Customer Review

39 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great adaptation of classic heroes., September 29, 2006
This review is from: X-Men Trilogy (X-Men / X2: X-Men United / X-Men: The Last Stand) (DVD)
While it'd be impossible for any films to do justice to Marvel's legendary team of super-powered mutants, I really feel that these films are almost as good an adaptation as we could have hoped for. The casting was strong, the action was solid, most of the characters were portrayed memorably, and the stories largely stayed true to the spirit of the X-men. The first film felt a little rushed due to the sheer number of characters introduced, but all things considered it was a very enjoyable film for both the uninitiated and old-school X-fans. Hugh Jackman was spot-on as Wolverine, the most iconic X-man and arguably the hardest to cast and Famke Jansen was a fantastic Jean Grey for at least the first two films. Patrick Stewart (Professor X), Ian McKellan (Magneto), and Rebecca Romjin-Stamos (Mystique) also delivered outstanding performances playing their respective comic icons. The story was a nice update of the comics and followed Rogue's induction into Professor X's school for mutants and Magneto's first big terrorist attack on mankind. All-in-all, a satisfying start to the series. The second film really kicked the series into gear and introduced more of our favorite X-men, including Nightcrawler (whose opening sequence was the highlight of the film), Pyro, and Iceman. The story involves Wolverine's past and the government's attempts to control the ever-growing mutant population. The result was one of the greatest comic book films ever made that firmly cemented the developing series as one to watch. For some ridiculous reason, at this point the powers that be decided that the third film would be the last. This was a bad choice that made no kind of sense, upset the films' fans, and severly hurt the quality of the third film. Ah, the third film; a mixed bag to say the least. The plot deals with two classic storylines involving a cure for mutants and the legendary Dark Phoenix. My personal list of complaints is a long one, but I'll just hit a few in this review. "X-men: The Last Stand" tries to cram two movies' worth of material into one film that is too short to begin with. The introduction of the Phoenix was obviously forced and no care was taken in this storyline which is one of the all-time classics in comic history, and the result is several pointless character deaths and gaps in logic, like why an all-powerful entity is content to hang out at an aging terrorist's side and just look menacing for most of the story. The series' former darling, Rogue, is reduced to a brooding plot-nuisance, has no real influence on the story, plus she never gains the fantastic powers she obtained in the comics that made her such a powerhouse of a character and a personal favorite of mine. On the other hand, more classic characters are given parts such as fan-favorite Kitty Pride and Collossus (both of which had cameos in X2), Angel, Multiple Man, Beast (played nicely by Kelsey Grammer), and the almighty Juggernaut (whose battle with Kitty was as awesome as it was unexpected). But as many characters as there were that made it into the three films, there were so many great ones that were reduced to either tiny, unnamed cameos in the series, or forgotten altogether. No Gambit, Emma Frost, Sinister, Apocalypse, Scarlet Witch, or Havok to name just a few. Furthermore, the final film's resolution in extremely unsatisfying and leaves little doubt that this franchise as we know it is dead, though they do leave us a glimmer of hope. There are talks of Wolverine and Magneto spin-offs and possibly a New Mutants project; promising ideas, but hardly a substitute for the ensemble we know and love. Still, in the end, I really did enjoy X3 as a film as it did have several great stand-up-and-cheer moments; it just upset me as a fan of the comics and as a fan of the the movies because there wss so much more that could have and should have been done with this series. In the end, whether you're a fan of the comics, the cartoons, or just a fan of sci-fi or fun movies in general, you really shouldn't miss out on these three movies. The series is full of memorable characters, fantastic battles, sly humor, references for hard-core fans, and, of course, the classic X-men social commentaries about discrimination and the importance of both individuality and cohesiveness. There doesn't appear to be much in the way of special features from the first two films on this edition; but for about $10 a flick, I'll let it slide since it is still a hell of a bargain. Highly recommended set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 11, 2007 3:55:38 PM PDT
[Deleted by Amazon on Dec 25, 2007 2:30:20 AM PST]

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 17, 2007 9:15:48 PM PDT
trashcanman says:
Joke's on you, buddy. I got it for Christmas!

