Customer Review

20 of 368 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No articulated screen at end of 2012? Come on..., November 9, 2012
This review is from: Canon EOS 6D 20.2 MP CMOS Digital SLR Camera with 3.0-Inch LCD (Body Only) (Electronics)
I'd have bought the 6D this Christmas, if it had an articulated screen, which is one of the most useful non-gimmicks we can find on any camera nowadays. Now I have to wait at least a year to buy my first full-frame DSLR (if the next model does not have an articulated screen, I'll seriously consider switching back to Nikon). In the meantime I'll keep my 60D another year...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 33 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 15, 2012 8:52:59 AM PST
Rajul says:
This is so strange. This product review section. FYI, which mean you own a product and you review it.

Posted on Nov 17, 2012 2:20:43 AM PST
Joe Bowers says:
Switch back to Nikon? Do you realize that none of Nikon's full frame Cameras have an articulated LCD screen either? Neither do Canon's other full frame bodies. In fact the only company to offer an articulated screen on a full frame body is Sony.

Posted on Nov 18, 2012 10:39:31 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 19, 2012 10:50:33 AM PST
CarlTN says:
I have to agree with Joe Bowers. It would seem the OP hasn't noticed pertinent facts about all full frame digital cameras. I frankly don't understand the fuss over articulating screens. If you need to hold a camera up above your head and shoot video at a live event or something, just buy a dedicated video camera. They all have articulating screens, and some have better rolling shutter performance than DSLR's have. Otherwise an articulating screen can only hinder serious digital stills photography...which is why no full frame cameras use them. The 60D isn't a serious DSLR, its body is partly plastic, and it has no AF micro-adjustment. The idea of waiting for "the next full frame DSLR" from Canon, to decide whether to "switch back to Nikon", also makes no practical (or logical) sense. None of Nikon's full frame bodies use an articulating screen, and I doubt they ever will.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 18, 2012 12:52:03 PM PST
Jose Elias says:
In a few years, all full-frame cameras will have articulated screens, IMHO.

Note that I do understand why you think differently, but I think it is once of those things that unless you try it on a day-to-day basis, you won;t fully appreciate it.

For example, often times for model shots I like to place the camera right on the ground, and with the articulated screen it is very easy for me to simply kneel down and look *down* at the camera as opposed to bringing my head down to the ground or looking at the screen from an awkward position.

It is one of those things that once you try it, you won't go back, and since I figure many new photographers are trying out these new cameras with the articulated screens, and since some of those will eventually turn Pro, I think they will demand a camera with that functionality in the near future...

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 19, 2012 10:19:30 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 19, 2012 10:48:15 AM PST
CarlTN says:
I have tried articulating screens before, and like I said, it's not a necessity. I'd like to bet you 5 gold American Eagle coins...that let's say, 3 years from now, NOT all full frame DSLR's will have articulating screens...but I won't...haha...it's a safer bet to hold onto them at all costs :-D. However, the idea that pro cameras (especially "all" of them) will have articulating screens is silly and absurd. If the pro market wanted articulating screens, really they would have introduced them back in 2009 on the D3s and the 1D4. They didn't. Deal with it. It's soon to be 2013. The jury is in on whether articulating screens are needed on pro DSLR bodies. The verdict is, they do NOT need them. You seem to be thinking that Sony is somehow the primary innovator of camera bodies, and therefore, since the new SLT99 has an articulating screen, that someday soon "all full frame bodies" will have one. Not even the new Sony RX1 has one...why is that? I guess even Sony doesn't think they're as much of a necessity as you do. So deal with that, too. So there goes your theory...which you are stating as fact, btw. And shooting models from the ground? That might work for shots of people's crotches, but look at any magazine on the newstand and tell me how many pro shots are done from the ground. Look at all the covers, as well. I mean...crotch shots??? In porn maybe...haha. And if you are referring to wide angle shots of skaters jumping ramps and such...I mean ok, big deal, how much of a market is there for that? That's been done to death. It's trite.

Posted on Nov 20, 2012 10:58:54 AM PST
For note; if you have a modern smart phone; you can use that as a a removable screen. hotshoe mount cell phone ballhead anyone?

Posted on Nov 22, 2012 1:00:16 AM PST
James says:
So, to sum up: Your 'review' of a product you don't own, haven't used and isn't available tells us that you probably won't buy it. Thanks, that's super useful!

Posted on Nov 24, 2012 12:40:47 PM PST
If the only reason you're not going to buy this camera is because it doesn't have an articulating screen shows me immediately you are a novice DSLR user and your opinion immediately becomes null and void. You should be buying this camera for it's amazing price point for a full frame body that uses the All-I codec, shoots in 60fps and the much higher dynamic range than a 60d. Most professionals will have an external LCD monitor anyway. Worthless review, ESPECIALLY due to the fact the camera isn't even released.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 24, 2012 8:26:44 PM PST
Jose Elias says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Nov 26, 2012 7:15:35 AM PST
K. McFarland says:
Most of us professional photographers actually prefer to not have an articulated screen. Just an FYI.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Santiago, Dominican Republic

Top Reviewer Ranking: 24,128,308