Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports
Customer Review

29 of 121 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor book, worse reviews, July 7, 2006
This review is from: The Slow Poisoning Of America (Paperback)
Wow! I'm reviewer number 3 on a book that is ranked around 1,144,000. The book is very slim on facts, but fat on fear. MSG fueld fear, no doubt.

What I found really galling is that Mr. Steven Speizer, a previous reviewer, couldn't even write his own review, but lifted his comments from old emails that have been floating on the net for a couple of years.

Mr. Erb is a typical eco-activist wannabe (an assistant to the assistant psychology professor) who can't take his desire for healthier foods into the marketplace but would rather employ the force of government to make others comply to his will. Fat people and unruly kids are due, not to corporate conspiricies, but to a "victim" mentality culture. "It's always someoe elses fault. Let's sue!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jan 18, 2008 10:34:23 AM PST
S. groth says:
Apparently "pookie" has a hard time understanding facts that he just does not understand. Maybe he can quit pretending that the government agencies are perfect and were appointed by God, and realize that there are quite a few things he really does not have a clue about. What I find really galling is that J. Nicol "pookie" refers to himself as a reviewer. Guess that makes me an astronaut.

In reply to an earlier post on May 11, 2008 3:40:17 PM PDT
Allison Pugh says:
"Pookie" must be in the MSG business! I haven't had an opportunity to read the book, but I applaud anyone with the guts to say the emperor is wearing no clothes when so many others are happy to wear blinders.

Posted on Oct 24, 2008 9:16:21 AM PDT
Sharon H. says:
For your information, "Pookie", John Erb is a CANADIAN. Canadian's aren't as ridiculously friviolous with their legal system as Americans are. Quit projecting.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 12, 2009 9:44:15 AM PDT
P. H. Mundy says:
Uhoh...pillow fight...let me join in. Pookie way to call 'em out...but we're verging toward the cliff of logical fallacy and losing the topic.

I had a friend who was so sensitive to MSG he started getting a headache as we walked down the street, claiming he smelled it...We passed a Chinese restaurant in the neighborhood, not yet open for the day's business but as we looked back we saw the smoke curling out of the stack and wafting down to the street...bingo. This friend has a PhD in BioPhysics and is now on the faculty at a medical university hospital, so I wouldn't call him ignorant or uninformed. Nonetheless, let's be honest in our reviews. Pookie doesn't come out swinging a folding chair outside the ropes, and neither should we...but pillows? That's another story--WHAP ya'all pookie splooters.

Posted on Mar 16, 2011 2:06:05 PM PDT
Pookie's comments surely indicate that Pookie's financial interests are going to be hurt by this book. Pookie should explain in detail the facts that are "slim" and provide footnotes with Pookie's new "facts".

Posted on Mar 24, 2012 4:36:48 PM PDT
Obviously, "Pookie" has not experienced MSG poisoning. Anyone who has knows what it feels like. It is nothing short of frightening. The fact that the FDA says MSG is "generally recognized as safe" is ridiculous! What a giant lie perpetrated on the American people by the government, which is bought and paid for by special interest groups and which is NOT the least bit interested in protecting or making life better or safer for anyone.

Posted on Aug 29, 2012 6:19:54 PM PDT
Pookie? If you are a farmer you'd know better than what you've written, unless of course you are a corporate farmer. If you are a heart attack survivor you'd also know better than you've written. If you are a cancer survivor you'd also know better than you've written. I fit all of the above and take full head on credit for my allowing myself to believe lies, especially by the FDA, AMA, and ACS. It was my fault for being too lazy to research.

Posted on Feb 1, 2013 9:50:52 PM PST
goldensylph says:
In response to J. Nichol "Pookie," I find it ironic that you attack Mr. Erb by labeling him with two negative associations smacking of political hype. You attribute him to wanting to use the force of government to take away your will. Not so. You imply fat people and unruly kids are lazy victims who want to blame others. In all this, you do not refute nor repudiate the facts Mr. Erb uses. You generalize with political undertones that completely dismiss the sound arguments WITH YOUR RHETORIC. This lack of logic exemplifies a lack of responsibility toward rational argument and discourse. And you are blind to your own rhetoric accusing others with a straw man argument of name calling, a weapon of those who have no logical or rational response. Whatever. People will read this book and avoid MSG. They will be swayed by the rationale and the logic. They will not be swayed by political undercurrents and a denial that the profit motive exists. The profit motive does exist. Profits over people? You bet. You are the first one to be plowed under and you don't even know it. Welcome to blindness.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 42,249,099