Posted on Feb 20, 2009 3:23:59 PM PST
Reed Home says:
Good review and summary. I agree with many of your points. I do however have to make the correction on your reference to Juggernaut. The mutant character in the movie who ran through walls and may even been referred to as Juggernaut could not have actually been Juggernaut, as that guy was a mutant and the marvel character Juggernaut was given his powers by an alien stone and therefore was not a mutant. It was an incorrect portrayal of the character and a betrayal of the comic book character. I did not like how iceman was not a white man of ice; I mean if they have the technology to do silver surfer and the human torch in the fantastic four, they have the technology to do Iceman up correctly. Like you I am irritated in Rogues feeble character in the movie when in the comics and animated series she was such a powerhouse. Her powers as they were represented made her kind of useless and as you said, an irritation to the plotline, because she never acquired the powers of Mrs. Marvel. I am equally disappointed in the movies' failure to present Gambit, Jubilee, Emma Frost, Forge, Havok, Polaris, Cannonball, Banshee, Archangel, Longshot, Dazzler, Sunfire, Psylocke, Cable, Shadow Cat as herself not just miss kitty, Lockheed - Shadow Cat's little pet dragon, Morph, and Bishop. I am especially disappointed in the lack of Gambit, who I think is arguably the hardest character to cast, which is probably why he was not in the movie. You had said Wolverine was arguably most difficult; I am taking you up on that and arguing the point. I do, however, agree that Wolverine was the character they would have received most rebuke for had they cast him wrong or done him poorly with the character. I disagree that Wolverine is the most iconic X-man, as I believe that would fall to either Scott Powers a.k.a. Cyclops or Professor Charles Xavier, who I thought was done perfectly by Patrick Stewart, the obvious choice for casting as he practically embodies the visual image of professor X if someone were to imagine him as a real person, plus according to my limited knowledge and understanding of the character the acting captured the persona perfectly. I think that Wolverine was probably the most popular character involved in the X-men stories and which perhaps makes him most iconic character that was part of the whole "X-men scene" but I had always seen him as a separate entity and never really fully one of the X-men just a loner who would sometimes tag along and help out. He had the whole weapon X series, and several "Wolverine vs." comics whether it be Wolverine vs. Grey Hulk, Wolverine vs. Wendigo, Wolverine vs. Sabertooth, Wolverine vs. Lord Shingen, Wolverine vs Omega Red, Wolverine vs Spiderman, Wolverine vs Captain America, Wolverine vs Hulk, Wolverine vs Punisher, or what have you. He also had like 4 different comic cards in the same card series; one for Wolverine in the yellow blue spandex we all love, one in spandex gold and brown, one for Wolverine as the Wildman which had no headpiece, and one as Wolverine Weapon-X, I am sure there are more but those are the ones I can think of off the top of my head. Not that this separates him from the X-men but the Wildman and weapon X ones do show him with kind of a separate identity. But I think I have beaten this point to death. I could not agree more that "the powers to be" should not have screwed up the third movie so badly. The Dark Phoenix Saga, as you said, a classic and gripping storyline in comic book history was just not given justice. It should have had a whole movie dedicated to it and if done properly it could have been two movies playing it out; especially if they wanted to pair it with a second storyline which began and concluded in each movie, making X men 3 and 4. Then you could have had an easy X men 5. The second storyline in with the Dark Phoenix should not have been the mutant cure which was also a classic and compelling story. The Mutant cure should have had its own whole movie dedicated to it. And ALL OF THESE MOVIES WOULD HAVE SOLD AND MADE MONEY, with the characters, the cast playing them, and the stories, all supported by the Marvel Fans and X-men fans. WHY OH WHY did they decide to make this the last movie, for god sakes if they are planning on doing a Spiderman 4 and 5 why would they not plan on a X-men 4 and 5. The Spiderman movies were not even all that overly impressive, especially when put up against the X-men; don't get me wrong, they were good but not better than the X-men. Plus, the X-men would have been a gravy train that would have kept on delivering as long as they wanted. They should not have made a last movie, they should have just continued making them until they did not want to anymore, were no longer profitable, or there was a death of one of the actors playing a main role. There was no reason to make a "last movie": it was stupid to do so. And there was no reason to kill off characters that never die. Even if they stopped making the movies with these actors 30 years down the way the story line could have picked back up again and off it would have gone; new generation, new faces, no problem. I mean just look what the vague "they," or movie people, were able to do with Star Wars and now even Star Trek which has a new movie coming out with new actors but the old original characters. They were able to start a new set of good Batman movies that do the masked avenger justice, even after the fiasco of the pathetic barely humorous disasters of movies which were Batman Forever, Batman & Robin. The best example of all is Superman, my goodness look how well this new superman worked out so many years after the last and now they are able to pick up and run with it for as many movies as they like. I agree that the third movie is a good sci-fi action movie but only if the people involved were not the X-men; who were taken down from greatness with this twist of plot and character. Even with the ray of hope at the end where they indicate Magneto may be getting his powers back and that Prof X is not really dead, without a movie miracle, there is no coming back from the debacle which they have created by doing the movie the way they did. Like the recent Hulk movies, they should simply try again, picking up where they left off in movie two and do it right this time, just use all the same characters and pretend that The Last Stand Never happened and it can stay around as a movie extra of what could have been or like some kind of alternate ending. I have also heard rumor of Wolverine and Magneto spin offs which are justified especially since as I have already mentioned, there were plenty of Wolverine comic spin offs from his appearances with the X-men. Although I will probably go to see them, I find little consolation in the fact that they may be made, and am still left with a bad taste in my mouth by the destruction of the X-men movies.

