Customer Review

371 of 402 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not an "Apple" cable but VERY LITTLE DIFFERENCE! (see my pics for full visual comparison made 4/1/11), April 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Delton Platinum USB 30-Pin Data Cable for iPhone 3GS/4/4S and iPod (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I browsed Amazon for weeks teetering between about 3 different sellers for my replacement dock cables for charging/syncing my iPhone 4, iPhone 3GS, and 160Gig iPod Classic. I found these cables to be the least expensive of the ones with predominately "good" reviews. There were a few people who said they got the "real thing" when they ordered the cables as "OEM Apple cables", a few people who said the cables were good but not "OEM Apple" quality, and finally there were a few who said to "stay away from these cables" because they tore up easily. I figured I'd chance it and order them. I am VERY PLEASED that I did. I ordered the cables 3/29/11 and was given a forecasted delivery date of 4/4 to 4/7/11. I received the cables today (4/1/11). VERY SPEEDY SHIPPING!!!! The cables were sent via USPS in a small brown envelope that was coated inside with bubble wrap. The cables were coiled up, much as anyone would coil a dock connector cable for storage with plastic wraps that were similar to the style wraps for the cables that come with all new Apple products. I was curious but kind of dreading opening the package because I just knew these cables would not fit my iPhone 4 with the bumper like just nearly every other "after market" cable I've seen. I was PLEASANTLY SURPRISED when I saw the design of these cables. They are as close to being "OEM Apple" cables as I've ever seen without actually being "Apple cables". They fit snugly in all of my iDevices, charge the 4, 3GS, and Classic with NO ISSUES. I tested the sync speed of the cable and found it rivals the speed of the newest "Apple cable" that was included with my iPhone 4 purchase back in July 2010. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THESE CABLES!!!! If you're an iPhone 4 owner who uses a bumper, GET THESE CABLES!!! THEY WORK!!! I've also taken "comparison" pictures and posted them to the "user pictures" on this item's display. Hope my review is helpful and thanks to everyone who writes these reviews and to everyone who reads them. Together we can help each other make sure we get what we pay for!
Brandon (Shreveport, LA)
***(More to come on their durability after I've used them a couple of months)***

***UPDATE 8/28/11***
Got these cables almost 5 months ago, one connects to my iMac, one to my wall charger, one to my XP machine at work, and one connects to my car charger. All are working and none have presented any issues so far. A friend was looking for similar cables but purchased them from a different seller and found they didn't fit his iPhone 4 bumper. I thought on it a bit and found an excellent resolution. Just get an emery board (flexible fingernail file) and file down the edges of the 30 pin connector. PRESTO it fits now! SO if the seller does change the type of cable that is being shipped and you get one that doesn't quite fit the iPhone 4 bumper, I can tell you (from experience) that it will not hurt to file the 30 pin connector to fit the bumper. Hope the review and this update are still helpful to people looking for new charge/sync cables.

***UPDATE 3/25/12***
Had the cables nearly a whole year now and still going strong. I haven't checked this post in a while now but I noticed there were some questions about sync speed. My original Apple cable for my iPhone finally went out on me so I replaced it with one of these. I sync to a Mac, I have a 32GB iPhone 4, and I keep a lot of stuff on my phone. If I erase it and have to sync it from scratch, we're looking a a couple of hours but just moving a few hundred songs around, some voice memos, pictures and stuff only takes a few minutes. The cables I got were definitely USB 2.0 cables. I also got one of the new iPads (3rd gen), it's 64GB and I use these cables to sync and charge it with no problems. I'm about to order a couple of extras for my iPad now and this time, I'll make sure to post the seller I get them from on the update about the new ones. Oh yeah, the cable I use in my car has gotten stepped on, spilled on, heat, cold, moisture, and even slammed in the door a couple of times... still going strong. No breaks, no kinks, no exposed wire at the ends, it's taken a beating for nearly a year and still works like a charm. Still highly recommend these cables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 23, 2011 8:06:00 AM PDT
Henry says:
Thanks for the excellent description. Do you remember the name of the seller that you bought the cables? I'm asking this because this products can vary a lot from one seller to another. Thanks again H

In reply to an earlier post on May 30, 2011 9:26:54 PM PDT
Thanks! Good review. Answered my questions--are these a decent quality and do they fit the iPhone 4 bumper.

Posted on May 31, 2011 6:20:02 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on May 31, 2011 6:29:30 PM PDT
tcamms says:
Right on Christopher Barton. Thank you for taking the time to write (Not an "Apple"). Well done! Now I just hope it fits in my OutterBox case for iPhone like none of the other (OEM's) Yeah right OEM my callused big toe.

http://www.otterbox.com/apple-iphone-3g-3gs-cases/apple-iphone-3g-3gs-cases,default,sc.html

Posted on Jul 26, 2011 1:39:52 PM PDT
krugz says:
Actually, I have to say that the rounded corners on the cable you received from Amazon look exactly like the cable that I got with my ipod mini, so they may be legitimate apple cables, just an older style.

Posted on Aug 4, 2011 10:44:59 AM PDT
How long is the cord? Most of them are too short. Thanks!

Posted on Aug 31, 2011 6:39:42 PM PDT
Angel Stowe says:
When I purchased my iPod 30GB in college, it came with a cable that looks identical to your "Not an Apple" pictures. Just thought I'd put that out there :).

Posted on Dec 11, 2011 7:48:43 PM PST
My new iMac is occasionally seeing some of these generics as USB 1.0 rather than USB 2.0 cables, so they may be slower in conductivity.

Posted on Jan 3, 2012 8:46:43 PM PST
Akash Patel says:
Good review, however, this cable that is being sold here is much more similar to the cables they used to have before they put out the fourth generation of iDevices. So the cable that came with the iPod Touch 3rd generation and older as well as the iPhone 3GS and older is very similar to this cable. It's probably not the real deal, but certainly seems like a viable replacement for the price.

Posted on Aug 9, 2012 12:19:55 PM PDT
loved your consumer feed back ...great review...very helpful

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 17, 2012 8:15:43 PM PST
Sam says:
Did you get a response for which seller it was?
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›