write or edit the book properly, would also expect reviewers to review improperly and hide the dirty little secrets....but it's still a shame.

I was considering this book and I know, as my ranking of the top reviewer on the site, authors sometimes use quotes from me on book covers and undiscovered books sometimes get discovered so I choose what I read carefully, wisely, and with much thought....but any quote they would have gotten from me on this one would be about a badly behaved author and a poorly written book.

So the author should be grateful for your review. Had I made the mistake of buying it, my review would have been far more loud and public.

And if it has poor editing and grammar I would have given it one star. You were very kind. To me the author's first job is clarity and writing.

People want their builders to know how to read a blueprint, their seamstresses to know how to sew, their CPAs to know how tax laws, their hairstylists to know how to cut, their chefs to know how to cook, and their authors to know how to write.

She missed her primary job.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 9, 2012 5:41:44 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 9, 2012 6:39:06 AM PST
Jason P says:
"How much more constructive it would have been for you simply to email the author and/or publisher to inform them of the problems you saw. Instead, you chose to post snarky, mean-spirited comments here on Amazon, where they will remain long after the errors have been corrected."

How much more professional would it have been for you to wait until the errors are actually corrected and and simply posted that the problem is fixed? Instead, you chose to post snarky, mean-spirited comments to somebody who gave their opinion on a product that they believe to be poorly edited (which you don't deny... you only make excuses for - which makes the review seem to be more fact than opinion... which makes it even less open for criticism if it's completely true...)

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 9, 2012 6:04:58 AM PST
Teahouse Fox says:
Really? Someone makes a favorable and constructive review of your ebook and you consider it "snarky"? If I'd put something to print with a typo in it, I'd first WANT someone to tell me (which this reviewer did, without snark.... did you expect a personally addressed email?), and then I'd fix it and update it instead of opening fire on a truthful and non-malicious assessment. Self published, I'm guessing? I can't see why you would perceive this as a personal attack, otherwise.

Traditionally publishers hire editors to make sure that they don't put a book to print that makes them look bad. If you do indeed have a publisher, get one that's more professional. If you are your own publisher, hire an editor so that you have the appearance of *being* more professional. If you're really hard up, hire an English major for cheap. Perhaps ask a grammatically correct friend and pay them in pizza and beer. SOMETHING. Because, YES - It makes you look bad. Firing shots at an honest observation, as you did, makes it look worse.

It's a work of the written word: treat it as if you think it's worthy of people spending their money on what you've written. If you don't give a crap, why should anyone else?

And stop being a numpty.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 9, 2012 7:34:42 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 9, 2012 7:48:31 AM PST
Chandler says:
...and then she should hire a PR agent who will tell her how inappropriate it was for an author to post a comment like that under a kind but honest review.

Author: You are your brand. If someone wrote on their blog regarding Newman's Own to say they found a fly in their Sockarooni Spaghetti Sauce do you believe the company would fire back on said blog and say that was ignorant and they needed to be schooled that one is not allowed to mention flies on blogs, but instead must only write the company because if they had they would have known the company just put up fly zappers in the doorways so there won't be any more flies in the Sockarooni so that makes the bloggers experience as though it never happened?

No, the blogger is allowed to review their experience when it happened, anywhere they wish.

That is why Yelp has restaurant and hotel reviews rather than people quietly writing the company when they find dirty sheets or there is a fly in their food.

Poor editing is the fly in an author's dish.

Consider YOURself educated.

Funny the author didn't take her own advice and contact the reviewer privately...pity. Public tantrums are not good branding.

Be as grateful for your critics as you are your supporters. You often improve more in your craft via your critics.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 9, 2012 9:17:56 AM PST
- Kasia S. says:
Judith, as an author its your job to make sure the book has proper corrections, there is nothing worse than stumbling upon countless typos and errors, it breaks the concentration.. your comment however is the only snaky and mean thing here, I would read your story even with errors but not anymore, not after knowing what kind of person you are from your reply, thanks for saving me the trouble!

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 9, 2012 1:21:46 PM PST
< Traditionally publishers hire editors to make sure that they don't put a book to print that makes them look bad. >

Gasp, wheez, hack ... <wipes eyes > ... there, I've recovered from serious laugh attack.

That is SO mid-20th-century. "Editors" have long ago gotten out of the business of actually editing.

But yes, the author should get their own proofer/editor. The idea of beer and pizza (well, beer *after* edit) is good. Or join a writing group. Or ....
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 72,066