Customer Review

94 of 107 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great TV when it works...Love Amazon...Hate the Shipper they used, April 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LG Infinia 60PZ950 60-Inch 1080p 600 Hz Active 3D THX Certified Plasma HDTV with TruBlack Filter and Smart TV (2011 Model) (Electronics)
First I would like to warn everyone on a delivery scam that Pilot trucking is pulling on Amazon and its cutomers.My TV was shipped to their Atlanta hub and arrived on April 4th...delivery estimate April 8th.I called Pilot on the 8th about 4pm to see whats up.They said they did not have the TV anymore it was picked up by another company J.P.Hall for final delivery.OK called Hall about the TV....a little snicker and a no way today,was told they would have a truck in my area next tuesday the 12th and next thursday the 14th..of course I picked Tuesday.On monday I received a call from Hall saying a truck was in Athens Ga with my TV but the helper was sick and if I could help get it off they would deliver it that day.I had to tell them because of my bad health there was no way I could do this.They said they would bring it tommorow.Ok Tuesday comes around no TV.I call Hall they say the Driver is waiting to pick up someone to help him.The Driver calls me about 5pm and tells me the guy didnt show up and asked again if I could help him.I said no again and He promised me first off tommorow Wed.OK wed. gets here no TV about 4pm I call Hall nope no help today no delivery...Thursday....I told them I have been forced to be home for 4 days now and need it by noon thursday because I had plans that afternoon.They said they would make it Happen..Thursday 10am the truck shows up....No helper just a driver.They put it off on Him because he was a large strong guy..but a 160lb TV one man?To get the TV I helped Him get it off and unpacked and set up...Thru the grace of God after riding around in 3 differnt Hall trucks for over a week it was still intact...I felt sorry for the driver being put in this situation.After talking to the Driver found out They dont have two people on any truck to do white glove delivery that Amazon promises.they try to hook up with another driver to get this done.Thats why they kept asking for my help.Shame on Pilot for letting this happen.6 months earlier they delivered a 2 lb fishing rod in a big truck with 2 guys.lol The delivery bill I signed was a Pilot bill of shipping so Amazon would think they deliverd it
I called Amazon about it and they were shocked and concerned their customers were getting this kind of service.
they apologized and gave me a nice amount of cash for my inconvenance.and they were glad I called them and would resolve the problem.I love Amazon service.
Now for the LG60PZ950.I did great research ob LCD...Backlit LCD-LED and Plasma TV's...After 4 years of suffering with a samsung DLP that just died DLP was out.Finaly went with Plasma...three real brands to pick from..Samsung..Panasonic and LG.Samsung is out because of poor service and bad design of the DLP and stories of high pitch sounds...Panasonic was my frontrunner till I heard of color problems on newer tv's and Panasonic not addressing the problem...read great reviews on the LG...but what sold me was seeing the LG and Panasonic and Samsung all at once...The LG won on all accounts to me.
Iam so glad I bought this TV...The best picture I have ever seen as good or better than my friends Pioneer.
Out of the box the color was right on..I broke it in ,if it is really needed?,by running 24-7 for 5 days on the THX setting overnight on HBO HD movie channel...no problems at all.Picture quality is great...3D was bought for my 11 year old and is exceptional...PS3 has a firmware upgrade so you can watch 3D blueray disc and play 3D games very cool.Netflix offers 3D disc sent to your home,not alot yet but sure more will come..
hooked the TV up hardwired to my DSL...upgrade TV software(took about an Hour)gave mr more apps...now have about 12 apps and lots of games...The browser works fine but will probably use my computer much faster on my pc..Used the optical out to hook up to my receiver optical input for 5.1 sound when we watch movies...set up was easy tons of ways to hook up multiple things...the built in speakers are fine for everday use...but a surround sound system makes it killer..Ther is not anything about this TV I dislike...I bought the 4 year Square deal warranty and thanks to the cash Amazon gave me it was almost free.Iam watching it now as I write this and So glad I picked the LG60PZ950 and would recomend it to anyone...

UPDATE 04/22/2011...Ok tried to get my Netflix to load on my LG.Received an activation number from the TV went to netflix and actavated the number...successfully....but when I click on Netflix on the LG it comes up with a software error...repeated the process like 10 times...same deal...called Netflix they said it was the TV not them.If You wanted to know about LG's service here is what happened...Called LG within 3 mins I was talking to a servis ReP...This was like 10pm Wed.She said she would have a certified LG tech at my house Friday between 12-5pm..he called at 12:30 and was here at1pm..check tv couldnt get netflix to work...We both figured the software update to the LG I did might have an error in it...wish I had tried Netflix before I did the update...He said He had to order a new board that controls it and if it doesnt work or will take too long to get it that they would replace my TV with a new one..The rest of the TV is still perfect just no Netfix hook up...LG service gets 5stars from me...very fast and efficent nothing like the Samsung wars I have been thru...PS has anyone else had this problem with their TV and hooking up with netflix? any new owners might try activation before you update the TV's software...Big John

