Customer Review

261 of 268 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic case, even better value, May 21, 2009
This review is from: OtterBox Impact Case for iPhone 3G/3GS - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I'm about as happy as I could be with the Impact case. Carrying around a slippery, glass-fronted device, I was primarily looking for a case that would provide good energy dissipation in the inevitable event that I drop-kick it across a room when fumbling for keys. As such, an unyielding hardshell case just wasn't ideal. The fitment, bracing, and silicone material of the Impact are a well-thought-out means of limiting shock intensity (although I thankfully haven't tested it to any considerable extent).
The Impact fits the phone snugly, provides a good textured grip for the hand, and doesn't drown out the mic and earpiece like poorly-fitted units. All slides and buttons are easily accessible - perhaps even more so than without case since my hand isn't slipping all over the glossy shell. Relatedly, the Impact adds very little size to the phone and weighs next to nothing.
The included screen protector works great too - I'd heard of rainbow refractions and a slightly-milky appearance, but cleaning the surface well beforehand and working carefully resulted in a crystal-clear application. Can't tell it's even in place. No complaints on that front.
I could do without the circular port on the back of the case, but it does nothing to harm structural integrity and it displays my MS sticker effectively. ;) It will certainly do the same for the Apple logo, however! The thickness of the silicone protects it from most direct scratchin' contact.
My second option in terms of cases was the Otterbox Defender, but I felt the Impact would suffice for day-to-day protection, and thus far this has certainly proven to be true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 8 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 14 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 2, 2009 12:22:15 PM PST
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Feb 4, 2010 2:05:49 PM PST
Thanks for the review. I'm going to get one. A co-worker has one of these for her touch - and you're right, it does add almost nothing to the size and weight of the ipod/iphone. Pretty amazing price as well...

Posted on Jun 9, 2010 9:25:50 AM PDT
P. Gerke says:
My cousin works for Otter and I asked him about the circular port on the back and he said they needed that because the apple symbol is the only metal on the outside of the phone and acts as an antenna so it should not be blocked by rubber...your sticker is probably fine though.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 15, 2010 7:50:54 AM PDT
R. Gibson says:
FWIW, unless "rubber" has some kind of iron particles mixed in it, or is extremely thick (like several feet thick), will not absorb, reflect nor dissipate EM radiation...that hole is just there for aesthetics. As far as the antenna thing, unlike the 4G, I'm pretty sure the 3g(s)'s antenna's are entirely internal...and like the silicone case, the plastic cover should not significantly affect the transmission or reception of the internal antenna. Actually, the iron in the blood in your hand is more likely to reduce the signal more than both the rubber AND the case... ;)

Posted on Feb 16, 2011 11:46:09 AM PST
What about a hole in the case for the camera lens and usb cable and charging cable? Does it have those?

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 16, 2011 11:59:04 AM PST
R. Gibson says:
Yes, it has a slot in the bottom for both the cable and both speakers. It also has a hole for the light sensor and speaker on the top face. Another hole on the side for the mute switch, and holes on the back for the camera and Apple logo.

Posted on Oct 14, 2011 9:30:59 PM PDT
Luz Huaman says:
i bought this on amazon and then i saw this review i wanted to know if u guys have this problem-After about 3 months of fairly light usage this case stretched just enough to cover the proximity sensor of the iPhone. This prevents the phone from lighting up when you pull the phone away from your face after you are done talking, which means you don't see the "end call" button. We thought it was the phone dying at first until doing some research to find out the cheaper cases were doing this. Took the case off and phone works perfectly fine.

Posted on Oct 14, 2011 10:05:22 PM PDT
Luz Huaman says:
i bought this on amazon and then i saw this review i wanted to know if u guys have this problem-After about 3 months of fairly light usage this case stretched just enough to cover the proximity sensor of the iPhone. This prevents the phone from lighting up when you pull the phone away from your face after you are done talking, which means you don't see the "end call" button. We thought it was the phone dying at first until doing some research to find out the cheaper cases were doing this. Took the case off and phone works perfectly fine.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 14, 2011 10:24:40 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 14, 2011 10:25:49 PM PDT
R. Gibson says:
Yeah, mine is all stretched out now. I still use it, but occasionally take it off. It mostly just gets slightly in the way of the camera, which I compensate for (when I remember) by pushing on the bottom of the phone to "re-center" the hole on the camera port. While it does slide around the proximity sensor a bit, I haven't noticed it being a problem though...even still, it does a great job protecting the phone, which is why I keep using it.

As a short term fix, you could take an Xacto knife to the hole and enlarge it a bit...but I know that's a bit cheesy...

A friend of mine has an Android and I think has the OtterBox Defender case and likes it. I'm not positive it's an OtterBox Defender, but it looks like it, since it incorporates both a harder plastic "skeleton" and the silicone wrapper, it seems to hold together better (without stretching) and provides better overall protection.

Posted on Jul 13, 2012 12:38:19 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 13, 2012 12:40:23 PM PDT
hi i wanted to know would this work with apple i phone 4? I ordered this one, did i make a mistake? will this work
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: North Carolina, USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 7,463,200