Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports
Customer Review

1,776 of 2,175 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Left doth protest too much...with their silence, March 24, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Liberty and Tyranny: A Conservative Manifesto (Hardcover)
In general, the louder someone complains, the closer you are to the truth. I anticipate numerous ad hominem 'reviews' from statists posted here. Do not let them talk you out of reading Liberty & Tyranny.

In any given generation, there are only a handful authors and thinkers whose creations can survive the ravages of time and the shifting sands of societal evolution. It is rarer still when a key book is written, recognized, and celebrated contemporarily.

Mark R. Levin logically lays out what has made the United States of America different from all other nations in the history of humanity. He re-introduces us to the founders and framers, and those people who inspired them long ago. At its most basic elements, our country was founded on the ideals of life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness...and that we have these rights conferred on us, not by man or government, but by Natural Law, which originates with the Creator. Mr. Levin puts us back in touch with our founding doctrines, which are the at the very heart of what conservatism is and has always been.

For too long, Conservatives have let themselves be defined by the media. Mr. Levin's book recasts what it is to be a proud Conservative, and gives voice to those who are often silent in the face of ideological slander. If you believe in this great country, if you believe in truth and honesty, if you believe in life and principles, if you believe in freedom and patriotism, if you believe that all people are created equal and it is up to the individual to succeed according to their talents and interests, and if you believe in a smaller efficient government, and lower taxes, then this book is for you.

NY Times Best Seller - Hardcover Nonfiction - #1 for 12, #2 for 6 weeks!
Amazon: #1 Nonfiction book for over 30 consecutive days.
Over 1,200,000 sold as of Feb. 3rd 2010!
This is just the beginning. Though primarily written for the domestic market, there are certain truisms that speak to oppressed people globally. When L&T is translated, it may well become the Liberty Bell of our time as it exposes the universal persona of the pied piper-like statists and elitists who seek to destroy the individual. Liberty couldn't have a better lawyer than Mr. Levin.

September 14th, 2010 taught me something. Non-establishment candidates can win primaries.

...meanwhile, the deafening silence from ALL major media outlets continues. How much longer are they going to ignore Liberty & Tyranny? If you are ever asked "What media bias?" by your liberal friends, use this as your prime example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 5 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 237 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 24, 2009 7:56:45 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Mar 24, 2009 8:01:45 AM PDT
Paul Winter says:
I agree with your post, but your paraphrasing of the Declaration of Independence is incorrect. Nature cannot give you rights. The actual text of the DOI reads, "We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness."

If you know the Lord, great. If not, I encourage you to seek Him.

Posted on Mar 24, 2009 8:40:29 AM PDT
C. Alexander says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Mar 24, 2009 8:48:32 AM PDT
K. Landsberg says:
Amazon.com Sales Rank: #1 in Kindle Store yet not on the front page of the Kindle store. Outstanding!

Posted on Mar 24, 2009 8:58:12 AM PDT
Deckard says:
Most ad hominums are coming from the dittohead crowd against those who rightfully identify Levin as a neocon, not a conservative. Levin opposed a real conservative like Ron Paul because Paul dares place this country's interests above those of foreign countries that have attacked us repeatedly (Lavon Affair, USS Liberty.) Levin's loyalties are not with the US.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 24, 2009 9:02:16 AM PDT
It's exactly this type of post that makes the R party a joke to the youth of this country. If we want it back, the youth and the country, we have to learn to keep our faith to ourselves. We railed on gays for announcing their gayness relentlessly for the past 20 years simply be cause we felt it was a private matter. Guess what, so is your faith.

Posted on Mar 24, 2009 11:04:11 AM PDT
"The louder someone complains, the closer you are to the truth." If this were so, then given all the complaining and wailing by conservatives about the new Administration, the Democrats have to be really close to the truth.

My point, however, is that it's self-defeating to tell people not to listen to those who have negative opinions about the book. Better to read what both the naysayers and the sycophants have to say - why the need to protect others from adverse opinion?

Posted on Mar 24, 2009 11:17:54 AM PDT
"Mr. Levin puts us back in touch with our founding doctrines, which are the at the very heart of what conservatism is and has always been." The founding tenets of life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness were established by liberals -- Paine, Jefferson, Adams, Franklin and Hamilton among them -- NOT conservatives. The conservatives (then called Tories) were British sympathizers, who opposed the Revolution, secretly hoping it would fail so that they could maintain the power (money and property) they enjoyed under British rule. Today's conservatives are the same unpatriotic fascists they've always been, pretending to believe in the Constitution while secretly despising its principles.

Posted on Mar 24, 2009 12:00:17 PM PDT
Levin is a crackpot and sophist, lacking any real understanding of the concepts of liberty and freedom. If you're a dittohead, you'll love this book. If you're a rational, thinking American, don't waste your time with it.

Posted on Mar 24, 2009 12:11:53 PM PDT
F. Hollister says:
A typical Five Star rave review by someone who hasn't reviewed any other book. Posted the day the book becomes generally available.

That's certainly a believable scenario!

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 24, 2009 12:24:24 PM PDT
D. Dyer says:
I just purchased for my Kindle...looking forward to what seems to be a good read!
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... 24 Next ›

Review Details