Update 05/09/2011....Found out what was wrong with Netflix...Nothing to do with the TV..Stupid ATT dropped my DSL speed to to about 26k so Netflix wouldnt load..once I got it back to 1.5 everything worked great...after a month I realy like having the Apps on my TV...especialy MLB baseball..a few clicks and Iam watching the game I want..found out too that animated films in 3D are much better than regular films...my son loves PS3 games that are 3D...The only bad is the majick wand remote kills a new set of batteries in like 3-4 days just sitting.(might have a bad unit)The bigger one that also comes with it works great no problems with battery...Great Service...Great Tv..I think its one of the best TV's out there.Iam so glad I bought this LG...Big John

update 09/07/2012
hey my LG has come up with problems with the color and tint after a year and a half....it switches from greenish faces to good faces and redishish faces and color on the backgrounds...its way to soon for a TV of this price to have these problems.It seems like nowadays they make them to last a year(their warranty)and thats it..I was burned on a Samsung DLP that died way too soon so this time I bought a 4 year square trade warranty will see how it works out...I have lowered my rating on this TV because of this.....Big John
update 12/01/12
well we will find out if square trade is any good...last night the LG just went pop and totaly died,,,,the screen got fuzzy white on the bottom moved to the top than a pop no brightness than no picture...stone dead...I use to beleive You get what you pay for...but it aint that way no more...$2200 for a top of the line TV that dies in 1 1/2 years....maybe bigger aint better,,,,I have a 36 inch Toshiba CRT tv thats 25 years old still kicking butt in my sons room...that 2 60 inchers I have bought the longest lasting one was 2 years...oh well I put in a claim with square trade we will see what happens...PS...I hate extended warranty's but with these big TV's you better get one for 4 years if you can!!!!!Big John
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 10 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 20, 2011 7:52:11 AM PDT
Sheshechic says:
I hope you contacted Amazon directly regarding delivery of your TV. They really need to know. Believe me you'll be glad that you did.

Posted on Apr 22, 2011 2:31:59 PM PDT
T. MANNON says:
Hey Big John, thanks for the great feedback!! I am going through the same stuff with Pilot on the delivery, after calling them AND Amazon for 9 days they finally called me and wanted to know if they could FedEx it to me tomorrow, I said that would be great. So they FedEx'd it to my house and I was in utter disappointment. My neihbor works for FedEx and called me about delivery and warned me that the box had suffered "water" damage. When the FedEx driver pulled up I went out to see the "water" damage to the box...OMG, it looked like two forklifts were playing catch with the TV and ended up dropping it. There wasn't any corner on the lower right side of the box and the screen, as far as I could see inside the box, was shattered. So I declined the shipment and called Amazon. Amazon did give me credit for the phone tag and late delivery but then they put in a new order for another TV and wouldn't you know it, there SOLD OUT, estimated delivery is 1-2 months:(. I have done quite abit of research and ended up wanting this TV and it makes me feel good that you really enjoy yours and the picture quality so I am holding out for this model...THANKS for the great feedback!!
PS have you tried the Netflix through your PS3, it works great for me!!

Posted on Apr 22, 2011 3:05:10 PM PDT
Sheshechic says:
Big John, did you check your Netflix account to ensure that you haven't exceeded the number of activated devices? I think it's 6.

Posted on Jun 25, 2011 10:02:31 PM PDT
ancientalien says:
I bought this TV from Paul's TV one month ago. Before buying, I did research a lot. To see and compare my options, I went to Best Buy too. I saw all the flagship TVs for 2011 except this LG TV. Somehow went for LG in the end.

Let me tell you.
After hearing all the good things about Panasonic VT30s and seeing all 2011 models, I feel like I hit the jackpot by buying LG 60PZ950.

This is the Bugatti Veyron of the plazma TVs. Panasonic VT30 looks like a LeBaron next to this TV
I have just ordered another 60PZ950 for my summer house, I am crazy about this TV.

Posted on Aug 3, 2011 8:09:47 AM PDT
troy says:
Hi Big John,

Thanks for the great review. Did you purchase from Amazon or another re-seller? I'm getting mine from Vann's and I hope to avoid the Pilot shipping issue. I have been shipping stuff for work for years and they're doing what's called an "inter-line" shipment. It's never a good thing and I can't believe that any company would try it with a plasma TV.

Thanks again,
Troy

Posted on Sep 18, 2011 7:15:37 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 18, 2011 7:16:14 PM PDT
Jay Citizen says:
Just an FYI to those who may be DLP fans. Yes Samsung service is non existent. But Texas Instruments has been bragging industry wide, that they will fix any failed DLP chip in any manufacturer's brand of projection TV. And do it for free! The TV manufactures have been trying to dump DLP because it is American made, and they don't like paying royalties to the US. I've seen posts on forums like greenbutton and others, that claim Texas Instruments has been putting their money where their mouth is.

I'm glad you like plasma; I just personally can't take the shiny screen. It gives me a headach!

Posted on Sep 19, 2011 8:44:11 PM PDT
[Deleted by Amazon on Sep 19, 2011 9:07:35 PM PDT]

Posted on Sep 19, 2011 10:40:46 PM PDT
Jay Citizen says:
WOW Tonto! Amazon was quick to delete your post! I have it in my email though. Pretty rough dude! HA!

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 13, 2012 9:29:48 PM PDT
Randy Silva says:
Jay, are you serious about Texas Instruments fixing Samsung DLP chips???

I don't see how that is possible.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 14, 2012 9:25:25 PM PDT
Jay Citizen says:
Texas Instruments own the total rights to the DLP technology. They have the right to do what they want. No matter who built it, it is still a TI chip design. In one industry article I read, they claimed all the DLP chips are still made in the USA.

I haven't confirmed this; but it doesn't matter - TI owns the technology.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Athens GA.

Top Reviewer Ranking: 126,995