Posted on Feb 20, 2009 3:24:19 PM PST
Reed Home says:
Good review and summary. I agree with many of your points. I do however have to make the correction on your reference to Juggernaut. The mutant character in the movie who ran through walls and may even been referred to as Juggernaut could not have actually been Juggernaut, as that guy was a mutant and the marvel character Juggernaut was given his powers by an alien stone and therefore was not a mutant. It was an incorrect portrayal of the character and a betrayal of the comic book character. I did not like how iceman was not a white man of ice; I mean if they have the technology to do silver surfer and the human torch in the fantastic four, they have the technology to do Iceman up correctly. Like you I am irritated in Rogues feeble character in the movie when in the comics and animated series she was such a powerhouse. Her powers as they were represented made her kind of useless and as you said, an irritation to the plotline, because she never acquired the powers of Mrs. Marvel. I am equally disappointed in the movies' failure to present Gambit, Jubilee, Emma Frost, Forge, Havok, Polaris, Cannonball, Banshee, Archangel, Longshot, Dazzler, Sunfire, Psylocke, Cable, Shadow Cat as herself not just miss kitty, Lockheed - Shadow Cat's little pet dragon, Morph, and Bishop. I am especially disappointed in the lack of Gambit, who I think is arguably the hardest character to cast, which is probably why he was not in the movie. You had said Wolverine was arguably most difficult; I am taking you up on that and arguing the point. I do, however, agree that Wolverine was the character they would have received most rebuke for had they cast him wrong or done him poorly with the character. I disagree that Wolverine is the most iconic X-man, as I believe that would fall to either Scott Powers a.k.a. Cyclops or Professor Charles Xavier, who I thought was done perfectly by Patrick Stewart, the obvious choice for casting as he practically embodies the visual image of professor X if someone were to imagine him as a real person, plus according to my limited knowledge and understanding of the character the acting captured the persona perfectly. I think that Wolverine was probably the most popular character involved in the X-men stories and which perhaps makes him most iconic character that was part of the whole "X-men scene" but I had always seen him as a separate entity and never really fully one of the X-men just a loner who would sometimes tag along and help out. He had the whole weapon X series, and several "Wolverine vs." comics whether it be Wolverine vs. Grey Hulk, Wolverine vs. Wendigo, Wolverine vs. Sabertooth, Wolverine vs. Lord Shingen, Wolverine vs Omega Red, Wolverine vs Spiderman, Wolverine vs Captain America, Wolverine vs Hulk, Wolverine vs Punisher, or what have you. He also had like 4 different comic cards in the same card series; one for Wolverine in the yellow blue spandex we all love, one in spandex gold and brown, one for Wolverine as the Wildman which had no headpiece, and one as Wolverine Weapon-X, I am sure there are more but those are the ones I can think of off the top of my head. Not that this separates him from the X-men but the Wildman and weapon X ones do show him with kind of a separate identity. But I think I have beaten this point to death. I could not agree more that "the powers to be" should not have screwed up the third movie so badly. The Dark Phoenix Saga, as you said, a classic and gripping storyline in comic book history was just not given justice. It should have had a whole movie dedicated to it and if done properly it could have been two movies playing it out; especially if they wanted to pair it with a second storyline which began and concluded in each movie, making X men 3 and 4. Then you could have had an easy X men 5. The second storyline in with the Dark Phoenix should not have been the mutant cure which was also a classic and compelling story. The Mutant cure should have had its own whole movie dedicated to it. And ALL OF THESE MOVIES WOULD HAVE SOLD AND MADE MONEY, with the characters, the cast playing them, and the stories, all supported by the Marvel Fans and X-men fans. WHY OH WHY did they decide to make this the last movie, for god sakes if they are planning on doing a Spiderman 4 and 5 why would they not plan on a X-men 4 and 5. The Spiderman movies were not even all that overly impressive, especially when put up against the X-men; don't get me wrong, they were good but not better than the X-men. Plus, the X-men would have been a gravy train that would have kept on delivering as long as they wanted. They should not have made a last movie, they should have just continued making them until they did not want to anymore, were no longer profitable, or there was a death of one of the actors playing a main role. There was no reason to make a "last movie": it was stupid to do so. And there was no reason to kill off characters that never die. Even if they stopped making the movies with these actors 30 years down the way the story line could have picked back up again and off it would have gone; new generation, new faces, no problem. I mean just look what the vague "they," or movie people, were able to do with Star Wars and now even Star Trek which has a new movie coming out with new actors but the old original characters. They were able to start a new set of good Batman movies that do the masked avenger justice, even after the fiasco of the pathetic barely humorous disasters of movies which were Batman Forever, Batman & Robin. The best