Customer Review

38 of 102 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quack..Quack..., April 3, 2009
This review is from: Cure Tooth Decay: Heal And Prevent Cavities With Nutrition - Limit And Avoid Dental Surgery and Fluoride [Second Edition] ***** Stars (Kindle Edition)
The author loves to use the terms "likely" and "probably" in backing-up his personally-researched theories. It's a great, non-binding, way to make a statement without actually having to do real research or backing it up in any way. If you're the type that takes everything you read to heart, without an ounce of doubt, or reason, this book will sound like the new Gospel. It will change your life. It even says that it will.

There are many people that believe everything they hear or read, as if it must be true if it's printed or said. Does saying a phrase make it true? If you can find someone..anyone to publish it, does it then become true? Is it enough if it just sounds true? ...Lazy brains...spoon fed their beliefs....sheep.

The fact that nutrition is fundamental in whole body health is well understood, researched, documented by real people who care about improving the health of real people. Intuitive Healing, on the other hand, which is this author's "profession", is less well understood. It makes promises and puts forth theories without the burden of proof, and makes a tidy profit doing so. Why waste all that time and money with proof when there are so many people willing to just accept what their told.

Like this book, Intuitive Healing holds to the belief that education, research, experience and science hold no true answers. All the answers can only be found by feeling them out. Like they way he felt that his daughter's teeth should be allowed to rot and fester in her mouth. Kids die that way. Look into it. Google - "Death from a toothache". Don't just take my word for it. Flex your brain. Eat right. Exercise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 5 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 13 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 16, 2009 11:42:55 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Apr 18, 2009 5:29:26 PM PDT
Ali says:
The pot calling the kettle black, this review itself reveals lack of education, research, experience, and science. Apparently, this reviewer hasn't tried the diet and hasn't observed others who have (reviewer lacks experience), and hasn't studied the well-documented research that has been done on such a diet and its effects on the teeth (reviewer lacks education and research). The one supposed example ("death by toothache") that the reviewer cites does not even involve this diet; it's about a tooth that went unaddressed by anything at all.

The irony is that this reviewer's review is precisely what is based on intuition: blind faith that, if the information in this book were true, then the American Dental Association would be implementing it. If that is not the reviewer's main reasoning, then I can't tell what is. The reviewer never cites any relevant education, research, experience, or science. What science can this reviewer point to as evidence that Rami Nagel's protocol is ineffective?

Beware of false reasoning, which often takes a straw-man argument: 1) citing the "death from toothache" to discredit Rami Nagel, whose daughter is alive and well; 2) comparing Nagel's protocol to intuitive healing, though Nagel's protocol is drawn from tangible research, experience, and observations. And be alert when you see the ad hominem attacks: attacking someone personally, as in calling him a quack, yet not assessing his protocol or its results.

These are reflex tactics to discard any education, research, experience, and science that challenges the reviewer's intuitive faith in authority -- in the American Dental Association. The American Dental Association is but a dominant trade organization, and, despite its dominance, it is not a disinterested philanthropic society or even a government agency; it is a private trade organization established and maintained specifically to support and advance its own brand of professional practices and market share. There is nothing inherently wrong with that; what is wrong is mistaking a trade organization, no matter how powerful or having the word "American" in it, as the keeper all truth in its whole field.

About teeth, this mistake is especially misleading because training of ADA dentists is not even training or specialization in the field of preventing tooth decay per se: a dentist is a doctor of dental surgery. Cavity prevention is effectively counter to the American Dental Association's trade, mainly the implementation of dental surgery to address existent damage. (ADA endorsements of particular corporate toothpastes, versus traditional tooth cleansers, and dentists' performing regular dental cleanings, though they make one's teeth gleam and keep one in touch with the dentist, do not significantly PREVENT cavities.)

The greatest argument against Nagel's protocol that this review applies is a tacit reliance on social proof: the ADA is big and powerful, and most people follow the ADA, and the ADA doesn't use Nagel's protocol, and so Nagel's protocol is invalid -- until the ADA researches and endorses Nagel's protocol. If that's not the reviewer's implied reasoning, then I don't know what is. The reviewer gives no education, research, experience, or science at all against the efficacy of Nagel's protocol.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 30, 2009 2:02:00 PM PDT
Geri O'Kaye says:
Thanks so much for a clear and well-reasoned rebuttal to "Nigel Toothist"'s review. An admirable job!

