Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports
Customer Review

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of Marvel's all-time greats gets its due..., August 28, 2009
By 
This review is from: Avengers Forever (Hardcover)
...in this fantastic new hardcover edition!

collecting the entire 12-issue run of writer Kurt Busiek's and artist Carlos Pacheco's masterwork, "Avengers Forever" is one of the most ambition, researched, brilliantly executed, and outright fantastic comics in the history of the medium.

this collection, in terms of content, is pretty straight-forward (none of the bacon, sour cream, and chives of DC's "Absolute" series), but for the price range of this sucker, that's pretty much what you expect. there is a nice introduction from 2000 by Busiek himself, as well as a gallery of the title's alternate cover artwork and (hooray!) a reproduction of the reference lists originally printed in issues 1 and 2 (if i am remembering correctly...) of the title's original release.

i really do not wish to divulge what exactly this story is about, primarily because i fear ruining a perfectly outstanding reading experience by saying too much, but also, with the levels of "involved" this storyline achieves, to pull at any thread is to seriously run the risk of painting oneself into a corner that will require MUCH explanation to get out of, therefore taking us back to fear no. 1.

i would like to add, however, that as wonderful as i (and so many, many others) feel this story is, it really should be said that if you are looking to begin your literary romp through the world of the Earth's Mightiest Heroes, "Avengers Forever" is NOT the book with which to do so.

please know that, in my opinion, this is INDEED the finest story in the entire history of these characters, but several of the absolute key issues central to the plot of this tale have roots seeded incredibly deeply in "Avengers" history, some stretching all the way back to the absolute earliest days of the series.

this is not meant to turn you off to this story in any way, just to say that a bit of knowledge about the overall series beforehand makes the read SO. UNBELIEVABLY. MUCH. BETTER.

if you're interested in getting your feet wet, i would suggest starting with any of the following instead:

-Essential Avengers vol. 1
if the idea of starting at THE beginning does it for you, here's your jumpin' on place.

-The Kree-Skrull War
the first (and in the mind's of many, still the best) Avengers "epic".

-Avengers Under Siege
where "The Kree-Skrull War" (and "Avengers Forever", for that matter) is a massive, galaxy (or time) spanning epic, Roger Stern's "Avengers Under Siege" is a five-issue powder keg that explodes and explodes and explodes. riveting, action-packed, and yet another classic.

-Ultron Unlimited
Busiek's first undisputed classic in his run on Avengers, "Ultron Unlimited" finds everyone's favorite Henry Pym-obsessed death-bot wreaking more havoc than ever (believe it or not) on our heroes. in the vein of "Under Seige", "UU" is a lighting-paced, all-out action affair that not only contains the most wicked awesome moment in Avengers history ("Ultron, we would have words with thee..."), but may very well make you a fan of the book (and of Busiek) for life.

any of these will set you off on the good foot in terms of becoming an Avengers mark, and if one of them does even the slightest bit for you, come back RUNNING to "Avengers Forever" at your earliest convenience. after a wee bit of exposure to the series in general, you will be so glad that you did.

enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]


Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Villa Rica, GA, USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 15,989,626