Customer Review

14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Updated Review Of Digital Watch, June 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
***** ORIGINAL REVIEW 07/28/2011 *****
***** REVIEW UPDATED 07/09/2013 SEE BELOW *****

I had a watch very similar to this one a few years ago. I don't recall what happened to it. This one is a good buy for the money.

Features I Like:

1. The band is a perfect fit
2. It has a 24 hour clock
3. Resists water until the battery is changed (That was true of my former watch)
4. The backlighting is bright. Can read it in the dark
5. Looks good

Features I don't like

1. The back of my previous Casio watch could be pried off with a pocket knife. The back of
this one is secured by 4 tiny Phillips screws. Hardware stores don't stock a screwdriver
small enough to turn the screws.

***** Update To Review 07/09/2013 *****

It was time to replace the battery. With other watches it was quite simple. See "Features I don't like" above. With this one it was either take it a jeweler or do it myself; I chose the latter option. I ended up purchasing a Phillips 000 Screwdriver online from wiha.com Including shipping the cost was $10.43 I received the screwdriver yesterday. I removed the screws from the back and removed the back. The battery was tightly secured in a capsule and once I removed it, it was impossible to reassemble the capsule so now I have a disassembled watch on my hands and will probably purchase a new watch. This is a DISPOSABLE watch, which explains why the back is secured with tiny screws. If you intend to replace the battery on a watch after it dies, DON'T BUY THIS WATCH!!! Replacing the battery will most likely be impossible. I changed my review from 4 stars to 2 after this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-2 of 2 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Aug 27, 2013 8:46:58 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Aug 27, 2013 8:53:30 PM PDT
Sam Lowry says:
Sorry to hear about your battery change problems. But...

You can buy "000" size philips head screwdrivers as part of a cheap "precision driver" set for less than $5 from hardware stores where I am. Or Amazon, Ebay, etc. Also, I'm almost certain there is a way to replace the battery and put the "capsule" back in without damaging the watch so you couldn't reassemble it.

Jewelers do it all the time. Also, I have over a dozen old Casio watches here with batteries, all with varying difficulties of taking the back off. I don't own this A168 model, but I do have the very similar (plastic cased) F91W-1 that has a similar time module (593 for it vs 1275 for the A168, only difference is the backlighting type) & battery (CR2016) as this one. None of them--including the F91--have been unable to have the battery replaced and reassembled to "original" condition by me.

Unfortunately it seems like your episode was unique. Again sorry to hear, but I wouldn't generalize to say that you can't replace the battery in this model if its done properly.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 25, 2014 8:09:56 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 25, 2014 8:17:35 AM PDT
" Hardware stores don't stock a screwdriver small enough to turn the screws."

Yes they do. About $1.

And any jeweler will replace your battery for about $3.50.

"This is a DISPOSABLE watch, which explains why the back is secured with tiny screws."

Actually, it explains why they don't want you using a jackknife, which will scratch the hell out of the watch's back ... and may destroy the movement.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item not available
Reviewer


Location: Grayslake, IL USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 204,822