example of all is Superman, my goodness look how well this new superman worked out so many years after the last and now they are able to pick up and run with it for as many movies as they like. I agree that the third movie is a good sci-fi action movie but only if the people involved were not the X-men; who were taken down from greatness with this twist of plot and character. Even with the ray of hope at the end where they indicate Magneto may be getting his powers back and that Prof X is not really dead, without a movie miracle, there is no coming back from the debacle which they have created by doing the movie the way they did. Like the recent Hulk movies, they should simply try again, picking up where they left off in movie two and do it right this time, just use all the same characters and pretend that The Last Stand Never happened and it can stay around as a movie extra of what could have been or like some kind of alternate ending. I have also heard rumor of Wolverine and Magneto spin offs which are justified especially since as I have already mentioned, there were plenty of Wolverine comic spin offs from his appearances with the X-men. Although I will probably go to see them, I find little consolation in the fact that they may be made, and am still left with a bad taste in my mouth by the destruction of the X-men movies.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 21, 2009 2:33:40 AM PST
trashcanman says:
Wow, that was a helluva post, man. The X-Men films were largely sci-fi based and intentionally veered away from magic doing Juggernaut up right was out of the question. The character as he is in the comics simply would not have worked. Iceman doesn't always walk around iced-up either so that didn't bug me What did bug me is he never did that awesome ice-slide thing. Love that. Wolvie is not a loner who occasionally helps the X-Men. He is an integral member who often goes off on his own. There's a difference. You forgot to mention the 3rd film's raping of Psylocke. Gambit and many more are set to appear in the Wolverine spin-off, so cross your fingers. Picture the trilogy with all of those characters you added involved. Now try to imagine getting any sort of character development going. Wouldn't work. What would have workded had they not demolished the series for no reason whatsoever, was a series of movies where characters come and go like Nightcrawler did. They come in and shine and then go do their wown thing to make room for more. Emma Frost done right would be amazing. You are correct on most counts, sir, and I appreciate that you felt passionately enough to post the longest comment I've ever received by far. We are largely in agreement that the way they ended this series was garbage. Hell, X3 was better than Spidey 3 in my opinion. Not by a whole lot, but why kill X-Men and not Spider-Man?

Posted on Apr 27, 2009 10:35:08 AM PDT
This is one of the best reviews about any thing that I ever read. The detail you go into everything is impressive and you review the movie from at least three distinctive contexts (movies in and of themselves, movies in relation to comic books, movies in relation to the whole x-men tradition, movies in relation to the cartoons, and movies in relation to social commentary [the last one only lightly touched upon but still present with some thoughtful insights about prejudice, individuality, and cohesiveness]). As a SciFi and Marvel fan, I do find it disappointing, too, that they are not going on and that some pressures had made them condense two films into one at the end. It seems it is numerological bad luck to stop at three movies, for some reason the third of anything never quite does as well as the first two. It is pretty rare that fourths are created for some reason. Even the longest movies are 3 hours long, which in real time is not very long, and it is amazing how well movies can summarize books and comics that take far longer to read than this, and of course, life takes longer than 3 hours. There is an interesting time compression that movies rely on to make their effect. The secret is only partly in the movies themselves and the other part is in our brains. There is something about how they pack information into special scenes and edit the transitions so that one scene slides into another, with our brains, the real secret, filling in the gaps. This is partly why we get easily disturbed when the logic flow of a movie is fragmented or incomplete too much. It does not help our brain complete the event flow and fill in the missing gaps (all movies are really a bunch of scenes with gaps in them that we usually fill in so seamlessly that we do not notice what our brains are doing). Some of the action films have been weak on this editing skill. What I always liked is that Stan Lee took the time to develop the human side of his characters and that they felt more real us a result. When there is a hurry to pack stuff in to complete some kind of schedule, this emphasis weakens.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 27, 2009 12:23:26 PM PDT
trashcanman says:
Awesome post. This is one of my older reviews that I wrote so lazily I didn't even bother with paragraphs, so I'm pleased you got something out of my gibberish. Hopefully "Wolverine" is good and breathes some life back in to the franchise. With Deadpool (my favorite), Emma Frost [loving sigh], and Gambit in the cast, it had better be the coolest movie of the summer. If not, this series is dead to me.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Hanford, CA United States

Top Reviewer Ranking: 3,098