Customer Review

7 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you've read the books, it's actually quite boring., February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
I suppose if this story is new to people they might find it entertaining.
I would if I hadn't read all the books YEARS ago and already know exactly what happens.
Still, I think there's been some truly bad casting to this series.
I suppose HBO was trying to keep it on the cheap, so had to settle for what was in the budget and got several budget actors.
Sean Bean, the most accomplished actor and no doubt, highest priced, was killed off in the first season.
Lena Heady is all wrong for Cersei.
Never heard of nor seen any other single actor in the series. Hence the cheap casting.
I'll admit the scene settings and costumes are good, but I find nothing special in any of the acting.
If you've read the books, don't expect much more than a mediocre showing.
My own imagination conjured up a far better portrayal of this series while I was reading it 'lo so many years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 18, 2013 2:32:17 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 18, 2013 2:39:29 PM PST
Joseph says:
If you watched the special features (on the discs of the first season) they did consult a language expert to create the "obviously made up language" on purpose, I believe they even consulted GRR Martin as well. ok so " It was created by David J. Peterson, a member of the Language Creation Society" hmm perhaps a language expert? if you read the information about the language creation and watch the feature you'll know it was far from "sadly done", it was quite creative when you seem to think the show has no creativity.

I have read all the books and still love this show, casting and all; so that experience isn't something you can generalize as much as you seem to like to think.

Posted on Feb 18, 2013 8:47:21 PM PST
Artiphats says:
Completely disagree with the reviewer here. I've read the books, love the series, and I think that the casting has been superb throughout both seasons. I can't wait for season 3 to begin at the end of March.

I don't understand why this person is so caught up on the language and especially the lesbian scene. That scene was so minor that I barely remember it. In no way does it bring down the rest of the show. There is no more cursing in the tv series than there is in the books, and the language of the Dothraki is so secondary in the series it wouldn't have made one bit of difference if they spent any more time on it or had any one else handle it.

I, like many people, have been glad to see that the tv series stays so close to the books. There are a few differences, but the books are so long that those are to be expected. The series is a great read, and HBO could not have done any better with the tv series. It's an adult show. They are adult books. They both remain highly recommended by me and millions of others.

Posted on Feb 18, 2013 11:05:01 PM PST
[Deleted by Amazon on Feb 18, 2013 11:50:04 PM PST]

Posted on Feb 19, 2013 6:38:06 AM PST
JMG84 says:
Angry loser.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 19, 2013 7:22:05 AM PST
A. Catalano says:
GOT is still the best thing on TV along with Homeland also available on Prime. I agree that Sean Bean was the closest to the character in the book. Tyrion and LIttle Finger cancel are great on the show as well. Hell, tyrion won a golden globe and an freaking EMMMY!

Posted on Feb 19, 2013 9:36:59 AM PST
"Lezzing out" is always a highlight to me, especially in real life.

The actual books are filled with "soft-porn crap" and "whores" so it's not like they're sexing up a pious book that has no sexual content whatsoever.

Posted on Feb 20, 2013 8:31:45 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 20, 2013 8:32:06 AM PST
khuddle says:
I have to agree with your one point that Cersei was terribly, terribly miscast. Lena Hadley is a looker,
but she has none of the fury and fire that the Lannister Queen had in the books. Hadley is just to meek
an actress to play the role convincingly.

Posted on Feb 23, 2013 2:11:50 PM PST
Delsia says:
First, Bruce is clearly looking for attention. Second, were the producers supposed to consult you before casting the characters?? This is Amazon, if you have some issues that you need to work out (clearly you do)...about the show or otherwise...go find an anti-fan page and vent. Your comments/review is pointless and mindless. If you don't like the show...don't watch it.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.7 out of 5 stars (3,082 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (2,561)
4 star:
 (288)
3 star:
 (105)
2 star:
 (52)
1 star:
 (76)
 
 
 
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 27,987,997