Customer Review

172 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Honest Review, May 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Referral Engine: Teaching Your Business to Market Itself (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:04 Mins

I have read more than 100 business books a year for the last 21 years -- and here is my review on "The Referral Engine."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jun 11, 2010 6:07:15 PM PDT
W. Allemon says:
Thanks for posting this video review, John. This has to be the one of the best customer reviews I've seen. Focused and to the point. Perhaps you should write a book on doing video reviews!?

Posted on Jun 28, 2011 4:35:35 PM PDT
Vida Abreu says:
Cool review! I'm on it cap'n! Thanks:)

Posted on Jul 23, 2011 7:02:56 AM PDT
Johnny K says:
There is no doubt that you are an excellent speaker John however based on the negative reviews (including a "vine voice" review) especially on the first five chapters from several other reviewers your review comes across to me as pitch rather than a review, both verbally and visually.
I have read "Duct Tape Marketing" by the same author which was an excellent book. Ideal for Business start-ups and companies requiring a marketing makeover or an introduction to modern marketing.
Maybe next time you could let us know some of the benefits and value you gained from reading the book to help us make an informed decision on our purchase.
Thank you for your contribution John and again, you are an excellent speaker. Keep it up.
Johnny K

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 23, 2011 11:34:10 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 23, 2011 11:36:10 AM PDT
Johnny K. - thank you for your very frank and honest feedback about my review. I had not viewed it since I posted it nearly 14 months ago - I actually felt I laid out a few good points and some specific benefits. However, based on your feedback I am going to endeavor to try to be a bit more clear and specific. I run a business - actually I've now run seven businesses - that are almost 100 percent completely dependent on referrals. I thought I did a pretty good job at asking for referrals, but it wasn't until I read the Referral Engine that I realized I was doing an extremely poor job of creating a "system" for generating high quality referrals. I will admit that I did not hang on every single page of John's book, and it may not win any literary awards, and might have some confusing or not quite as valuable parts to it - but in my opinion, that represents just about every business book out there... mine included!!! The two or three major takeaways I had from The Referral Engine are: being extremely good at understanding specifically who your highest quality target referral is - so you spend the bulk of your time trying to get only the very, very best referrals and new clients. The second big take away was understanding that there is a process for a prospect... Finding out about you, learning more about you, liking you, trying you, trusting you, doing repeat business with you, referring you, and finallyy becoming a referral evangelist for your business. I understood this process - but even I did not have a step-by-step plan put in place to make sure that I could move prospects easily through the process. Lastly, I thought John did a wonderful job of describing how to create a "referral network of strategic partners" in your community. This specific advice does not work well for my particular business - but I have shared it with several of my friends who own local businesses and depend on referrals and it has been a spectacularly successful tactic for them. I actually jumped on a plane and flew to Houston a day early for meeting - in order to hear John Jantsch present his ideas in person. John delivered and information-packed seminar - and I took more than 15 pages of notes - I just think he has lots and lots of great ideas that are actionable and not totally challenging to put into place. Is this the best business book ever written?? No. However, if you want to be better at generating more good quality referrals for your business - I honestly believe this is probably one of the very best business books out there on that specific topic - and have recommended it to many, many friends - who all took at least a handful of really great ideas out of the book - which is about all you can hope for when reading any business book. Johnny K -- I truly value your willingness to push me harder and your very straightforward approach in challenging my review. I hope that what I've put above adds a little bit more detail - and explains my recommendation for this book in a more clear and substantial way. Thanks so much - I wish you every possible success - John Spence

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 20, 2012 8:01:12 PM PST
Thanks, John, for replying in detail to Johnny K's assertion. For me also, it came across as a pitch for the book rather than a book review, even though I enjoyed your video and speaking style and felt persuaded by your enthusiasm. Because of the book's flaws mentioned by some of the other reviewers, I was reluctant to spend money on this book (or spend valuable time reading it) unless I knew it contained information I really need. I was looking for specifics. Everything you wrote above explains your enthusiasm for the book, and also your willingness to overlook its flaws.

Posted on Sep 7, 2012 5:31:13 PM PDT
I agree with you. Thanks for the review, John.

Posted on Feb 8, 2013 2:44:32 PM PST
Thanks John!!! By the way, what is the best business book ever written in your opinion?

Posted on Jun 28, 2013 1:19:39 PM PDT
suzy myrs says:
Thanks for your review John. I wanted to ask you if you would recommend this book for someone who wanted to start a contractor referral business in a senior community? I noticed that you did mention that in here: "Lastly, I thought John did a wonderful job of describing how to create a "referral network of strategic partners" in your community." Wondering if there is enough of this content to make the purchase worthwhile as it seems that most of the book is about promoting our own services. Thank you.
Suzy Myrs
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Gainesville, FL

Top Reviewer Ranking: 29,348