Customer Review

184 of 195 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collects 13 short Pixar films in one convenient place, August 31, 2007
This review is from: Pixar Short Films Collection - Volume 1 (DVD)
Only "The Adventures of Andre and Wally B." and "Red's Dream" are not already included with some other Pixar feature length film DVD. Although the 13 short films run a total of just under an hour and all but two are on other Pixar DVDs, you might want this collection for the extras and the fact that you'll have all 13 shorts on one DVD so you don't have to go digging through your collection to find them. A previous reviewer gave the year of production and a brief synopsis. I give a brief synopsis too, but I also give the length of each short, its rating by a popular film database, and on which previous Pixar DVD, if any, you can find each short.

"The Adventures of Andre and Wally B. (2 minutes) - 5.5/10 - Interesting animation experiment at the dawn of the age of CGI, but not much of a story.
Included on the "Tiny Toy Stories" VHS tape.

Luxo Jr. (2 minutes) - 7.7/10 - The first computer animated short nominated for an Academy Award. Just a couple of lamps playing ball, but somehow Pixar manages to bring "life" to the lamps with the larger lamp acting as parent to the smaller in spite of a lack of any real physical features with which to add expression.
Included with the Toy Story 2 DVD.

Red's Dream (4 minutes) - 6.6/10 - Red is a unicycle that is the only item in the bargain bin at a toy store. He copes with his surroundings by dreaming of better things. Like Luxo, you are made to care about the main character even though he has limited ability to express himself. Shows Pixar experimenting with more complex forms than in previous films.
Included on the "Tiny Toy Stories" VHS tape.

Tin Toy (5 minutes) - 7.1/10 - Kind of an early proof of concept of Toy Story. A curious baby is after a wind-up toy. The baby appears monstrous and frightening to the toy until he realizes what the baby wants. Shows you the world - and the baby - from the toy's point of view so you understand his fright.
Included with Toy Story DVD.

Knick Knack (4 minutes) - 8/10 - A Knick Knack from Alaska - a snowman in a snowglobe - wants to join two Knick Knacks from a warmer climate. Only problem is that he is stuck in his snowglobe and must try to find a way to get out. Shows some ideas that look like they gave birth to "Finding Nemo".
Included on the DVD for "Finding Nemo".

Geri's Game (4 minutes) - 7.6/10 - Won Oscar for best animated short film of 1997. Geri is an elderly man who plays chess with himself and tries to outwit his opponent. It's interesting as he changes sides on each move. Geri's character also appears as the cleaner in 'Toy Story 2'.
Included with "A Bug's Life" DVD.

For the Birds (3 minutes) - 8.1/10 - Won Oscar for best animated short film of 2001. A big jovial bird is rejected by a clique of smaller snobby birds. However, their plan to eject him from his perch backfires when they ignore some of the basic laws of physics.
Included in disc 2 of the Monsters Inc. DVD set.

Mike's New Car (4 minutes) - 7.3/10 - Brings over our favorite characters from Monsters Inc. as Mike tries to show off his new car to Sully. Problem is he hasn't gotten the controls down yet. Not that innovative, but still cute and definitely entertaining.
Included on the Monsters Inc. DVD.

Boundin' (5 minutes) - 7.1/10 - A little preachier than I'm accustomed to from Pixar. A sheep is humiliated after his first shearing, but a jackelope teaches him to think otherwise. Good animation, good music, but the moral tale was just a little too obvious and heavy-handed for Pixar.
Included in the Incredibles DVD set.

Jack-Jack Attack (5 minutes) - 7.7/10 - Uses characters and situations from The Incredibles to show how Jack-Jack first begins exhibiting his extraordinary powers and the babysitter's reactions. Quite funny and quite possibly a deleted scene from the original film.
Included on Disc two of The Incredibles DVD set.

One Man Band (4 minutes) - 7.9/10 - A girl wishing to make a wish in a fountain using a coin finds that her coin is the object of desire for two competing street bands. They do everything under the sun to get her coin - except play exceptional music. Ironically this was a dig at the big studios of the film industry of which Pixar is now a part since their sale to Disney.
Included on the Cars DVD.

Mater and the Ghostlight (7 minutes) - 6.8/10 - The longest of the Pixar films in this set was one of the less amusing. Mater, the tow-truck from Cars, is set up for a practical joke by the other cars. They tell him a story about the GhostLight apparition and then go about making sure that such a ghost appears to him to teach him a lesson about scaring the others.
Included on the Cars DVD.

Lifted (5 minutes) - 8.1/10 - An alien trainee attempts to abduct a sleeping human. Unfortunately, he isn't familiar with the spaceship's equipment yet, and to make matters worse he's getting a job evaluation at the same time. Rather like the X-Files meets Monsters Inc.
Included on the Ratatouille DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Sep 11, 2007 9:15:29 AM PDT
Thanks calvinnme for pointing out on which of my already owned Disney/Pixar DVDs I can find these shorts. I was wondering if these were re-releases or not. However, I totally agree with you it will be worth it to re-buy them as to have on a single disc. Sifting through my collection just for these shorts would be most inconvenient... and if I'm not mistaken, aren't a couple of them Easter Eggs? So I really would have to hunt for them... Plus the added bonus of the two non-DVD released shorts... I'm certainly buying this! Again, thanks for the guidance!

Posted on Nov 7, 2007 1:07:33 PM PST
Is this the censored version of Knick Knack (in which the mermaid in the globe next to the snowman was given a rather extreme breast reduction), or the original?

Posted on Dec 2, 2007 11:36:59 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 21, 2008 8:00:50 PM PST
SciFi lover says:
Thanks, great review and also for the info. I don't have Toy story 2 or Bugs Life on DVD so I looked on the boxes of my Pixar VHS movie boxes.
Toy Story 2 VHS also has "Luxo Jr"
Bugs Life VHS also has "Geri's Game"

But... Toy Story VHS doesn't adveritise an extra of "Tin Toy" I have the DVD so I am not going to load it to find out if it was ommitted from the cover art.

Yes it is the censored version. During Toy Story 2, when the piggie bank is flipping through the channels looking for Al's Toy Barn, if you go frame by frame in slow motion, he goes by a channel with the knick knack girl (2 frames, 2 times) where she has knockers that are about to explode out of her top. I don't know if that is the original because it seems kind of extreme and I never saw the Tiny Toy Stories VHS.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 28, 2007 12:28:02 AM PST
[Deleted by the author on Jan 21, 2008 8:00:58 PM PST]

Posted on Jan 18, 2008 9:42:43 AM PST
techmannn says:
very helpful mini reviews but what's up with the scoring with needlessly precise numbers like 7.7 and 7.6? Why not score a 7, 7.5, or 8?

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 18, 2008 6:05:26 PM PST
calvinnme says:
The scores are from imdb.com, which has users score all kinds of films. These were the ratings for these short films at the time I wrote the review.

Posted on Jun 28, 2008 1:52:42 PM PDT
Marine Tiger says:
Very good review!...Know what to expect, when I order it. Thank You.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›