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 9, 2009 5:12:52 AM PDT
Ali says:
I've spent a couple of decades seeking these truths---what I found independently of Nagel---and so I just would like readers to have the chance to see that information that comes easily through a single and sudden book find, and needs no license to practice, can indeed be true. This way, by way of Nagel's courage and care to share with us this information---the vital core of which he even has posted free and accessibly on YouTube---others who care can attain or keep their own dental and skeletal health. One ought to not be dependent on others just to keep one's teeth.

For your support of us all, Geri O'Kaye, I thank you, too.

Posted on Sep 18, 2009 4:17:29 PM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Jun 19, 2011 8:44:15 AM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 20, 2009 7:19:26 PM PST
Everyone, don't play down to the 'Toothist.' He is just trying to get a reaction out of you. Nagel lets the research of Bechamp and Price do the talking. Enough said.

Posted on Mar 14, 2010 12:34:13 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Mar 24, 2013 9:19:37 PM PDT
Bruce Grubb says:
It is clear Nigel Toothist never did any research. Nagal's book is based on the work of Weston A. Price ("Nutrition and Physical Degeneration" 1939) who not only was a dentist but a nutritionist as well and was chairman of the ADA's Research Section from 1914 to 1923.

History is full of scientists that were ignored by the establishment because their studies didn't fit the views then prevalent. The sun centered solar system of Aristarchus (c310 BCE - c230 BCE) was rejected in favor of Aristotle's Earth centered model which dominated Western though for nearly 1800 years, Mendel had only three papers written about his study of inherited traits during his lifetime, and Wegener's idea of continental drift was largely disregarded and ridiculed by the scientists of his day.

I am somewhat wary of what the ADA says especially with the younger generation of dentists it is has. My mother went to a young dentist who said that if she didn't have an expensive procedure done she would loose all her teeth in 3 years. Having gone to medical school herself my mother knew the young dentist was full of it and went to an older dentist who did the standard cleaning. Some 10 years later she passed way due to complications of an aneurysm surgery with EVERY tooth still in her head--some SEVEN YEARS AFTER SHE SUPPOSEDLY WOULD HAVE LOST THEM. Clearly that procedure was not needed so why say it was? Can you say Cha-ching?! I knew you could.

The really interesting thing is Price was not alone in his belief that there was a connection between nutrition and tooth decay. In fact, studies supporting the idea were published in medical and dental journals of the time including an article by Edward Mellanby the discover of Vitamin D. Here is a list of some of them:

Agnew, M. C.; Agnew, R. G.; Tisdall, F. F. (1933) The production and prevention of dental caries. Journal of the American Dental Association, JADA 20; 193-212.

Anderson, P. G.; Williams, C. H. M.; Halderson, H.; Summerfeldt, C.; Agnew, R. (1934) Influence of vitamin D in the prevention of dental caries. 'Journal of the American Dental Association 21; 1349-66.

Bennett, N. G.; et al. (1931) The influence of diet on caries in children's teeth. Special Report Series - Medical Research Council, UK No. 159, 19.

Day, C. D.; Sedwick, H. J. (1934) Fat-soluble vitamins and dental caries in children. Journal of Nutrition 8; 309-28.

East, B. R. (1938) Nutrition and dental caries. American Journal of Public Health. 28; 72-6.

His Majesty's Stationery Office, London. (1936) "The influence of diet on caries in children's teeth. Report of the Committee for the Investigation of Dental Disease".

McBeath, E.C. (1938) Nutrition and diet in relation to preventive dentistry. New York Journal of Dentistry Dentistry 8; 17-21.

McBeath, E.C.; Zucker, T.F. (1938) Role of vitamin D in the control of dental caries in children. Journal of Nutrition 15; 547-64.

McBeath, F.C. (1934) Vitamin D studies, 1933-1934. American Journal of Public Health , 24 1028-30.

Mellanby, Edward (1930) The relation of Diet to Death and Disease; Some new investigations BMJ Apr 12, 1930 pg 354 ((Edward Mellanby was the discover of Vitamin D)

Mellanby, May C. Lee Pattison and C. W. Proud, (1924) "The Effect of Diet on the Development and extension of caries in the the teeth of children" BMJ Aug 1924 pg 254

Mellanby, M. (1937) The role of nutrition as a factor in resistance to dental caries. British Dental Journal, 62; 241-52.

Tisdall, F.F. (1937) The effect of nutrition on the primary teeth. Child Development 8(1), 102-4.

Now you have to ask with all that (and a whole lot more) why don't we hear about it today?

Addendum:

Hujoel, P. P. (2013), Vitamin D and dental caries in controlled clinical trials: systematic review and meta-analysis. Nutrition Reviews, 71: 88-97. doi: 10.1111/j.1753-4887.2012.00544.x

Posted on Sep 2, 2010 9:20:00 AM PDT
MagicalMindz says:
It would only seem logical that a healthier more natural diet would improve everyone's body in more than one area (hair, bones, skin, teeth, colon, etc.) I grew up largely in America and had a mouth full of bad teeth for my first 20 years. I was told that it came from my father's side and there was nothing to be done about it (hogwash of course). My mother's teeth never knew a cavity. Then I began flossing and the problems disappeared. I had my mercury fillings removed a few years ago as well.

Most of my kids were raised in Europe where I shopped and cooked from scratch daily (groan). However, they never experienced the acne, tooth decay or other problems that American children do. In addition, I personally found that I eliminated cavities altogether 40 years ago by simply flossing my teeth twice a day and rinsing my mouth after meals.

For many years now we have used natural products to clean our teeth as they were readily available everywhere we lived and far less expensive than American over-hyped products. For example, we use something called "Vademecum", a natural Swedish product, hydrogen peroxide occasionally and Oregano oil on our gums along with baking soda to brush.

The oldest child is now 40; the youngest 25 and we rarely visit a dentist. We're a family of 9 (stepchildren, adopted and natural born to me) who very fortunately have minimal to no experience with tooth decay. It had nothing to do with poor old dad's bad teeth or mom's wonderful teeth but the position we took about our overall health ourselves. We're constantly learning.

Posted on Apr 17, 2011 12:49:13 AM PDT
Dana Seilhan says:
"The author loves to use the terms "likely" and "probably" in backing-up his personally-researched theories."

You mean like the American Heart Association and various food companies stating that saturated fat and cholesterol "might" cause heart disease, possibly maybe? Seriously? Read their labels and their pamphlets. Linked with, may be associated with, may cause, may contribute to. No definite statements there.

How in the world are you going to have proof of something if you don't go right ahead and do it? Your idea of proof is something done to lab rats. Science without application is useless. Parents have the right to choose foods for their children *anyway* so you might as well do double duty and check and see if a new dietary approach will work, should your children be afflicted with a disease. You've only got their whole childhood to ruin if you dig in your heels and wait for the rat studies to come back. And I'm sure your children will be thrilled to learn that you think they are exactly the same as rats.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 29, 2011 11:01:28 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Apr 29, 2011 11:06:02 PM PDT
JC says:
i wholeheartedly agree with Dana, i much prefer a "maybe" which leaves room for doubt and future correction than a stated proven "fact" in a text book that is later discarded/refuted as an unintentional arrogant lie. change and knowledge are ever progressing, there is nothing wrong with an author admitting their own limitations and leaving room for the future and the unknown.

but yes, every reader needs to have an opinion of their own instead of just swallowing what they read whole without digesting it.

Posted on Oct 31, 2011 12:36:06 PM PDT
Margaret says:
Thanks for a healthy dose of reality! No doubt, healthy nutrition plays a part in repairing our bodies and our health but previous generations ate lard, organ meats, and organic and they still had bad teeth and heart disease. It seems like the same people that accept almost every utterance from weston a price foundation without questioning will reject and question every other source.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Waltham, MA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 7,268,201